The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:23 AM
Zydor Zydor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 464382
Zydor Reputation: 10
Default MSI (AMD890FX) 890FXA-GD70 Mainboard Memory

I am looking for Corsair 1333mhz DDR3 Dual Channel 4Gb memory to run on a new MSI (AMD890FX) 890FXA-GD70 motherboard with an AMD 1090T CPU. The board is not listed on the memory configurator, probably because its relatively new.

Depending on price I will either get 2 x 4Gb (total 8Gb) leaving two slots free for more later, or fill all slots with 4 x 4Gb (total 16gb).

I am having trouble sourcing this with definitive information, and I am very cautious about getting the wrong memory - it will be an expensive mistake.

My initial thoughts are for the Corsair AMD Phenom II tuned memory. If I am right, which modules listed there do I buy? (there is more than one type of 4Gb 1333Mhz shown, and I am not sure of the difference in designation (eg between those ending "9" or "9A" for example).

Any definitive assist would be greatly appreciated, sourcing the right memory for the board is getting frustrating and its holding up the project.

Regards
Zy
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 12:08 PM
fireblaster_lyz fireblaster_lyz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 464575
fireblaster_lyz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zydor View Post
My initial thoughts are for the Corsair AMD Phenom II tuned memory. If I am right, which modules listed there do I buy? (there is more than one type of 4Gb 1333Mhz shown, and I am not sure of the difference in designation (eg between those ending "9" or "9A" for example).
9 = 2x2GB Modules
9A = 4GB Single Modules

My recommendation is the purchase the 2x9A, so you can utilize all 4 slots for 16GB in future and effectively run 2x4GB=8GB for dual channel.

EDIT: If not, getting the CMD8GX3M4A1333C7 will get you Dominators, filling all 4 slots for 8GB and the RAMs work at a lower latency.

Also, getting the CMG4GX3M2B1600C7 will get you Dominator GTs, but you need 2x to fill all 4 slots for 8GB and the RAMs work at a lower latency.

That is, if you overclock. (:

Last edited by fireblaster_lyz; 09-02-2010 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-05-2010, 06:40 AM
Zydor Zydor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 465039
Zydor Reputation: 10
Default

Apologies for slow response - been away.

Many Thanks - 9A's it is as I do want to go 16Gb at some point.

Regards
Zy
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:20 PM
RC-DC RC-DC is offline
Registered User
RC-DC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 479486
RC-DC Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same question, but bought using the "others bought" selections. I picked up 2x4gb (8gb total) of:

Corsair XMS3 8 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3 Memory Kit CMX8GX3M2A1333C9

I have the MSI 890FXA-GD70 and the AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban.

Will that RAM work with this mobo and CPU combo? The RAM box says it's for Intel Core i5's.

I'm still in the return window, so if I need to swap this for something else advice is most welcome. Many thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-08-2010, 01:12 PM
trackrat trackrat is offline
Registered User
trackrat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 702
POST ID # = 479499
trackrat Reputation: 10
Default

Be advised that you should purchase ONE tested, matched, compatible RAM kit of the total RAM quantity you want as mixing of RAM - even RAM of the same part number - is not recommended nor guaranteed to work per the Corsair Memory Upgrade Guide link in my signature.

The CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 is both Intel i3/i5/i7 and AMD Phenom II approved.

Any of the Phenom II Corsair RAM at the link below will work.

http://www.corsair.com/products/phenomii/default.aspx
__________________
Important:

PLEASE READ THE MEMORY UPGRADE GUIDE at the link below. It WILL answer many questions.

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341


PC Overclocking is like the lottery:

There are many possible combinations but only a few that produce winning results. Nothing is guaranteed when it comes to overclocking. If you are able to tune your hardware to run beyond it's specified performance, then you got something for free.

Don't expect this to always happen.

Last edited by trackrat; 12-08-2010 at 01:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-08-2010, 01:44 PM
RC-DC RC-DC is offline
Registered User
RC-DC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 479512
RC-DC Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks a million - good resource. I suppose i should just go with 16gb now then and fill all four slots.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-08-2010, 01:59 PM
trackrat trackrat is offline
Registered User
trackrat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 702
POST ID # = 479516
trackrat Reputation: 10
Default

That would be the smart thing to do if you desire 16 GB.
__________________
Important:

PLEASE READ THE MEMORY UPGRADE GUIDE at the link below. It WILL answer many questions.

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87341


PC Overclocking is like the lottery:

There are many possible combinations but only a few that produce winning results. Nothing is guaranteed when it comes to overclocking. If you are able to tune your hardware to run beyond it's specified performance, then you got something for free.

Don't expect this to always happen.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.