The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2019, 03:21 AM
eclark5483 eclark5483 is offline
Registered User
eclark5483's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 998396
eclark5483 Reputation: 10
Default Just need help confirming correct parts.

Build can be found here: https://builds.gg/builds/deepcool-ma...torial-3-15531

What I plan on is 4 Corsair RGB strips around the left side, 2 (possibly 3?) on the front, along with 6 LL120's. I'm purchasing a commander for fan control. Am I correct in that I will need The commander, 1 additional lighting node pro (to be plugged into Commander's USB hub, along with the lighting hub for the LL120's. I'm thinking I want to do the front independent of the left side's rgb strip display. Have the theme I'm using working on my own PC with the LL120's and other devices, but don't have any rgb strip configs on the Corsair stuff. I'm guessing this is correct, just need confirmation before ordering parts. Or can I somehow split RGB without the use of another lighting node.
__________________
My rig:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rDrbTtPRiU

Last edited by eclark5483; 03-21-2019 at 03:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-21-2019, 04:29 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,887
POST ID # = 998399
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi buddy... looks like you only need the commander pro if just using 6 LL fans and 4 strips... fans via rgb fan led hub into led channel 1 and strips in channel 2..

Have a read of the below linked thread. Should clear things up for you

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880

Last edited by Zotty; 03-21-2019 at 09:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-21-2019, 07:35 AM
eclark5483 eclark5483 is offline
Registered User
eclark5483's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 998406
eclark5483 Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry, I probably explained wrong. I will in fact, be using 6 or 7 strips.

To illustrate this..

Take a look at this mock up:



As you can see, the left side will use 4 strips (one on each side), while the front of the case will need 2 or 3, which I want to run independent of the left side's color pattern and profile.

Like say, I wanted the left side strips to marquee, and the front ones to fade or blink.

The total RGB in the project will be more then this, but I want to make sure I have the Corsair end covered. I MIGHT go with a mini-ITX on the build, which limits me to 1 internal USB header, but again might go ATX. But that's a different subject. Mainly has to do with onboard wi-fi choices really.. but anyways.. back to the original question.. thanks.
__________________
My rig:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rDrbTtPRiU
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-21-2019, 08:18 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,268
POST ID # = 998408
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

If you do 6 strips, nothing changes. You can have up to 6 strips on a single lighting channel and yes, you have the control to do what you are intending.
If you go to 7 strips, you'll need an additional LNP. Then it'd make sense for you to split the front and the side onto different channels.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-22-2019, 02:19 AM
eclark5483 eclark5483 is offline
Registered User
eclark5483's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 998496
eclark5483 Reputation: 10
Default

K that helps, thanks. It was that stray 7th one I was concerned about. But given the actual shorter height for installing the strips up front, I might be able to squeak by with just 6 LED strips, and 6 LL120's. The rest of the RGB will utilize onboard headers and the onboard aRGB of the case itself.
__________________
My rig:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rDrbTtPRiU

Last edited by eclark5483; 03-22-2019 at 02:26 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-22-2019, 06:55 AM
eclark5483 eclark5483 is offline
Registered User
eclark5483's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 998513
eclark5483 Reputation: 10
Default

So it will be

1 Commander


Plus 2 RGB hubs


To control 6 LL120's, and 6 RGB strips, which I am able to control individually? Is this correct?

Also, is it possible to create an animation effect using the LL120's where pacman dies, or even a chomp effect?? You can almost even make a ghost if you turn off the right lights on the LL120's



I haven't tried yet, but almost seems possible?? Anyone??
__________________
My rig:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rDrbTtPRiU

Last edited by eclark5483; 03-22-2019 at 07:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-22-2019, 09:28 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,268
POST ID # = 998524
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You don't need 2 hubs, only 1. The fans will plug into the hub and the strips will connect directly to the CoPro.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-22-2019, 03:38 PM
eclark5483 eclark5483 is offline
Registered User
eclark5483's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 998584
eclark5483 Reputation: 10
Default

OK, I think I get it now. Never used Corsair brand RGB strips, I thought they plugged into the RGB hub. I see by this example they get daisy chained. I wasn't aware I could still independently control the strips while daisy chained. Hmm, strange, but I like it.

__________________
My rig:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rDrbTtPRiU
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.