The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2018, 05:41 PM
cYpherL0K cYpherL0K is offline
Registered User
cYpherL0K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 972891
cYpherL0K Reputation: 10
Default Random Video lag/stutter caused by iCUE

For a while I've been trying to narrow down an issue I've been seeing with random video stutter. Any type of graphic output would freeze, and then surge ahead like it was buffered to get caught up to where it should be.
It then dawned on me that this issue did not occur until I followed the prompt from the iCue software to update from 3.4.95 to current.

I was able to validate my findings by completely removing the iCue software, and any remnant profile/files and just let it run for my normal day to day usage, gaming and streaming. Not 1 stutter occurred.

I re-installed 3.4.95. For 3 days, not one issue with stutter, lag or video freeze.

I then did the "check for update" again, and re-applied 3.7.99.
Shortly after that - sure enough, I started seeing the issue again with video lag/stutter. So leaving the software installed this time, I exit/quit the iCue software, and then:

1) Bring up Windows Task Manager (Windows 10 fully updated)
2) go to the "Services" tab - stop the Corsair Service.
3) go back 1 tab to the "Details" tab and "End Task" on the "CorsairServiceDisplayApapter.exe"
And start using my PC like I normally would - the issues are gone again.

It's pretty clear at this point something in the iCue software is causing an issue. No matter what light profile I use for the LL Fans.
So anytime I plan on doing any kind of streaming or gaming, I have to do this so I don't lag out for 1 to 3 seconds.

It would be helpful to get a fix for this.

System Specs:
Intel 7700k
Evga Z270 FTW K
G.Skilll Trident Z 3000 (32gig)
2x EVGA 1080 FTW (with and without SLI)
PNY 240gb SSD
WD 1TB Blue SSD
WD 1.5TB Green HDD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2018, 08:52 PM
acYm acYm is offline
Registered User
acYm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 972913
acYm Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, it's completely broken, using Process Explorer you can easily see it deliver regular 20 to 50% jolts to the entire kernel, freezing the whole OS and obliterating the DPC count as it ****s the bed.

Whoever let that crap out the door needs to be named and shamed.

I wasted like 3 days troubleshooting this ****! It can take HOURS for a spike to show up!

WHY THE HELL ARE WE BEING PROMPTED TO UPDATE TO AN ILL-TESTED BETA

edit: I installed version 3.495, hoping it would fix it, but sadly not. I have screenshots of exactly the same kind of system responsiveness killing cpu spikes as the latest one. It's rare though. It's certainly possible to spend a whole evening without having a glitch - that was the case for me yesterday. But it's on its way.

At this point, tomorrow I'm rolling back to Link.

Last edited by acYm; 09-16-2018 at 01:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2018, 12:17 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 972988
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The issue - when we've seen it - typically goes back to the CPUIDSDK that's used to monitor system sensors. You can actually disable it by renaming the CPUIDSDK.dll to something else (like CPUIDSDK.dll.bak).

Since Link uses the exact same SDK (except an earlier version), rolling back to Link won't resolve anything.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2018, 11:18 PM
acYm acYm is offline
Registered User
acYm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 973074
acYm Reputation: 10
Default

In that case it seems I might have some news for you guys, as here is the corsair.service.exe, even with this DLL blocked off and system monitoring shut down in iCue, delivering a pair of system-killing spikes in succession, not three hours into my tests.




the smaller ones are firefox and OBS and don't affect responsiveness. the two taller ones did kill the dpc, as process lasso's meter displayed. corsairservice can spike by 15 or 50% it doesn't matter, it has the same "my whole damn pc is buggered" effect.

this is completely unacceptable, on so many levels.

btw I've seen a pair of spikes like that, with pretty much the same spacing between them, several times now.

Last edited by acYm; 09-16-2018 at 11:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2018, 08:25 PM
J_Wildfire_T J_Wildfire_T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 973190
J_Wildfire_T Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The issue - when we've seen it - typically goes back to the CPUIDSDK that's used to monitor system sensors. You can actually disable it by renaming the CPUIDSDK.dll to something else (like CPUIDSDK.dll.bak).
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but I had to post.

Sir, my hat of to you. The above worked for me!

