The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2013, 06:28 AM
eternitykh eternitykh is offline
Registered User
eternitykh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
POST ID # = 651808
eternitykh Reputation: 10
Default Neutron 240 Firmware update issue with SSD Toolbox

I'm having issues updating my neutron 240 with the toolbox.

FW on drive: M206
Available FW: M208

When i click download and confirm the warning, the progress bar will reach about 80% and hang during "Downloading firmware to drive" then system becomes unresponsive, and requires a hard reboot/shutdown.

I was afraid of data lost/corruption when this happend... but everything seems to be intact.

I tried it for a second time and same results.

Weirdest thing happened when I hard rebooted it the second time.
immediately after that boot, windows gave me an MBR error and refused to boot (i was shocked and thought it was data lost/corruption) then i rebooted it again, then gave me generic missing boot disk error this time.(wtf?)

then i went to bios to verify that the system sees the drive, and BEHOLD it SEES IT, BUT it some how moved it to the last priority slot for boot order... so some how the drive blanked out to the system and it didn't see it. very strange.... but i set it back to first boot and windows booted right up.

So no real harm done, but sure enough there's still firmware update issue here. i verified that the fw is still M206 after the 2 attempts.

FYI, It's on a sabertooth z77, w7 x64, and the neutron 240 is plugged into the first intel sata port. and i have never had sata issues with this system.

Last edited by eternitykh; 05-08-2013 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-08-2013, 08:50 AM
snfo snfo is offline
Registered User
snfo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 651830
snfo Reputation: 31
Default

I had to change the SATA drivers to microsfot generic sata drivers and only then I was able to update, but never had a system crash or anything like that before the driver change, and it was with a neutron gtx 120.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-10-2013, 01:18 AM
lsi lsi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 652239
lsi Reputation: 10
Default

For those wondering, my Neutron GTX updated fine with the current AMD AHCI drivers packaged in current AMD chipset packages (rev 337).
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-10-2013, 07:45 PM
Mathildos Mathildos is offline
Registered User
Mathildos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 652437
Mathildos Reputation: 10
Default

I have the exact same problem as eternitykh. Hangs at 80% and now the drive isn't recognized at boot anymore.

I tried changing the SATA drivers from Intel to MS generic like snfo suggested, rebooted & retried, but same problem.

Now every time I boot my computer I have to go into the BIOS to pick the drive to boot from, because it doesn't show up for the normal boot order anymore.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-11-2013, 07:10 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 652482
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

@Mathildos

Plug the drive into another computer with AHCI enabled and see if you can update the firmware.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-11-2013, 07:14 AM
Mathildos Mathildos is offline
Registered User
Mathildos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 652485
Mathildos Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, Toasted. Unfortunately I don't have another computer. This one definitely has AHCI enabled in the BIOS though.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-11-2013, 09:13 AM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 652516
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

What is MS-generic? Be specific!!! Make sure you took the right one.

These following are wrong:

(Standard IDE ATA/ATAPI-controllers)
IDE-controller
PCMCIA IDE/ATAPI-Controller
Standard Dual CHannel PCI IDE Controller

Standard Microsoft Corp
SMSC SLC90E66 PCI Busmaster IDE-Controller


Only this one is correct:

Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller

I personally think, adding a note about that during the process in the tools going to reduce forum-spam (people asking about what to do about it) by at least half!

Then after apply and rebooting, twice check / make sure in device-manager if that one is really running and close any third-party programs or services (i.e. RAM-drives on SSD) before trying to update FW again!

Question: What is your chipset's name?



Quote:
Originally Posted by lsi View Post
For those wondering, my Neutron GTX updated fine with the current AMD AHCI drivers packaged in current AMD chipset packages (rev 337).
Good for you, doesnt mean it will work for everyone. On the other hand most of the people are unable to do it with chipset-vendors driver, while the MSAHCI doesnt change in name of tweak, so setting up MSAHCI is the safest way to update and usually fix incompatibily issues with updating FW.

