The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2018, 05:04 PM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 984905
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default USB Devices keeps disconnecting

My whole systems is filled with Corsair Products so I'm using the iCUE software to control for example fan speed and RGB stuff.

For a while it happends like ones a day but recently my USB devices keep turning off and on again like every half an hour or so. I have all the latest updates for all my peripherals and my drivers all up to date.

I have already tried to reinstall iCUE, but with no success. The only thing that works is whenever I Quit iCUE my USB devices never turn off and on again...

I'm not sure anymore how to fix this since turning off iCUE is not a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2018, 05:24 PM
solarity solarity is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 747
POST ID # = 984908
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

What are all of your devices, could be a few things? If you have any USB items daisy chained, I would only limit one device chained to it i.e. KB pass through to mouse. I would not hook mouse pad to keyboard then mouse to mouse pad, etc. You could also be drawling a lot on the 5v rail. A 750w might seem like a lot, the wattage is split between the different rails. Using iCUE might be leveraging this. Also, if you have your LEDs all set to white, then that will use the most power. It could also be other things like firmware, PSU failure, or MB.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2018, 06:45 PM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 984929
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
What are all of your devices, could be a few things? If you have any USB items daisy chained, I would only limit one device chained to it i.e. KB pass through to mouse. I would not hook mouse pad to keyboard then mouse to mouse pad, etc. You could also be drawling a lot on the 5v rail. A 750w might seem like a lot, the wattage is split between the different rails. Using iCUE might be leveraging this. Also, if you have your LEDs all set to white, then that will use the most power. It could also be other things like firmware, PSU failure, or MB.
Sorry for the late reply.

I have the Corsair K55 RGB keyboard, Corsair Harpoon mouse and the Corsair MM800 RGB mousepad. All are separate connected to my computer. Nothing is daisy chained.

Currently im using Rainbow wave on all my leds. Inside my computer I have 6 HD120 fans running off a Corsair Command with 4 led strips aswell.

I know everything draws a lot of wattage but 750w should be plenty to run almost two of these systems (not exact but you know what I mean :D).

Like I said all firmware of the devices are up to date
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2018, 07:29 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,434
POST ID # = 984934
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Which devices, specifically, keep disconnecting? Is it just the keyboard, mouse and mousepad? Or does the Commander Pro disconnect as well?

And ... while 750W does seem like a lot, most of that is on the 12V rail. These are all on the 5V rail, which, IIRC, is limited to 20W on the RM750x. That said, you are well under that.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2018, 07:39 PM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 984935
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Which devices, specifically, keep disconnecting? Is it just the keyboard, mouse and mousepad? Or does the Commander Pro disconnect as well?

And ... while 750W does seem like a lot, most of that is on the 12V rail. These are all on the 5V rail, which, IIRC, is limited to 20W on the RM750x. That said, you are well under that.
Just the keyboard, mouse and mousepad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2018, 11:50 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,434
POST ID # = 984956
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

So ... solarity's theory may still be valid. Here's the thing ... depending on how the motherboard is internally hooked together, multiple ports may be on the same logical hub. In which case - again, depending on how it's hooked together - you could be overdrawing the current on that hub.

So ... question ... are these connected to USB 2 or USB 3 ports?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2018, 08:04 AM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 984996
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
So ... solarity's theory may still be valid. Here's the thing ... depending on how the motherboard is internally hooked together, multiple ports may be on the same logical hub. In which case - again, depending on how it's hooked together - you could be overdrawing the current on that hub.

So ... question ... are these connected to USB 2 or USB 3 ports?
Right, now I understand what he ment with that!
My keyboard and mouse are connected to USB3.1 (Gen2, type A), my MM800 mousepad and my Corsair Void Wireless adapter is connected to USB 2.0.

Besides those 4 I don't use any USB port's on my MOBO. I sometimes use the front USB to charge my Corsair Void headset.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2018, 08:49 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,434
POST ID # = 985003
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

I would definitely put the MM800 on a USB 3 port ... USB 3 has higher power delivery than USB 2. The Void Wireless is fine on USB 2, as is the mouse. In fact, you can put the MM800 into USB 3 and then connect the mouse to it - that's exactly how mine is set up and it works just fine.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2018, 11:40 AM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 985024
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I would definitely put the MM800 on a USB 3 port ... USB 3 has higher power delivery than USB 2. The Void Wireless is fine on USB 2, as is the mouse. In fact, you can put the MM800 into USB 3 and then connect the mouse to it - that's exactly how mine is set up and it works just fine.
For now I put my mm800 to a USB3 port, I don't like to have too many cables on my desk so I would rather not have my mouse plugged in onto the mousepad.

