The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2016, 11:38 PM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 882980
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Sad Slight flicker problem

When I first used the unofficial ckb GNU/Linux driver, I noticed flicker sometimes on the RGB lighting on some buttons. I decided to plug in the damn thing into a relative's garbage Windows PC, and lo and behold- it still happens once in a while, when there is animations happening (static-only pretty much works fine). Is there any reason for this? Is it firmware? Or is it hardware? My OCD is bugging me about this.

EDIT: just in case anybody asks this, on the relative's PC I'm using CUE 2.7.78.

EDIT 2: I also even held the ESC key before and a little after plugging in. No dice.

EDIT 3: also using the newest firmware, 2.05.

Last edited by RoundDuckMan; 12-18-2016 at 11:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-19-2016, 05:31 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 882993
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Its due to the USB controller dropping packets. I would check for chipset, and USB controller driver updates.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-19-2016, 07:49 AM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 883017
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Question Umm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
Its due to the USB controller dropping packets. I would check for chipset, and USB controller driver updates.
Except this has happened on 2 machines (my laptop, which is the specs I listed, with exceptions, and the relative's PC). Also, my CPU drivers on my laptop should be on the newest version anyways (It's Linux on the laptop, Linux has drivers built-in it, plus the laptop has a Intel CPU, good Linux support), so I don't know if it's that. Is there any way to diagnosis this on both Windows and Linux?

EDIT: I hope you're right though, I really don't want to go through an RMA process...

EDIT 2: I guess, looking at your FAQ, that I'll have to update my BIOS?! Well, I guess I might have to... Let me see if you're right first though. I'll try looking up logs on Windows for example (CUE, as you said in your FAQ, has logs, sadly I don't know about ckb).

Last edited by RoundDuckMan; 12-19-2016 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-19-2016, 02:55 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 883056
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundDuckMan View Post
Except this has happened on 2 machines (my laptop, which is the specs I listed, with exceptions, and the relative's PC). Also, my CPU drivers on my laptop should be on the newest version anyways (It's Linux on the laptop, Linux has drivers built-in it, plus the laptop has a Intel CPU, good Linux support), so I don't know if it's that. Is there any way to diagnosis this on both Windows and Linux?

EDIT: I hope you're right though, I really don't want to go through an RMA process...

EDIT 2: I guess, looking at your FAQ, that I'll have to update my BIOS?! Well, I guess I might have to... Let me see if you're right first though. I'll try looking up logs on Windows for example (CUE, as you said in your FAQ, has logs, sadly I don't know about ckb).
Corsair does not support Linux or CKB, you will have to talk to MSC about that. For CUE the logs will show timeouts and dropped packets if its a USB controller issue. If it is a USB controller issue a RMA won't help.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-19-2016, 05:37 PM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 883078
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Default

http://pastebin.com/mwzRzFNp

Here's a log from CUE.

EDIT: In particular, this is interesting:


2016-12-19T16:37:39 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:43 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:43 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:44 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:45 I cue.dev: Buffer apply for Green failed. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:49 I cue.dev: Buffer apply for Green failed. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:51 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:52 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:52 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:54 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:55 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:56 I cue.dev: Buffer apply for Blue failed. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:56 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB
2016-12-19T16:37:57 I cue.dev: Buffer write failed, 1. request timed out for K65 LUX RGB

Last edited by RoundDuckMan; 12-19-2016 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-19-2016, 10:41 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 883104
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Yea, it looks like the controller is not correctly passing the packets between the keyboard and CUE.

If you know which USB ports are intel chipset controlled i would try those. If that still doesn't work, contact Corsair Support. They might have a solution for your issue.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-20-2016, 12:26 AM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 883115
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
Yea, it looks like the controller is not correctly passing the packets between the keyboard and CUE.

If you know which USB ports are intel chipset controlled i would try those. If that still doesn't work, contact Corsair Support. They might have a solution for your issue.
This PC I was using it on (for CUE/Windows) is (formerly mine) a weak-*** pre-built Gateway with an AMD E1-1200 APU. Ouch. DX

Last edited by RoundDuckMan; 12-20-2016 at 01:11 AM. Reason: added AMD
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-20-2016, 01:48 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 883124
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundDuckMan View Post
This PC I was using it on (for CUE/Windows) is (formerly mine) a weak-*** pre-built Gateway with an AMD E1-1200 APU. Ouch. DX
yea.... that might be the problem lol. AMD isnt know for great chipsets. I mean AM3+ still doesnt have PCIE 3.0 support. RPI. Try it in a modern intel computer on a intel controlled port. It should run fine.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-20-2016, 02:06 AM
RoundDuckMan RoundDuckMan is offline
Registered User
RoundDuckMan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 883125
RoundDuckMan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inheritance View Post
yea.... that might be the problem lol. AMD isnt know for great chipsets. I mean AM3+ still doesnt have PCIE 3.0 support. RPI. Try it in a modern intel computer on a intel controlled port. It should run fine.
Except this isn't even their FX or high-end APUs. this is their bottom-bin, 2012 ****. 2 "Cores" @ 1.4 GHz. Basically like a mid/low end tablet. Hell, my school Chromebook has better specs. :P
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
k65 lux, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.