The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2017, 08:48 PM
Piscator Piscator is offline
Registered User
Piscator's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 923101
Piscator Reputation: 10
Default Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3000 C15 and Gigabyte AB350N Gaming WiFi

Hi guys,

So a friend and me build a PC:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 1300X Quad-Core 3.5GHz
CPU cooler: Be quiet! Shadow Rock LP
MB: Gigabyte AB350N-Gaming WiFi
RAM: Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3000 C15
SSD for OS: Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB
HDD: WD Blue WD20EZRZ, 2TB
CD/DVD: HL-DT-DT DVDRA ATAPI
GraphicS Asus: ROG-STRIX-RX560-4G-GAMING 4GB DDR5 DVI/HDMI/DP
Power Supply: Seasonic M12II Evo 520W
OS: none

First day: installed Win 8.1, worked fine with some warnings about hardware not being compatible with 8.1 so wanted to update later on.

Next day: tryed out the DDR a bit by browsing Flickr in Chrome, loading large quantities of photos and got a BSOD. Got back in, removed all current software and drivers and decided to update to Win 10, and the update program crashed with a BSOD.

Back in, I used an app from the supplier to update all drivers, tried again and crashed again only this time Win 8.1 wouldn't boot. Tried restoring it with the Win 8.1 CD, no effect so got a Win 10 USB in the shop. Both installers get stuck around 70% during "getting files ready" going to a BSOD.

BSOD's:

Stopcode: Bad pool header

Stopcode: Dpc watchdog violation

Stopcode: Kmode exception not handled
What failed: ntfs.sys

Stopcode: Driver irql not less or equal
What failed: classpnp.sys

Stopcode: Page fault in nonpaged area
What failed: ntfs.sys

Stopcode: System service exeption
What failed: win32kbase.sys

What I tried so far:

- Nuked SSD in Parted Magic

- Put installation USB in 2.0 USB (because no need of drivers)

- Installed all drivers I could find for MB in Win 10 installation befor installing OS.

- Updated outdated BIOS to F6e

- Run test on SSD/HDD, no problems

- Run test on DDR: full of errors after a short while so I think thats the issue and think I might have installed faulty hardware.

I read about other problems on the board, with no clear solution and many claiming there there can be a lot of compatibility issues with Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3000 C15 and some MB's. I wanted to take it out and reinstall the DDR it this weekend, maybe that does the trick (did on me Acer).

Does anyone else have the same issues, or any suggestions/solutions?

Last edited by Piscator; 10-12-2017 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-15-2017, 02:15 PM
Piscator Piscator is offline
Registered User
Piscator's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 923334
Piscator Reputation: 10
Default

I just wanted to let you know that at the moment, the PC is running fine with DDR4 of a competing brand.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-16-2017, 02:08 AM
gdp77 gdp77 is offline
Registered User
gdp77's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 923389
gdp77 Reputation: 10
Default

What is your ram speed and at what voltage set from bios? Are the ram sticks inserted in the correct slots (see user manual). Finally try using one stick at a time and run memtest for a few passes and see what happens. Last suggestion try swapping slots between your ram sticks.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.