The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2019, 09:39 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 999866
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)

Any ideas? Just noticed it tonight, not sure if it was related to the iCUE update or not.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2019, 03:25 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 999971
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

What product is giving you this warning specifically? If all of our devices are detected normally, it's unrelated to iCUE.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2019, 03:58 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 999981
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
What product is giving you this warning specifically? If all of our devices are detected normally, it's unrelated to iCUE.
It's listed under USB controllers in device manager. I unplugged and replugged my H100i Platinum AIO from the USB header this morning and noticed it went away but the error returned. Also my Void Pro Wireless headset is disconnecting/reconnecting when this occurs multiple times, 5-6 and then reconnects. Been watching device monitor all day and have actually witnessed the headset do that in it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2019, 04:29 PM
Glzmo's Avatar
Glzmo Glzmo is offline
A Mighty CORSAlR™
Glzmo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 999990
Glzmo Reputation: 10
Default

That's likely caused by the iCue crash bug/USB disconnect/reconnect on iCue startup with H1xxi RGB Platinum coolers. If it happens multiple times, the USB driver can crash and then you get that error. Restarting your computer should fix it until it happens again, but you'd likely want to try the workaround in my signature and see if that helps to keep it away afterwards. The more USB devices you have connected, the higher the probability will be that the driver crashes when it happens.

Also, you can try deleting the device that gives an error from devices manager and restarting your computer. It should be re-initialized and hopefully properly installed it on the next Windows Startup.
__________________

Last edited by Glzmo; 04-04-2019 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2019, 04:39 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 999997
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glzmo View Post
That's likely caused by the iCue crash bug/USB disconnect/reconnect on iCue startup with H1xxi RGB Platinum coolers. If it happens multiple times, the USB driver can crash and then you get that error. Restarting your computer should fix it until it happens again, but you'd likely want to try the workaround in my signature and see if that helps to keep it away afterwards. The more USB devices you have connected, the higher the probability will be that the driver crashes when it happens.
The funny thing about all this is it was operating perfectly until I updated iCUE last night to the latest rev.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2019, 10:55 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1000050
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

I used the instructions to uninstall iCUE with Revo and reinstalled it and that seems to have cleared up the Void Pro wireless disconnecting and reconnecting. All devices are running fine (K95 Plat RGB, Void Pro wireless, MM800 mousepad, H100i cooler, Dominator Platinum RGB, Commander Pro, 2 ML 120 fans and 3 LL 120 fans) but still have that defective USB device as Win 10 calls it in Device Manager. Onward to try and troubleshoot what it is and try to fix. Thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2019, 07:49 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1000087
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gronar View Post
I used the instructions to uninstall iCUE with Revo and reinstalled it and that seems to have cleared up the Void Pro wireless disconnecting and reconnecting. All devices are running fine (K95 Plat RGB, Void Pro wireless, MM800 mousepad, H100i cooler, Dominator Platinum RGB, Commander Pro, 2 ML 120 fans and 3 LL 120 fans) but still have that defective USB device as Win 10 calls it in Device Manager. Onward to try and troubleshoot what it is and try to fix. Thanks for the advice!
Update: I fixed the USB error in Device Manager. I simply swapped which USB header the Commander Pro and H100i connectors were going into the motherboard. Device manager has no errors/conflicts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2019, 04:38 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1000139
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Weeeeeeird windows must've registered it wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:50 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1004399
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Weeeeeeird windows must've registered it wrong.
Here's something even weirder: Anytime I reboot now I get the constant disconnect/reconnect sounds and it usually leads to the device descriptor error in devman. To fix this I have to totally power down for about two minutes (shut down, hit switch on PSU, unplug PSU and let sit). Then after a restart I have to run the repair option in iCUE to get it to recognize all devices and work normally again. No errors at all until I have to reboot and then go through the whole process again. Attaching logs.
Attached Files
File Type: zip iCUE.zip (3.66 MB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2019, 04:08 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1004583
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

This is unrelated to iCUE at this point. The driver is just not registering correctly or it's getting blocked by something on launch or there's something wrong with the cooler's USB connection. It has to be on of those things.

Although you have a Z370...

What software version of iCUE is currently installed? This can be seen in Settings on the bottom right of the icue window.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-14-2019, 04:53 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1004587
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
This is unrelated to iCUE at this point. The driver is just not registering correctly or it's getting blocked by something on launch or there's something wrong with the cooler's USB connection. It has to be on of those things.

Although you have a Z370...

What software version of iCUE is currently installed? This can be seen in Settings on the bottom right of the icue window.
3.15.101. No, my board is an X470, should have put that in my specs.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-15-2019, 04:30 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1004691
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

I may have fixed this but in doing so created a new problem. I'm running two copro's with the AIO. I had the copro's connected in series to one USB header on the motherboard and the AIO connected to the other. Also right next to these headers is a USB 3.1 header that I had a hub plugged into and was wondering if maybe all those together is causing too much of a power draw? (I'm not an electrical engineer so this is a SWAG at it from me.)

I totally uninstalled iCUE including registry entries, shut down and did some rewiring. Now I have each of the copro's going to the two motherboard headers and the AIO connected to the header on copro #1. I have another USB 3.1 header on the side of the board so switched that hub over to it. Booted back up, reinstalled iCUE (3.15.101), setup the fans and light strips and all is working fine, no USB disconnect sounds (except for an initial one when I launch iCUE, I don't have it set to run on startup, don't get any after it is up) and I no longer have the device descriptor error in devman, even after reboots.

Problem is now the RGB from the h100I flickers. Every 30 seconds to a minute the two fans connected to it and the actual cooler lights will flicker. Have tried repairing iCUE to no avail. So close to having it all run perfect, any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-16-2019, 03:08 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1004761
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Normally that happens when communication is interrupted. That may just be the result of all the USB's plugged in...

2 possibilities:
1. It's too much going through a single header and the communication is failing.
2. The USB bus is overloading.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-16-2019, 04:10 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1004771
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Normally that happens when communication is interrupted. That may just be the result of all the USB's plugged in...

2 possibilities:
1. It's too much going through a single header and the communication is failing.
2. The USB bus is overloading.
Hmm, I wonder if I'm pushing the limit of my PSU? Running 600w.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-16-2019, 06:22 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1004783
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

I don't really see that happen much, but I guess it's certainly possible (without me doing any math, of course).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.