The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2009, 04:11 PM
jrock75 jrock75 is offline
Registered User
jrock75's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 416465
jrock75 Reputation: 10
Default My experience with the Corsair's Obsidian

I received my case Saturday and am very happy with 95% of it. I should note that my case was shipped with FedEx, which I would suggest to anyone that will be ordering this case. There was one broken piece which appears that it was shipped with. The rear access to the CPU is made with a cheap piece of plastic and one of the tabs was broken off that hold it in place. Currently I have duct tape holding it in place (Not Cool). I sure hope that Corsair will replace this part for me. A few other things that everyone should consider are pump clearance, negative air pressure, and the plastic hot swap trays. If you have a Swiftech MCP655 pump it will not fit in the lower compartment. I was able to use the Bitspower mod replacement top to change the outlet direction so that it would fit. The negative air pressure in the case maybe a problem if you install the three fans on the top of the case. I installed 3 high speed fans and the pressure was so bad that the rear exhaust fan stopped, then began to spin backwards. I have since reversed the fan, so that it is an intake fan. Lastly, the plastic hot swap trays have a cheap plastic lock to hold the lever in place. I broke one while installing a drive. This was my fault, but be careful it doesn't take much to break because of the plastic parts.

Ram Guy: I have yet to get a reply about an email regarding getting a replacement part for my CPU rear access cover. Is there anything you can do to help me? Also is there a way that I may purchase a replacement hard drive tray since I broke one?

Thank You

P.S. Here is a photo of my new build with EVGA Classified and 2 GTX 295's.


Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-14-2009, 04:18 PM
PeterFazekas PeterFazekas is offline
Registered User
PeterFazekas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 219
POST ID # = 416467
PeterFazekas Reputation: 10
Default

Pretty neat setup. May i ask how you mounted the tube res? Did you drill the case?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-14-2009, 04:54 PM
swalker23 swalker23 is offline
Registered User
swalker23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 50
POST ID # = 416475
swalker23 Reputation: 10
Default

Looks very good and its making me jealous. I can't wait to get my case and put my classified in it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-14-2009, 04:57 PM
jrock75 jrock75 is offline
Registered User
jrock75's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 416477
jrock75 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes Peter, I had to drill two small holes to mount my reservoir and thank you to both of you for your comments.

Last edited by jrock75; 09-14-2009 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:01 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 416479
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Agreed, nice setup. Makes me wish I had gotten WC'd GTX 280s. This sucka's HOT.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:43 PM
boogieman boogieman is offline
Registered User
boogieman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 237
POST ID # = 416488
boogieman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrock75 View Post
. If you have a Swiftech MCP655 pump it will not fit in the lower compartment.
That might be the deal breaker for me. Nice job and thanks for posting !

Also, does the filter still slide out with the pump sitting on it? Can you take another shot(s) from other angles? Thanks


Quote:
I installed 3 high speed fans and the pressure was so bad that the rear exhaust fan stopped, then began to spin backwards.
Interesting, never gave that a thought. Strike two. Plus no place for a floppy (yes, I still require a floppy). :)

Last edited by boogieman; 09-14-2009 at 05:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-14-2009, 06:58 PM
Nordic Nordic is offline
Registered User
Nordic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 416495
Nordic Reputation: 10
Default

Hi jrock75,
Can I ask you what temp you have on the cpu with the two 295s and what overclock you have with that temp ?
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:01 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 416498
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Get a USB floppy drive :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:28 PM
jrock75 jrock75 is offline
Registered User
jrock75's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 416514
jrock75 Reputation: 10
Default

boogieman: As I said you could use Bitspower top on the pump and some fitting to route the hosing as I did. The filter with a little help was able to fit over the bolt heads also.

Nordic: I have my i7 920 overclocked to 4.2ghz and defaults on the cards. My current temps on my CPU are 42/42/40/40 and that is with CPU Vcore of 1.3 and my cards are similar at 44/40/44/40. I haven't done much testing yet, but using Linx for a short time my cores temp topped out at 70.

I would also like to note that my intent was not to discourage people from getting this case. I love the case! In fact it is the best case that I have ever had and it looks great. It is just a few minor issues that I wanted to make Corsair and fellow system builders aware of.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-15-2009, 11:47 AM
boogieman boogieman is offline
Registered User
boogieman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 237
POST ID # = 416598
boogieman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrock75 View Post
boogieman: As I said you could use Bitspower top on the pump and some fitting to route the hosing as I did. The filter with a little help was able to fit over the bolt heads also.
I know. Thanks but no thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-15-2009, 03:14 PM
Evanesco Evanesco is offline
Registered User
Evanesco's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 416627
Evanesco Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Evanesco
Default

Hi! Really nice setup!
How did you dampen the pump. I mean, I do you prevent the vibrations from the pump to the case?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-15-2009, 05:51 PM
boogieman boogieman is offline
Registered User
boogieman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 237
POST ID # = 416652
boogieman Reputation: 10
Default

The pump, or at least my pump, has very little to no vibration.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-15-2009, 09:00 PM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 433
POST ID # = 416663
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman View Post
The pump, or at least my pump, has very little to no vibration.
How did you mount the pump? Did you screw it down somehow, or it just staying there due to the force of gravity?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-15-2009, 09:13 PM
boogieman boogieman is offline
Registered User
boogieman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 237
POST ID # = 416665
boogieman Reputation: 10
Default

Double face tape. BTW, I don't own the Corsair case.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-15-2009, 10:30 PM
jrock75 jrock75 is offline
Registered User
jrock75's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 416669
jrock75 Reputation: 10
Default

I used the small bolts that came with my pump, and have them pointed up. With a little help the filter will slide over the bolt heads. The pump also doesn't have any vibration that is noticeable.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.