Let's see if changing the mousepad to a USB3.0 port fixes the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2018, 11:36 AM
MuRado MuRado is offline
Registered User
MuRado's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 985708
MuRado Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I would definitely put the MM800 on a USB 3 port ... USB 3 has higher power delivery than USB 2. The Void Wireless is fine on USB 2, as is the mouse. In fact, you can put the MM800 into USB 3 and then connect the mouse to it - that's exactly how mine is set up and it works just fine.
So far swapping my MM800 mousepad to a USB3.0 port was the solution for my problem. Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-26-2019, 08:55 PM
LordDelacroix LordDelacroix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019356
LordDelacroix Reputation: 10
Default

ok - just disgusted is not even the right word here. I have the Scimitar Pro and I've had it for years but I've used for maybe 20 minutes in all those years. This is not the first time I've posted about this issue but it will the last time. Today comes the day that I am DONE, JUST D. O. N. E. with Corsair and ALL their products. Memory, Cases, Mice, Mousey pads - Power Supplies - you name it, if it has Corsair on it I won't go NEAR it with a 20 foot rod and I'm telling ALL my customers to do the same - STAY THE FRAP AWAY FROM CORSAIR!

I've been fighting the mouse disconnect issue on 12 machines for I don't even KNOW how long - so long I forgot WHEN exactly it was I bought this Scimitar Pro.

I've tried EVERY port on ALL those computers too. USB 2.0, USB 3.0 and USB 3.1 - nothing but disconnect, reconnect, sometime a few times each minutes and in nearly every case it takes MANY MINUTES to reconnect. On a couple of the machines, I even had to REBOOT to reset the USB to get it working again and ALWAYS within 30 to 180 seconds it just disconnects again. a complete Joke - how in @#$ did this thing EVERY get out of Quality?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-26-2019, 11:17 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 150
POST ID # = 1019360
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordDelacroix View Post
ok - just disgusted is not even the right word here. I have the Scimitar Pro and I've had it for years but I've used for maybe 20 minutes in all those years. This is not the first time I've posted about this issue but it will the last time. Today comes the day that I am DONE, JUST D. O. N. E. with Corsair and ALL their products. Memory, Cases, Mice, Mousey pads - Power Supplies - you name it, if it has Corsair on it I won't go NEAR it with a 20 foot rod and I'm telling ALL my customers to do the same - STAY THE FRAP AWAY FROM CORSAIR!

I've been fighting the mouse disconnect issue on 12 machines for I don't even KNOW how long - so long I forgot WHEN exactly it was I bought this Scimitar Pro.

I've tried EVERY port on ALL those computers too. USB 2.0, USB 3.0 and USB 3.1 - nothing but disconnect, reconnect, sometime a few times each minutes and in nearly every case it takes MANY MINUTES to reconnect. On a couple of the machines, I even had to REBOOT to reset the USB to get it working again and ALWAYS within 30 to 180 seconds it just disconnects again. a complete Joke - how in @#$ did this thing EVERY get out of Quality?
Glad to see you resurrected an old thread from 2018 just to vent your frustration. Anyhow, If your mouse is disconnecting on 12 machines, don't you think initially, the logical thing to have done would have been to contact Corsair support for a replacement?

P.S. I own a lot of Corsair branded hardware and I can honesty say, I don't have a single issue.
__________________
570X Mirror Black


Last edited by Johnny_B500; 09-26-2019 at 11:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-27-2019, 07:27 AM
LordDelacroix LordDelacroix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019392
LordDelacroix Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah. It felt good to vent.

The real problem here that you seem to have a problem with me venting. Get over it - if you don't want people venting about your "vaulted" Company make a product that does what it's supposed to do and get rid of your forums.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2019, 07:44 PM
Yannos7 Yannos7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1027283
Yannos7 Reputation: 10
Default

This solution worked for me i hope it helps! I can now finaly play with my corsair mouse:) It seems to be usb related and not an actual mouse problem, although when i connected another brand i didnt have those disconnects/connects
https://superuser.com/a/66467

Last edited by Yannos7; 12-12-2019 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.