The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2020, 11:34 PM
sweeko sweeko is offline
Registered User
sweeko's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Avon CT
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1031799
sweeko Reputation: 10
Default 6 Mobo Fan Headers, 8 Fans.

Just starting the build. I have 5 ML140 and 3 ML120 front fans, all RGB Pro in my 680X case. My Asus Crosshair VIII Hero mobo has 6 Q type fan headers, two other constant on headers are not. I purchased the Corsair Commander Pro Controller and the Lighting Node Pro with 4 LED strips.
How do I wire these 8 fans to be controlled by the ICUE software or is it just 6 fans max? The instruction booklets are minimal. Can anybody recommend a post here or anywhere else to get this info? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-18-2020, 01:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,432
POST ID # = 1031810
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

You can use PWM splitters, no more than 2 to a header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:02 AM
sweeko sweeko is offline
Registered User
sweeko's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Avon CT
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1031849
sweeko Reputation: 10
Default pwm splitter

Hi Devbiker. I don't know what PWM is but I will research it thanks. I checked out your rig specs. Impressive.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-18-2020, 04:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,432
POST ID # = 1031872
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Something like these: https://www.amazon.com/JBtek-Black-S...qid=1579380400

PWM = "Pulse Width Modulation". It's how the fan speed is controlled. The other alternative is "DC". PWM fans require the 4th pin for the control signal. DC fans do not.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-19-2020, 04:34 PM
sweeko sweeko is offline
Registered User
sweeko's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Avon CT
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1031975
sweeko Reputation: 10
Default PWM splitters on order

Thanks for the help with the splitters. The MOBO 8 fan power connector problem is solved. Sorry but yet another question: How about wiring of the 8 RGB fan connectors that will work with the ICUE software. I have the Commander Pro Controller, Lighting Node Pro, RGB Hubs, USB hubs and scads of cables.
The Commander Pro has 6 RGB fan connections. How do I wire the other two RGB fan connections?
Can I connect the last two fan RGB connectors to a 6 connector RGB hub and connect this same RGB hub 3 pin connector to a 2 connection USB hub and connect this USB hub to a 4 pin USB connector on the Commander PRO Controller, or mobo?
Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-19-2020, 07:11 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,432
POST ID # = 1031994
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

The Commander Pro has 6 PWM Fan connections and 2 Lighting Channels. Rather than putting your fans on the motherboard, you can use the Commander Pro for that. You have more flexibility in how you control them and it's all done in iCUE.
Each RGB Fan LED Hub will have 6 connections. The Lighting Channel connects to the Fan Hub.
Check out the RGB FAQ that's linked in my signature. That should clear a lot of things up for you.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-20-2020, 09:16 AM
Duncan_Lance's Avatar
Duncan_Lance Duncan_Lance is offline
Registered User
Duncan_Lance's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 1032071
Duncan_Lance Reputation: 10
Default

I had a similar situation where I planned to install 8 LL120 fans into my 680x case. I ended up with a commander pro, 2 rgb fan hubs and one lightning node pro. I plugged the 3 front fans in one rgb hub and the 5 others (2 top, 1 rear, 2 bottom) into the other one. Then I've put both rgb hubs onto the commander pro (LED1 and LED2 channel) as well as 6 of the 8 pwm connectors. The 2 top fans are connected with the cpu fan / chassis fan port on the mobo since I wanted to avoid disabling it in BIOS. I know I could have used splitters but I wanted to have a "clean" layout without using any kind of splitter/adapter. The remaining lighting node pro which came with the case is used to connect the XC7/XD5 block/pump and 4 additional led strips.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-20-2020, 09:41 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,432
POST ID # = 1032077
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duncan_Lance View Post
I had a similar situation where I planned to install 8 LL120 fans into my 680x case. I ended up with a commander pro, 2 rgb fan hubs and one lightning node pro. I plugged the 3 front fans in one rgb hub and the 5 others (2 top, 1 rear, 2 bottom) into the other one. Then I've put both rgb hubs onto the commander pro (LED1 and LED2 channel) as well as 6 of the 8 pwm connectors. The 2 top fans are connected with the cpu fan / chassis fan port on the mobo since I wanted to avoid disabling it in BIOS. I know I could have used splitters but I wanted to have a "clean" layout without using any kind of splitter/adapter. The remaining lighting node pro which came with the case is used to connect the XC7/XD5 block/pump and 4 additional led strips.
What cooler do you have? If it's a Corsair AIO, they have a fan connector that should go on the CPU_FAN port to prevent CPU_FAN warnings ... and to give you one in the even of a pump failure.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-20-2020, 10:25 AM
Duncan_Lance's Avatar
Duncan_Lance Duncan_Lance is offline
Registered User
Duncan_Lance's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 1032083
Duncan_Lance Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
What cooler do you have? If it's a Corsair AIO, they have a fan connector that should go on the CPU_FAN port to prevent CPU_FAN warnings ... and to give you one in the even of a pump failure.
Hi DevBiker,

no it's a custom loop with 2 rads (1x360 and 1x240). Since I did not want to use splitters I decided to plug 2 of my 8 fans on the mobo itself instead of going with a second commander pro. To prevent the cpu fan alert I plugged one of the fans here.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-20-2020, 10:46 AM
Exmortis Exmortis is offline
Registered User
Exmortis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 1032087
Exmortis Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You can use PWM splitters, no more than 2 to a header.
Great advice, but that depends on the fan really. I have three sets of three ML120 Pro RGB on three headers on my CP in my latest system. I can do that due to their low amp rating of .2a so even three is no where near the 1a per channel limit. add a little for the splitter (cheaper ones can really affect this) and it will give you an idea of what you can do.

Know your hardware specs and limitations.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.