The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:29 PM
Cadencia Cadencia is offline
Registered User
Cadencia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Matakana, New Zealand
Posts: 83
POST ID # = 441457
Cadencia Reputation: 10
Default X-Series Fioormware update questions.

I notice you have backed off with the X256 firmware. OK, it didn't work for me, anyway. Do you have any expectation of changing this position in the future?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:42 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 441469
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadencia View Post
I notice you have backed off with the X256 firmware. OK, it didn't work for me, anyway. Do you have any expectation of changing this position in the future?
The X256 1.1 firmware IS the 2.0 firmware for the other versions.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:54 PM
Cadencia Cadencia is offline
Registered User
Cadencia's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Matakana, New Zealand
Posts: 83
POST ID # = 441488
Cadencia Reputation: 10
Default

If that's true, I am pleased - my SSDs have been supporting TRIM all along, and all my concerns have been unfounded. I think it would be nice to have it confirmed by a Corsair rep. Is it new knowledge, or something I've just missed whilst trawling the forum? I've been following pretty assiduously over the past few weeks.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-27-2010, 12:15 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 441491
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Don't think I've seen it on the forum, but I got that straight from RG right before I posted it.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:15 PM
Yodarama Yodarama is offline
Registered User
Yodarama's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 442784
Yodarama Reputation: 10
Default

RAM Guy,
Thanks, I appreciate the help!

V/r
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:15 AM
Falcon68 Falcon68 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 442889
Falcon68 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi RAM GUY and Yellowbeard,

I just re-read the FAQ on the X-series on this forum. Shouldn't you update the current firmware version? It still says that the latest version is firmware v1.0.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-09-2010, 05:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 442966
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Done thanks for the reminder!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:28 PM
darkguset darkguset is offline
Registered User
darkguset's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 443898
darkguset Reputation: 10
Default

I have not seen anywhere in the guide mentioning the pins (jumpers) at the back of the SSD. Does it need to be closed for the update, or we do not even need to care for it?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:30 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 443899
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

No, the pins are not part of this process.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:37 AM
darkguset darkguset is offline
Registered User
darkguset's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 444084
darkguset Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Done thanks for the reminder!
There is also firmware 2.1 out now (update the thread again? lol). I just received my X64 yesterday and it states fw 2.1, 100% health and TRIM support on CrystalDisk! Awesome!

I would also like to commend you for your quick responses and forum support! Getting the upgrade tool out there, even in beta form was a very good decision, do not regret it.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-17-2010, 01:46 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 444086
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkguset View Post
There is also firmware 2.1 out now (update the thread again? lol).
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Yes Versions 1.1 or 2.1 is the same as 1.0 or 2.0 version just a slightly different BOM or Build.
But the firmware version is the same.
Already covered.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:07 AM
chipo chipo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 444232
chipo Reputation: 10
Default Pictures

Hello
The pictures in front of the Thread are a little bit tricky the "lower case" is Up and the "upper case" is lower.

I Think this is the reasoon why i can´t update my ssd with upper.exe wich is downloadable in first and the lower.exe in the 2nd.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:01 PM
Giga Giga is offline
Registered User
Giga's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 444455
Giga Reputation: 10
Default

im abit confused here, i have 1.0 on my x-256 what firmware should i get then i can only see upper/lower case for 32g-128g on this guide
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:38 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 444461
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

chipo: Yes, the order of the pictures are different than the order of the links, but the links are still clearly labeled, so it's a moot point.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-23-2010, 06:38 AM
Stewart1 Stewart1 is offline
Registered User
Stewart1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 44
POST ID # = 444792
Stewart1 Reputation: 10
Default

I think it will be more on-topic to post this question in this thread than in the "success or failure" thread.

Having failed to update my X128, I have returned it for a factory reflash. All being well I expect to get it back in the next 3-10 days.

I understand from earlier in this thread that it will be returned to me without data (that's OK, I wiped it with the Acronis cloning utility when I imaged its contents to the spinning drive).

My question is whether the drive will be returned to me in optimum condition, or should I do something else to wipe it or prepare it before using Acronis to re-image the contents of the boot drive? Please understand I'm not implying anything derogatory about Corsair here, just that all this wiping vs deleting stuff is new territory for me.

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Last edited by Stewart1; 03-24-2010 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.