P.S:: Whatever rev 337 of the latest Chipset driver means for you... i guess you mean file-version 1.2.1.337... here you find the always latest version... (actually 12.104 with SATA 13.4):
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...ndows_all.aspx

Last edited by Incriminated; 05-11-2013 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:05 AM
Mathildos Mathildos is offline
Registered User
Mathildos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 652533
Mathildos Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incriminated View Post
What is MS-generic? Be specific!!! Make sure you took the right one.
It only shows 2 drivers as being compatible:

Intel(R) 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
Standard SATA AHCI Controller

It had the first one selected, so I switched it to the second one. This is Windows 8, and "Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller" isn't in the list (I checked the full list of non-compatible drivers as well).
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:25 AM
Mathildos Mathildos is offline
Registered User
Mathildos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 652537
Mathildos Reputation: 10
Default

UPDATE: I disabled everything I could see that starts up automatically, rebooted, tried again, and now it worked!

Possible suspect: Intel Rapid Storage Driver.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:21 PM
lsi lsi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 652627
lsi Reputation: 10
Default

Intel RST is one of the least compatible AHCI drivers for firmware updates, likely because it is Intel's universal package for both AHCI and RAID modes. The msahci driver will always be the one to use for firmware update utilities if you want to be safe.

AMD's AHCI driver is specific to AHCI mode, and is much more compatible with firmware update utilities in my experience (I have 40+ SSD's at any given time, and do a lot of this testing) whereas their RAID mode uses a different driver set. AMD users don't need to be nearly as concerned re: msahci as long as their AHCI driver is current. Prior to the rev337 AMD AHCI driver in the early 2013 chipset packages, AMD hadn't changed the bundled driver version from rev331 since the middle of 2012. I also did a lot of firmware updating successfully on the older rev331 AMD AHCI driver version.

As a side note, a lot of ISO-based firmware update utilities fail on AMD SATA controllers in AHCI mode and need to be changed to IDE temporarily.

Last edited by lsi; 05-12-2013 at 01:03 PM. Reason: readability
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:58 PM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 652631
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathildos View Post
It only shows 2 drivers as being compatible:

Intel(R) 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
Standard SATA AHCI Controller

It had the first one selected, so I switched it to the second one. This is Windows 8, and "Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller" isn't in the list (I checked the full list of non-compatible drivers as well).
Soo im sry, but im out. Should be the right one, but if it wont work, i dunno. Always worked with 7.

Oh you got it xD yeah it was high likely the Intel raid-tool.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-13-2013, 06:04 PM
eternitykh eternitykh is offline
Registered User
eternitykh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
POST ID # = 652980
eternitykh Reputation: 10
Default

hm... this could be the case, im using iastor drivers right now (intel rst f6), i guess i'll switch to msahci and try.

anyone know which is better anyways for the neutron?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-14-2013, 01:05 PM
lsi lsi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 653141
lsi Reputation: 10
Default

Intel's RST drivers will always give you the most optimized performance, as msahci drivers are generic and mostly rely on your motherboard bios' ahci implementation. I've seen motherboards with buggy ahci implementations which had severe slowdowns under Crystal Diskmark qd32 testing loads that were ok with manufacturer achi drivers. The ideal fix is at the core level via a proper bios update from the manufacturer, but using the mfg's ahci drivers will make the best of the current state of your hardware platform.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-14-2013, 01:10 PM
lsi lsi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 653143
lsi Reputation: 10
Default

This is an example of what manufacturer ahci drivers can do for performance bugs vs using generic msahci, and it also shows the ideal aftermath where the board mfg fixes its bios bugs:

http://forums.ncix.com/forums/?mode=...oduct_id=47948
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-14-2013, 04:14 PM
chronidus chronidus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 653181
chronidus Reputation: 10
Default

My drive failed update when Windows was installed on it, but I swapped it around and installed Windows to my other neutron GTX and secure wiped the old windows drive, update then went through cleanly.

It seems you will have better chance for it to go through clean if its not the OS drive
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.