I can confirm that I am now able to play my games and watch films with no spikes/lag or stuttering. Two days of testing and all is still good!

Again, thank you DevBiker!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2018, 05:03 AM
Rudzik Rudzik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 973380
Rudzik Reputation: 10
Sad

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Wildfire_T View Post
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but I had to post.

Sir, my hat of to you. The above worked for me!

I can confirm that I am now able to play my games and watch films with no spikes/lag or stuttering. Two days of testing and all is still good!

Again, thank you DevBiker!
lucky you! I have this problem is still
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2018, 11:07 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 973410
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acYm View Post
In that case it seems I might have some news for you guys, as here is the corsair.service.exe, even with this DLL blocked off and system monitoring shut down in iCue, delivering a pair of system-killing spikes in succession, not three hours into my tests.




the smaller ones are firefox and OBS and don't affect responsiveness. the two taller ones did kill the dpc, as process lasso's meter displayed. corsairservice can spike by 15 or 50% it doesn't matter, it has the same "my whole damn pc is buggered" effect.

this is completely unacceptable, on so many levels.

btw I've seen a pair of spikes like that, with pretty much the same spacing between them, several times now.
I can't argue with you that it's unacceptable. I'm not seeing the same behavior so I have to wonder what's going on ... that may help us get to the root cause (rather than just looking at symptoms.

So ... you mention "3 hours into your test" ... what/how are you testing? Do you have any other monitoring tools running, particularly any monitoring tools that read the Corsair device's values?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2018, 10:44 AM
cYpherL0K cYpherL0K is offline
Registered User
cYpherL0K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 973537
cYpherL0K Reputation: 10
Default

@DevBiker
I"ve just renamed the DLL you mentioned, and restarted.
Will test today and see what happens. Thanks for your input. :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2018, 10:18 PM
cYpherL0K cYpherL0K is offline
Registered User
cYpherL0K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 973806
cYpherL0K Reputation: 10
Default

So after renaming the suggested DLL, issue does not appear to be occurring again.
The question is - what specific functionality are we losing by doing this now?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2018, 04:06 PM
PJH's Avatar
PJH PJH is offline
Registered User
PJH's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 186
POST ID # = 973904
PJH Reputation: 14
Default

Hey, hey!

Hard drive monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-23-2018, 05:11 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 973913
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJH View Post
Hey, hey!

Hard drive monitoring.
Well, more than that. It's monitoring of system sensors - so CPU temps, motherboard, GPU temps ... as well as hard drives.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-24-2018, 01:40 AM
Rudzik Rudzik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 973960
Rudzik Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The issue - when we've seen it - typically goes back to the CPUIDSDK that's used to monitor system sensors. You can actually disable it by renaming the CPUIDSDK.dll to something else (like CPUIDSDK.dll.bak).

Since Link uses the exact same SDK (except an earlier version), rolling back to Link won't resolve anything.
Checked by many - does not help! The problem is not CPUIDSDK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-27-2019, 10:21 AM
MiksteR_RdY MiksteR_RdY is offline
Registered User
MiksteR_RdY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 999174
MiksteR_RdY Reputation: 10
Default

Any fix found ever? I just got the K95 RGB and the Glaive, and I do love it, but the stutter caused by iCue is ridiculous. It's 2019 for f's sake.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-27-2019, 11:26 AM
Glzmo's Avatar
Glzmo Glzmo is offline
A Mighty CORSAlR™
Glzmo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 999182
Glzmo Reputation: 10
Default

Do you have the iCue OSD enabled, by any chance? If so, try turning that off (untick "Enable" under Settings->OSD).

Another thing you could try is to disable Windows 10 Game Mode, Full Screen enhancements and the Game Bar.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-27-2019, 01:14 PM
cYpherL0K cYpherL0K is offline
Registered User
cYpherL0K's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 999192
cYpherL0K Reputation: 10
Default

I haven't had 'ANY' issues with this, since getting rid of that DLL.
On a side note - i haven't bothered to update the iCUE software either, so I can't say if it ever was fixed in a later version.
Everything does what I need, without the lag - so why bother upgrading and running into the wall again :P
I'll update the software when it absolutely needs it and deal with it then
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.