The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 06:02 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 419783
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default Got my case!

Holy mother of God this thing is huge! Nice case beat ever good job Corsair!

I'll post picks tomorrow of the build log.

I'd like to address this issue about cooling. I have to say this. I got an H50 and I am trying to stress test tonight. Let me tell you this: My temps with the H50 inside the 800d are a full 28 degrees C LESS then my temps were in my old case, which started with a silver, and ended with a rock. I am so far, really impressed by this. Now I know vid temps may be another story, but I will report back tomorrow on those with mucho pics.

Thanks Corsair, you did a really good job with this one! Even my WIFE says it's looks sexy :)

Last edited by gutcheck; 10-08-2009 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:48 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420077
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, here we go. I had everything ready before the case came



My assistant was ready


Last edited by gutcheck; 10-08-2009 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:52 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420081
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

I tested the vinyl dye Mr_Armegeddon suggested on a speaker wire and it looked great



You Can see how big the case is with the board in there

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:54 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420082
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

When I went to install the I/O drives, one of the locking machanisms snapped off



Front Shot

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:56 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420084
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Now for the H50 Install



It wasn't as easy as I thought. You really have to barely screw the mounting bracket in so you have enough clearance



In the end, the front came out very clean



The back on the other hand is a MESS! I can't close it, so I have to figure out what to do

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-08-2009, 12:00 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420085
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

When I get back from vacation, I will be finishing the WC loop for the Vid Cards. I already have a Swiftech 3x120mm Rad up there (you can kind of see it). I will update when I get there. So far, all I have done to inprove airflow is to add a better bottom fan and use the H50 as an intake. I also installed 3 exahst fans on top and added the RAM cooler. It runs quite cool. I'll be SLI'ing to Fermi's, so LC is the best thing for that IMHO.

Some issues:

1) The clip broke on the I/O install very easy. I would actually recommend not using these unless you plan to rip them out all the time.

2) I had to put my Velociraptors in the bottom HD cage as they don't fit in the hot swap bays. This is WD fault as they are not standard, but it still sucked. I would be willing to buy different adaptors if they were available, but I think I have to live with it the way it is.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-08-2009, 10:44 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 384
POST ID # = 420172
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

And there she is!

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-12-2009, 12:37 AM
slamscaper's Avatar
slamscaper slamscaper is offline
Registered User
slamscaper's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 420563
slamscaper Reputation: 10
Default

Looks great, glad to see it's working out for you.

As far as closing the solid side panel behind the mobo, I know your pain. It can be done however, but you have to be a little creative with how you tie off your cabling. You have to make sure that the cables are somewhat "flattened" and don't bulge too much. You can't tie too many of them together or have more than two molex connectors stacked on top of each other.

I have just as many wires as you back there and managed to get mine closed, however it bulges a bit in the middle but the edges are flush.

EDIT: Your ODD clip that popped off should go back in with a little effort. I had the same thing happen to me when I was installing my BD-R drive, but I was able to get it back on and it's functioning as we speak. You should at least check out the plastic clip to be sure that it actually broke and didn't just pop off like mine did.

Last edited by slamscaper; 10-12-2009 at 12:44 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.