Corsair Community

465x and top rad?

Loki84

Hey all, has anyone successfully mounted a 240mm rad in the top of the 465x case? My understanding is that this would be the ideal placement, but I don't think it will clear my ram. I have no experience with AIOs, but I want the extra cooling, and of course, the superior RGB. I was either going to go for the top 240mm option, or the 360mm front option, maybe the 280mm option in the front. TBH though, I'd rather go with a 360 in the front, as this will be easiest.

A lot of people will have a hard time with top mount in that case because of RAM clearance. Typically you need something 40mm or shorter there to avoid collisions.

If CPU temperature is the only concern, you will get the lowest possible CPU temp from doing a front intake placement (regardless of size). The air in the front of the case will be 2-3C cooler than the top layer above the MB VRM and RAM. That 2-3C is the baseline difference and it can be more when under heavy GPU load. Because the 3700x and other Ryzen 3000 processors are fairly power efficient (low watts), the environment becomes a larger factor in CPU temps than the actual load. The wattage the cooler needs to dissipate is not all that much, so coolant rise is generally smaller than someone with a comparative Intel 6-8 core processor.

Ok, ty c-attack.

So, I guess the choice is between a front-mounted 280 or 360. Unless I took a dremel to it, I would not be able to mount the rad tubes down with a 360mm, which as I understand, is the correct way. I could of course accomplish that with a 280, but id rather have the 360, as using a 280 would require the removal of the 120mm fans, and rewiring. Personally, I think I would prefer to keep the 3-fan look.

Now the question is, which 360mm rad?

You've got a bunch to choose from now.

H150i Pro - Asetek, only one with ultra quiet 1100 rpm pump mode, no RGB fans