The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Legacy Corsair Software

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2015, 01:40 PM
zshulko zshulko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 816254
zshulko Reputation: 10
Default Tutorial - How to bind a key combination to a single key

Hi,
I've been searching for information on how to do this and haven't found anything.. Until I figured out on my own today...

Currently (Unless I don't see the option) there is no way to simply rebind a single key to an alternate key combination....

Example: Bind "Shift + W" to the UpArrow. So when I hold the up arrow my character will run (Shift being the run modifier).. Attempting to achieve this using normal macro or keystroke actions I end up with the action only triggering once, nothing, or my character convulsing on the screen due to the Action repeat options....

I have found a way to fix this (hopefully this hasn't been posted before and this helps some people or allow corsair to include this basic functionality in their software)..

Basically you will want to create to macros.. A "RUN" macro, and a "RUN Stop" macro.

1. Create a Macro Action called "RUN

2. Record your macro.. Press and release "SHIFT + W"

3. Delete the pause actions and the RELEASE actions.



4. Save the Macro and ignore the warning message...

5. It should look like this...



6. Create a second Macro Action called run stop.

7. Record your macro (Same as before).. Press and release "SHIFT + W"

8. This time delete the pause actions and the PRESS actions.



9. Save the Macro and ignore the warning message...

10. It should look like this...



11. You should have 2 macros.




12. Next. Go back and Edit "RUN" macro.

13. One the right hand side you will see an option for "DOUBLE MACROS"

14. Check the box to "enable a second macro on release"

15. Chose "RUN Stop" from the Macro drop down.



16. Save the macro

17. Assign this new Action to any key you want....

18. Done

Now as you hold the key down it will act like Shift + W... but when you release the key the second macro triggers to cancel the key press..

I would expect this would work with any number of keys or combinations...

Hope this helps someone.

Last edited by zshulko; 10-25-2015 at 02:24 PM.


  #2  
Old 01-17-2016, 05:35 PM
SeriousTom SeriousTom is offline
Registered User
SeriousTom's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 831524
SeriousTom Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks. this worked for holding the right mouse button in BF4 for me.


  #3  
Old 09-07-2016, 06:02 PM
Zanlin Zanlin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 870563
Zanlin Reputation: 10
Default

it worked for run button in warframe. i just used shift insted of shift + w.


  #4  
Old 09-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Apples Apples is offline
Registered User
Apples's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 870583
Apples Reputation: 12
Default

Be careful not to switch modes or profiles when you haven't released yet.


  #5  
Old 11-05-2018, 01:52 PM
InvisibleTouch InvisibleTouch is offline
Registered User
InvisibleTouch's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 979071
InvisibleTouch Reputation: 10
Default

Will this work for combining X and W as well?

When i try to remap the X key to W i always have to double tap the key for it to register. The X key is for jogging btw.


 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.