The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2019, 10:27 AM
dougjima dougjima is offline
Registered User
dougjima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1002175
dougjima Reputation: 10
Default AX860i Bootloop

Firstly, English is not my native language. I apologize for any grammatical errors. I will try to explain my problem.

Since 2015 I have never had problems with my PC. But 3 days ago I went to turn on the PC I got bootloop. It started and shut down infinitely. No buzzer sound or error code. I did self test and did not turn on the led. I turned off the PC, took out all the cables, and did the self test again. The led did not light up. I removed the memories, reseating memories, changed thermal paste, clear cmos, backup bios, removed GPU, reseating GPU and the same bootloop.

I connected everything again for another test. If I remove the 8 pin CPU Cable the PC power on, self test work, but logically it does not show post.

With the CPU cable connected and removing the 10 pin (10 + 14 pin) cable from the PSU, the self test work. I thought it was short on the motherboard. I tested the CPU connector with a multimeter and it did not have a short one. Measure CPU cable and shows 12v. Changed CPU Cable and same bootloop.

I tested it with another PSU and the PC power on. I unplugged the power and reconnected after 24 hours and the PC power up again. No problem atm, but I remember when I reconfigured Bios, I activated the XMP and two options showed. One active all cores and another AUTO. I chose Sync all cores because I already used it. The PC shut off immediately. Reconfigured again and chose AUTO. XMP still on.

Corsair Link does not detect the PSU and when it detects after hours, the information does not load. It gets frozen. This error has always occurred since the last updates of the CL4.

Can the problem be the PSU or motherboard? Maybe CPU? The reports I see on the internet showed to be the PSU, but most with ASUS motherboards.

Could you please help me? I hope my explanation did not get too confusing.

Thanks

System since 2015
ASUS Z97 deluxe
CORSAIR AX860i
CORSAIR H100i v1
CORSAIR 16GB Domminator Platinum 2666
i7 4790K
Gigabyte 970 OC
Windows 10
Samsung 840 PRO
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-22-2019, 12:29 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 1002195
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougjima View Post

I tested it with another PSU and the PC power on. I unplugged the power and reconnected after 24 hours and the PC power up again. No problem atm, but I remember when I reconfigured Bios, I activated the XMP and two options showed. One active all cores and another AUTO. I chose Sync all cores because I already used it. The PC shut off immediately. Reconfigured again and chose AUTO. XMP still on.
Firstly, welcome to the forum!

The above statement does somewhat concern me. You say you activated XMP and you chose Sync All Cores? Sync All Cores is for CPU overclocking and is not related to XMP. And just to clarify, your PSU is now working in your system?
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-22-2019, 01:19 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 131
POST ID # = 1002201
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

If the system is booting with another PSU, you should start a support ticket at Corsair.com/support. The PSU doesn't seem to be behaving like it should.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-22-2019, 01:50 PM
dougjima dougjima is offline
Registered User
dougjima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1002206
dougjima Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_B500 View Post
Firstly, welcome to the forum!

The above statement does somewhat concern me. You say you activated XMP and you chose Sync All Cores? Sync All Cores is for CPU overclocking and is not related to XMP. And just to clarify, your PSU is now working in your system?

Thanks for replying.

When I select XMP, it shows me "Would you like to apply the all core enhancement with the XMP settings for improved performance? Sufficient processor cooling is required under all core enhancement". Confirm or Cancel.

This XMP setting was used since 2015. XMP set 4.4 Ghz all cores. And yes, the PSU is working on my system. It's been almost 2 days trying to solve this problem. And so far I don`t know what happened.

Self test failure without cables, self test failure with 8 pin CPU Cable and 10 pin(10+14) together, without short on motherboard.

Is there any possible explanation of what happened, more specifically with bootloop and self test failure?

Thank you
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-22-2019, 02:07 PM
dougjima dougjima is offline
Registered User
dougjima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1002209
dougjima Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
If the system is booting with another PSU, you should start a support ticket at Corsair.com/support. The PSU doesn't seem to be behaving like it should.
Thank you.

I already opened a ticket. The PC is working at the moment, I'm afraid to open an unnecessary ticket.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.