The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2016, 04:38 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864318
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default Problem or false temps?

So im having an issue with temperatures and they don't seem to be telling the truth at all but I don't know if they are, If they are its worrying.

When im playing LoL or any other game my temperatures sky rocket both CPU and Motherboard, As soon as I alt-tab out they instantly drop I will attach some examples below in a gif.


http://i.imgur.com/gOGgaml.gifv

http://i.imgur.com/YJdoQoY.gifv

http://i.imgur.com/qwzxB5a.gifv


Is this actually a problem or are the sensors lying to me, When im tabbed in on LoL each core is around 25-30% Usage, its not alot at all.

I've just reseated everything including the CPU cooler, cleaned all the dust out of the fans and re-applied thermal paste, Inside the case feels cool, even if I run a CPU stress test the H80i water tank gets kind of hot and it blows warm air out, but it doesn't seem like 100c at all like its telling me.


The H80i fan on the inside of the case sucks air in and the fan on the back of the case sucks air in., inside the case I have 2 fans on the top sucking air in, a 140mm and a SP120 fan, 2 Corsair SP120 fans on the front of the sucking air in, and a Corsair AF140 fan on the side panel sucking air out, and lastly a SP120 on the bottom of the case sucking air out.


My H80i is around 1.5-2 years old if that makes a difference.


Any recommendations would be helpful, should I just get a new CPU cooler as this one will be clogged with dust or is it just false temperatures?

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 04:55 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-27-2016, 05:55 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864324
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

All of Corsair Link + Speccy + HWM use the same CPUID SDK so will report the same information.

Sometimes this is not as it should be, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=788225, so you need to cross check with a utility that does not use the CPUID SDK.

Such utilities are AIDA64 + HWiNFO + SIV (my utility). Were you to post a screen shot of the SIV [Cooling Status] panel I would comment further.

The H80i being two years old should be fine, but it would be sensible to check the H80i coolant temperature and pump speed which will be displayed on [Cooling Status].
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:08 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864341
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
All of Corsair Link + Speccy + HWM use the same CPUID SDK so will report the same information.

Sometimes this is not as it should be, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=788225, so you need to cross check with a utility that does not use the CPUID SDK.

Such utilities are AIDA64 + HWiNFO + SIV (my utility). Were you to post a screen shot of the SIV [Cooling Status] panel I would comment further.

The H80i being two years old should be fine, but it would be sensible to check the H80i coolant temperature and pump speed which will be displayed on [Cooling Status].

Okay I downloaded your software and tested again, here is some gifs for you.

COOLING STATUS
http://i.imgur.com/Xf5jufe.gifv

IN GAME AND OUT OF GAME
http://i.imgur.com/Yfghtps.gifv

OUT OF GAME 10 SECONDS
http://i.imgur.com/nM3wEFH.gifv

INGAME 10 SECONDS
http://i.imgur.com/Xf5jufe.gifv


Your software seems to keep bumping my H80i fans up to max when im on LoL, they get really loud, then quiet down when I tab out a little, also some fans aren't showing up on cooling status because they are plugged into my NZXT 410/430 fan controller on the case, not the motherboard, I think I have 3 or 4 connected to it, but there on max.

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:22 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,205
POST ID # = 864342
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Since you just re-seated the pump block, chances are you used too much TIM or it didn't go exactly right some other way. Those wild jumping temperatures where your sensor readings look like a random number generator are often the byproduct of little bubbles expanding and popping within the TIM. Clean it off and give it another go. You don't need very much. A little blob in the middle will do for that CPU series.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:25 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864343
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Since you just re-seated the pump block, chances are you used too much TIM or it didn't go exactly right some other way. Those wild jumping temperatures where your sensor readings look like a random number generator are often the byproduct of little bubbles expanding and popping within the TIM. Clean it off and give it another go. You don't need very much. A little blob in the middle will do for that CPU series.
I was having problems before I reseated it, But I will admit, there is quite a bit of paste on both the CPU and the cooler, a layer on both, Ill clean it all off and put a tiny amount right now and reseat it again and let you know, I did actually add more than a tiny blob, maybe that might me it, let me try :).
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:38 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864345
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow SIV should not bump the fan speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synnx View Post
Your software seems to keep bumping my H80i fans up to max when im on LoL, they get really loud, then quiet down when I tab out a little, also some fans aren't showing up on cooling status because they are plugged into my NZXT 410/430 fan controller on the case, not the motherboard, I think I have 3 or 4 connected to it, but there on max.
OK about the fans being on the NZXT 410/430 fan controller so SIV not reporting them, but you posted the initial screen rather than [Cooling Status] which makes it impossible for me to know which fan/temperature is which. You need to post [Cooling Status].

