The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 35 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2013, 05:25 PM
Ragingsoul Ragingsoul is offline
Registered User
Ragingsoul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 631930
Ragingsoul Reputation: 10
Default AX860i suddenly shutting down

For the past couple of days with my new system, I had some problems with it suddenly shutting down, and the led going red on the Power supply.

When I Disconnect every cable, the self test pass, when I connect everything BUT the ATX for the motherboard, self test goes green.
When the motherboard is connected, I have no light if I try the self test.

Is that already normal or not?

The PC, can run with normal frequencies and voltages, or OCed, it's the same thing.
It can be on idle, or doing something, happened on every situation.
I can't see any relation here.

I don't know if it's either the House power fluctuations, the Motherboard or the powersupply which is causing this shut down.

The only way to restart the PC is by switching the Power supply off and on again.

Some days, it works without any problems. The next, I have 3 shut downs in 4h.
I ran intel burn tests and prime for a couple hours on various days, and no problem here.

Is the self test suppose to be green no matter what I plug in?
if there is a short circuit with the motherboard, how can I detect it?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:24 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 632086
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Sure sounds like the MB but the only way to really determine which component it is would be to test with another known good PSU. If you get the same issue then it's the MB or some component connected to it.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-12-2013, 07:08 PM
michal_wasinski michal_wasinski is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 633500
michal_wasinski Reputation: 10
Default

Hey guys.

Ragingsoul, I just dropped you a PM. I'm experiencing exactly the same problems with my ax860i. PC randomly shuts down and the LED light turns red. It can go on for days without this happening but when it does, the PC will shut down 4-7 times within one hour period.

The only way to bring the PC back to operational state is by reconnecting all the cables and resetting the switch on the back of the PSU.

Edit:
I forgot to mention that just like in Ragingsoul's case, the self test button does produce a green light, it simply does nothing. When the issue occurs, the system can be either under heavy load or totally idle, it does not affect the problem in any way. To eliminate the issue of fluctuating voltage, I have connected my PC to the mains through an expensive surge protector, although I'm not 100% sure this will help.

Below are my system specs to give you a better idea

Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
CPU: i3770k @3.6GHz (not overclocked)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB @ 1600MHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 680
SSD: Samsung 830 256GB SSD
HDD: Samsung F3 750GB 7200RPM
PSU: Corsair ax860i

Last edited by michal_wasinski; 02-12-2013 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-12-2013, 07:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 633506
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would tend to agree with
Quote:
Peanutz94
Sure sounds like the MB but the only way to really determine which component it is would be to test with another known good PSU. If you get the same issue then it's the MB or some component connected to it.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-13-2013, 05:43 AM
michal_wasinski michal_wasinski is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 633602
michal_wasinski Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would tend to agree with
Before buying the ax860i, I've been using a 1000W PSU the manufacturer of which shall not be named here. The other PSU, despite being loud and clunky, was stable and these reboots and sudden shut downs never took place. Looks like I'm gonna have to send the ax860i to Netherlands in order to RMA it.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:16 AM
Ragingsoul Ragingsoul is offline
Registered User
Ragingsoul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 633656
Ragingsoul Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would tend to agree with
Can you explain how the self test is done?
I can pass it with everything plugged in, except the 10 pin power for the Motherboard.

Since Motherboards tend to drain a lot of amps right at the start to start everything (and every fan on max), would this behavior alter the power Supply self test?

When the 14 pin part is connected to the AX860i, it still passes the self test, and since the motherboard isn't fully powered, the system doesn't boot of course.

I guess you can't do a self test with everything plugged in since it would mean a system start up, right?

I redid the cabling behind the Corsair Graphite 600T Midi-Tower on sunday, to have something cleaner, if I still have a random shut down with this done, I'll post here again.

It seems more of a motherboard issue than powersupply, but maybe it was just a cable not completely in (even if I rechecked things like 10 times).
Hopefully, the sunday's clean up by removing every cable and replugging everything have solve the problem.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-13-2013, 01:16 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 633681
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
Can you explain how the self test is done?
I can pass it with everything plugged in, except the 10 pin power for the Motherboard
.
The self test has to be performed with all cables DISCONNECTED from the back of the PSU. Just the power cable from the wall is all you should have plugged in.

Quote:
Since Motherboards tend to drain a lot of amps right at the start to start everything (and every fan on max), would this behavior alter the power Supply self test?
Not really anymore. Systems have become so energy efficient they do not quite behave the way the older systems do. At Idle conditions at start up your only looking at about 150-200 at the most.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.

Last edited by peanutz94; 02-13-2013 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-13-2013, 07:20 PM
Ragingsoul Ragingsoul is offline
Registered User
Ragingsoul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 633777
Ragingsoul Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Not really anymore. Systems have become so energy efficient they do not quite behave the way the older systems do. At Idle conditions at start up your only looking at about 150-200 at the most.
No, I think you missed my point, or maybe I didn't express it correctly.
Whenever you switch an electrical device on, because of the Condensers, you will have a peak of current far greater than once the voltage is stable (I'm not gonna make an electronic course here).
Depending on the motherboard, this could be quite high and might be flagged as a short circuit for the self test, that's why I asked.
I still didn't have the problem back since sunday at the moment.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-27-2013, 04:35 AM
michal_wasinski michal_wasinski is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 636499
michal_wasinski Reputation: 10
Default

Here's a short update to this thread.

