The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 30 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #76  
Old 04-05-2013, 07:31 PM
capitoljay capitoljay is offline
Registered User
capitoljay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 645125
capitoljay Reputation: 10
Default

After installing the corsair headset software , should i be disabling or removing any other audio control devices such as Realtek audio manager or Soundblaster Console / THX tru studio pro?
Reply With Quote


  #77  
Old 04-05-2013, 08:03 PM
shankly1985 shankly1985 is offline
Registered User
shankly1985's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 145
POST ID # = 645129
shankly1985 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitoljay View Post
After installing the corsair headset software , should i be disabling or removing any other audio control devices such as Realtek audio manager or Soundblaster Console / THX tru studio pro?
No you ok to leave them installed on your system.

Your Corsair headset is USB, your realtek is onboard or sound card you can switch between the two at any time.

Music through headset select usb corsair, music through speakers select Onboard or sound card.
hope this help :D
Reply With Quote


  #78  
Old 04-06-2013, 01:34 AM
Orochium Orochium is offline
Cantankerous Pirate
Orochium's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 645178
Orochium Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochium View Post
I tried this, and honestly didn't notice much of a difference, I still had to keep the volume low, to avoid the bass distortion, and even at lower volumes, I was still getting a disconcerting amount of signal-destruction, and a muddier sound in dropping the 6 db

I can bottom all the sliders, and leave just 30, 60, and 120hz at 0 db at 50% volume and its absolute chaos. If I bottom all but the individual channels, its much less distorted, but get any mix of those three, and it goes all nonsensical!

Random side note, I noticed that the new drivers no longer work at all with ASIO-4-all, which I use in some musical production / score work for my game dev, so was a tad disappointed.

Either way, I love these cans, growing pains or not haha
Another thing I noticed RG, playing music in Windows Media Player, and some other audio programs, there's a lot of weird volume fading in and out when 7.1 or 5.1 is enabled. Turning off the surround feature to 2.0, it hops back to distortion city or tinny (if I drop the 6 db out). Almost like volume levelling is on, but doing a really poor job (and there is no volume levelling option for these drivers, so...)
Reply With Quote


  #79  
Old 04-06-2013, 01:05 PM
capitoljay capitoljay is offline
Registered User
capitoljay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 645254
capitoljay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankly1985 View Post
No you ok to leave them installed on your system.

Your Corsair headset is USB, your realtek is onboard or sound card you can switch between the two at any time.

Music through headset select usb corsair, music through speakers select Onboard or sound card.
hope this help :D
thanks!!
Reply With Quote


  #80  
Old 04-07-2013, 12:07 AM
Chief Thunder Chief Thunder is offline
Registered User
Chief Thunder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 645346
Chief Thunder Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem guys...Vengeance 2000 here. Bass crackles with any equalizer setting I tried. Bass management, loudness equalization or whatever setting in the Windows CP didn't help... i tried my laptop, re-installed the software several times, nothing works. I can clearly hear that the bass is punchier than ever with Dolby, but it's annoying that u cant use it to this headset's full potential. and it's sad the previous Cmedia xear stuff worked perfectly, as it's fairly inferior to Dolby tech. I was really looking forward to this update since the day i heard about it...oh well. At this point, any help is more than welcome and much appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #81  
Old 04-08-2013, 02:29 PM
Jens D Jens D is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 645622
Jens D Reputation: 10
Default

Guys. That was one heck of a job.
No bad bass here, only 10x better surround and much better sound in general.
Reply With Quote


  #82  
Old 04-09-2013, 06:12 AM
roman4o roman4o is offline
Registered User
roman4o's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 645779
roman4o Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jens D View Post
Guys. That was one heck of a job.
No bad bass here, only 10x better surround and much better sound in general.
What are your settings in windows and corsair control panel ?
Reply With Quote


  #83  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:30 AM
Chief Thunder Chief Thunder is offline
Registered User
Chief Thunder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 645809
Chief Thunder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jens D View Post
Guys. That was one heck of a job.
No bad bass here, only 10x better surround and much better sound in general.
lucky you! but still this crackling and all apply to almost all the people who posted here. there must be something Corsair can do to remedy this...
Reply With Quote


  #84  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:46 AM
Th3DEAD's Avatar
Th3DEAD Th3DEAD is offline
AboveHead
Th3DEAD's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 645813
Th3DEAD Reputation: 10
Default

When Dolby Headphone Surround turned on & using 7.1. Bass send my hear in hell.

