The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:09 PM
Arimis5226 Arimis5226 is offline
Registered User
Arimis5226's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 570579
Arimis5226 Reputation: 10
Default LED profiles revert back to first saved profile

Okay, so when I first put this in my rig, I set up an initial profile. My LED profile reverts back to my very first saved profile everytime I reboot my system. Is this a known issue, or is there a known solution? An even more frightning proposal would be, is this an unknown issue? :/
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-04-2012, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 570751
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes that is something we are looking at and the next software release may address this, all you have to do is open the software and it should load the profile again.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-04-2012, 09:07 PM
Arimis5226 Arimis5226 is offline
Registered User
Arimis5226's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 570771
Arimis5226 Reputation: 10
Default

No, I have to change the saved profile everytime i start the software after restart. It's not saving my profiles, basically. Although I think I may have found a work around. Goto profile management, remove all profiles (delete), save current profile and set as default. Not working as it should, but I believe this is working for me. I'll post here if it goes bonkers again.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-05-2012, 07:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 570930
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Once you save a profile it should save to the Link and run that profile for the fans, however, it will take a few min for the fans to slow to the profile setting it will not run the profile speed right away.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-09-2012, 02:41 PM
Arimis5226 Arimis5226 is offline
Registered User
Arimis5226's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 571470
Arimis5226 Reputation: 10
Default

I think you are misunderstanding me. When I boot up my computer, I startup the link software. My profile is reverted back to my original first profile I created and saved. I make changes to that profile, and save. When I restart my computer, I load the link software. My profile is reverted back to my original first profile again. The cycle goes on forever and ever. Basically, any changes that I make to my profile are not saving (yes I saved the profile, but the saves don't carry over to my next system start up).
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-09-2012, 08:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 571552
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes I have seen that and we are looking into that but you may have to delete the profiles saved in that folder then create a new profile and save it. The link unit will only save one profile it seems but it may not update when a saved profile exists.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:39 AM
Arimis5226 Arimis5226 is offline
Registered User
Arimis5226's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 571596
Arimis5226 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I tried that. It didn't work. I tried uninstalling the software and reinstalling. Looks like my profiles aren't deleted upon uninstallation either. Either way, I'll let you know if the reinstall gets me back on track when I get home.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 03:14 PM
Ensor Ensor is offline
Registered User
Ensor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 72
POST ID # = 571675
Ensor Reputation: 10
Default

I actually had that problem too. Something I didn't try yet:

Disconnect the Commander (or take your system from power) for about half an hour so you're sure everything is "bled empty".

Then make sure you have your profile set exactly as you want it and then save it. Perhaps it'll save it again when it starts out "cold" (at least for the first save you try).

I can't try it any more as I've returned the unit.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-13-2012, 04:36 AM
shaft shaft is offline
Registered User
shaft's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 578020
shaft Reputation: 10
Default

Can anyone confirm that this work(disconnecting)? my LEDs shut off after every resume/poweron ever since I got it. Not ONE single feature works properly on my corsair link since I got it over 2 months ago. Glad I could help fund further R&D on a non functional product.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-13-2012, 08:10 AM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 578035
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaft View Post
Can anyone confirm that this work(disconnecting)? my LEDs shut off after every resume/powering ever since I got it. Not ONE single feature works properly on my corsair link since I got it over 2 months ago. Glad I could help fund further R&D on a non functional product.
I can confirm that it does not work with fan profiles. On 5/8/12 I cleared the unit by completely removing power (unplugged) from my system for 24 hours and disconnecting the usb connector from the motherboard. This morning after powering and booting the fans were not responding as expected and after viewing the profile all of the fan curves had been reset to some "default" curves.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-13-2012, 10:09 AM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 578051
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

Update-After my last post at 7:10 am I deleted all profile (3) in the GUI. Made sure the .xml file were not preset in corsair link folder, unplugged power supply, went about my morning business, plugged in the power supply after 1hr 45min. booted, opened the GUI and my last stored values (device names, fan curves, fan associations to thermal inputs) were still present. .XML files are not in the corsair link folder.

Conclusion? every bit of the .xml data along with information not present in xmil file (fan curves) is stored in the link (non-volatile) memory.

Conclusion 2? No idea why the link would revert to mystery fan curves for no apparent reason.

I will continue testing other ideas.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.