After testing many different configurations, rearranging cables, disabling/enabling various BIOS features, I decided to RMA the ax860i and have sent it back to Netherlands yesterday.

After doing some research, it seems that the problem with the ax860i spontaneously shutting down is much more widespread. There are a lot of people reporting their ax860i's exhibiting exactly the same behavior on other forums which means this is not an isolated issue.

Corsair might want to look into this as their top of the range PSU seems to be having more problems than one would expect including issues with fan, corsair link, psu shutting down and much, much more.

Don't get me wrong, I like corsair products but the company never used to release products like this which to me, simply seem unfinished and rushed, considering the amount of issues people have with them.

Also, I find it ridiculous that after spending nearly £200 on a PSU I had to pay additional £60 to post it to Netherlands.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-27-2013, 05:03 PM
Ragingsoul Ragingsoul is offline
Registered User
Ragingsoul's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 636617
Ragingsoul Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michal_wasinski View Post
Here's a short update to this thread.

After testing many different configurations, rearranging cables, disabling/enabling various BIOS features, I decided to RMA the ax860i and have sent it back to Netherlands yesterday.

After doing some research, it seems that the problem with the ax860i spontaneously shutting down is much more widespread. There are a lot of people reporting their ax860i's exhibiting exactly the same behavior on other forums which means this is not an isolated issue.

Corsair might want to look into this as their top of the range PSU seems to be having more problems than one would expect including issues with fan, corsair link, psu shutting down and much, much more.

Don't get me wrong, I like corsair products but the company never used to release products like this which to me, simply seem unfinished and rushed, considering the amount of issues people have with them.

Also, I find it ridiculous that after spending nearly £200 on a PSU I had to pay additional £60 to post it to Netherlands.
yeah I switched back to my old PSU, and the problem is gone.
doing the RMA now too.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-01-2013, 06:18 PM
ram1220 ram1220 is offline
Registered User
ram1220's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 77
POST ID # = 637196
ram1220 Reputation: 10
Default

The current trend of poor quality Corsair PSU's has me concerned too. I am using a 5 year old TX850W that has been rock solid. But I know one day it will have to be replaced. Already I am looking at other brands other than Corsair. Years ago Corsair never would have put their names on such poor quality. Just search these forums as well as other sites on the internet. Something has happened in the quality department. Unless something changes my next PSU will not be a Corsair.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-14-2013, 03:09 PM
Lopez Lopez is offline
Registered User
Lopez's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 640276
Lopez Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem here.

Computer suddenly power off. Red led on the 860i.

the suddenly power off, is ramdom, i can be playing games in hardcore mode a lot of hours and dont got any problem, and i can be just waked up, trying to power on my computer and i cant. or just waked up start the computer open a web browser, start to reading some news, and computer shut down.

the first shutting down was at the end of Feb too.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-15-2013, 05:23 PM
Lopez Lopez is offline
Registered User
Lopez's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 640544
Lopez Reputation: 10
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvQfd_h0150

video of this morning just waked up, and only reading some forums.

Take a look that when i plug the cable of energy on the AX, the ax itself make a try to start without pushing any power button of the case

At the 4 or 5 try the computer starts without problems (without pressing anything, only conecting electrical cable to AX, and the temperatures are normal.

Last edited by Lopez; 03-15-2013 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-16-2013, 06:33 PM
tomba2go tomba2go is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 640725
tomba2go Reputation: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by michal_wasinski View Post
Here's a short update to this thread.

After testing many different configurations, rearranging cables, disabling/enabling various BIOS features, I decided to RMA the ax860i and have sent it back to Netherlands yesterday.

After doing some research, it seems that the problem with the ax860i spontaneously shutting down is much more widespread. There are a lot of people reporting their ax860i's exhibiting exactly the same behavior on other forums which means this is not an isolated issue.

Corsair might want to look into this as their top of the range PSU seems to be having more problems than one would expect including issues with fan, corsair link, psu shutting down and much, much more.

Don't get me wrong, I like corsair products but the company never used to release products like this which to me, simply seem unfinished and rushed, considering the amount of issues people have with them.

Also, I find it ridiculous that after spending nearly £200 on a PSU I had to pay additional £60 to post it to Netherlands.
I have had this PSU AX860I for about 3 months and now encountering the same problem. I can go hours without any issues, but sometimes it shuts down 15 mins into a boot up. I am going for a RMA. What a peice of crap! Not what I expected after shelling out so much money...
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-17-2013, 10:58 AM
Cmanico Cmanico is offline
Registered User
Cmanico's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 640824
Cmanico Reputation: 10
Default

I was playing WOW yesterday morning and my PC shut down with no warning. apo restart it shut down again, both times i had to turn the switch to the PSU of then on. I down clocked some items in bios that i had OC"d, and it proceeded to shut down once again. While In Corsair Link, I was checkign temps, then checked the power tab, and I think i found the cause of my shut down, some of the PCI-e rails were set to OCP, and turned all the way down. I've never messed ith any of these. so i unchecked them all saved provile and restarted. PC booted no problems. i ticked one of the rails to enable OCP, and my pc shut down instantly. My PC hasnt repeated this since. Not sure why the OCP settings changed themselves? something to check.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.