But when use 5.1 instead of 7.1 all go fine. Hope it will be a fix.
Reply With Quote


  #85  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:54 AM
TylerAD TylerAD is offline
Registered User
TylerAD's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 69
POST ID # = 645815
TylerAD Reputation: 10
Default

Is there any ETA for a fix? Or are yall just working towards one? I really hope we can somehow keep the sound settings ( like the EQ from the older 1.1 drivers ) and all the new good features ( like the better surround sound ) just without all the distortion. Other then just lowering channels are there any other work around being tested or working?
Reply With Quote


  #86  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:56 AM
TylerAD TylerAD is offline
Registered User
TylerAD's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 69
POST ID # = 645818
TylerAD Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androktasie View Post
Hi, I'm the author of the EverythingUSB reviews for the V1500 and V2000 headsets. I finally got my hands on these drivers and will be creating a new compatibility matrix for the Vengeance 2000 in the coming days/weeks as my schedule permits.In the meantime I just wanted to say that Corsair, you finally got the right idea for presenting source selection and enabling Pro Logic upmixing to the user. Thanks for fixing that. ;)
So has this guy been working with yall? OR is he working on his own to help us? I really cant wait till these are up and working as i love my headset
Reply With Quote


  #87  
Old 04-09-2013, 07:51 PM
reneknales reneknales is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 645930
reneknales Reputation: 10
Default

and can we make sure that a fix for for the turning on and off of the surround its released too. I hate having to click every time I turn on the computer and unplug the headset.
Reply With Quote


  #88  
Old 04-10-2013, 03:25 PM
PJ-Lind PJ-Lind is offline
Registered User
PJ-Lind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 646073
PJ-Lind Reputation: 10
Default

Hey, after i updated the drivers on my Vengeance 2000 to 2.0.7 i've gotten this wierd crackling noice, i've tried to uninstall the drivers and then reinstalling them. And my volume scroller on the side doesn't work
Reply With Quote


  #89  
Old 04-10-2013, 09:42 PM
Orochium Orochium is offline
Cantankerous Pirate
Orochium's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 646129
Orochium Reputation: 10
Default

If "Bass Management" doesn't appear as an option, see my next post after this one.

Ladies and Gentleman, I think I have a work around for you!

Go to Start --> Control Panel --> Hardware and Sound --> Sound

In the panel that opens up, right click the Vengeance 2000 and click "Properties"

In the properties, click the "Enhancements" tab.

Under Enhancements, tick mark "Bass Management" and then hit settings.

Your low cutoff threshold is 20hz for the 50mm drivers (P.S. 30hz if you're still getting some distortion)

!!!IMPORTANT!!!

Change "Room Size" to "Office" instead of "Home Theater" and you get the proper bass management for a compact system (or in this case, headset).

Voila, no more grumbling garble out of my V2K's --- As I thought, the new drivers aren't set up right to cut below the 50mm Driver's handling capability, so they were being overdriven even at low gain.

You're welcome, by the way

Last edited by Orochium; 04-10-2013 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #90  
Old 04-10-2013, 09:49 PM
Orochium Orochium is offline
Cantankerous Pirate
Orochium's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 646130
Orochium Reputation: 10
Default

Well shoot, no sooner do I say that, then I go into the corsair control panel, and switch to 5.1, and the bass management option completely disappears, resetting to the distorted bass.

If it doesn't reappear next time you go into 7.1, you may have to run the room-setup in windows sound options

Third Edit:

Ugh. Okay, the Bass Management enhancement doesn't appear until you go into sound properties, select Room and configure as thus:

1. 7.1 Speakers
2. Tick all of the available speakers in the next page
2. Neither Front nor Surround are Full-range, so untick both options on the next page
3. Bass Management should appear now

And sorry, yeah, you'll have to do this every time you change between 5.1 and 7.1 in the Corsair Control panel :/

Last edited by Orochium; 04-10-2013 at 09:53 PM. Reason: Erm smrt and terpo'd
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.