To get to [Cooling Status] do Menu->Hardware->Cooling Status. You could just press the [Status] button and post that page if you wish, but it is rather larger.

SIV should not bump the fan speeds and I am trying to figure out what could be triggering this? Are you also running CL 4.2.4.25? If so this could be the trigger as Corsair made some changes that broke the locking so you need to use the SIV 5.12 Beta (do Menu->File->Download->SIV Beta to get it). Look at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=863330 for more details.

Do you have any other monitoring programs active and if so what and which versions?

Last edited by red-ray; 07-27-2016 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:41 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864346
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs down this is way too much

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synnx View Post
there is quite a bit of paste on both the CPU and the cooler, a layer on both.
I suspect this is a large factor as this is way too much.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #8  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:46 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,205
POST ID # = 864347
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Yeah, you would think coating both sides with complete coverage would be the optimal installation and some TIM brands complicate it further with little spatulas and strange instructions. However, the TIM is a somewhat inferior conductor the metal surfaces. It's real purpose is to fill the micro imperfections on the two surfaces. Ideally, you want the thinnest layer possible, which you can normally get by putting a little blob on the CPU and then clamping the pump block down. It will spread out from the clamping force and again when first heated. "Pea-sized drop" is the phrase often used. Newer 14mm skinny chips probably do better with a line or "rice grain". Either way, the extreme corners of the CPU lid is not where the bulk of the heat transfer takes place. I don't think we are too far off from leaving the "paste" behind and going to some sort of film material you put over the CPU.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #9  
Old 07-27-2016, 09:17 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864352
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
OK about the fans being on the NZXT 410/430 fan controller so SIV not reporting them, but you posted the initial screen rather than [Cooling Status] which makes it impossible for me to know which fan/temperature is which. You need to post [Cooling Status].

To get to [Cooling Status] do Menu->Hardware->Cooling Status. You could just press the [Status] button and post that page if you wish, but it is rather larger.

SIV should not bump the fan speeds and I am trying to figure out what could be triggering this? Are you also running CL 4.2.4.25? If so this could be the trigger as Corsair made some changes that broke the locking so you need to use the SIV 5.12 Beta (do Menu->File->Download->SIV Beta to get it). Look at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=863330 for more details.

Do you have any other monitoring programs active and if so what and which versions?
Yes I am using that CL, I will download the beta, I just cleaned all of the paste off with 99.9% isopyporoplyolypol alcohol, and put a tiny blob of artic silver 5, The temperatures seem to have gone down quite a bit actually.

This is it idle right now, Ill report back with SIV Beta~

http://i.imgur.com/ZrWsxi1.png

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-27-2016, 09:24 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864356
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
OK about the fans being on the NZXT 410/430 fan controller so SIV not reporting them, but you posted the initial screen rather than [Cooling Status] which makes it impossible for me to know which fan/temperature is which. You need to post [Cooling Status].

To get to [Cooling Status] do Menu->Hardware->Cooling Status. You could just press the [Status] button and post that page if you wish, but it is rather larger.

SIV should not bump the fan speeds and I am trying to figure out what could be triggering this? Are you also running CL 4.2.4.25? If so this could be the trigger as Corsair made some changes that broke the locking so you need to use the SIV 5.12 Beta (do Menu->File->Download->SIV Beta to get it). Look at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=863330 for more details.

Do you have any other monitoring programs active and if so what and which versions?
Here is COOLING STATUS from SIV Beta ingame and out of game

PassMark BurnInTest - 30 SECONDS

http://i.imgur.com/4dPIzpx.gifv

IDLE FOR 10 SECONDS

http://i.imgur.com/DctKNxQ.gifv

INGAME ON LOL @ 80FPS FOR 10 SECONDS

http://i.imgur.com/NzUGrQ8.gifv

AFTER I BEING IN GAME A LITTLE WHILE

http://i.imgur.com/6PHSbla.gifv

Does that seem better or is it still bad?

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:03 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864365
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up I feel a 25°C drop is good

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synnx View Post
Thank you for confirming CL 4.2.4.25 and I assume the H80i no longer goes crazy.

The PKG Core i7 + MCH Core i7 are good things to check as these are reported be the CPU so are almost always valid. TE CPU PECI also looks correct. The sample counts on the EC sensors such as TG VRG looks rather low, but reading EC sensors is often problematic. Do you have ASUS AI Suite active? This is often the root cause as it fails to use the Access_EC lock.

It's hard to know the effect re-doing the TIM as we don't have before and after SIV screen shots, but before HWM was reporting a PKG Core i7 as 89°C, so assuming HWM as SIV report the same then I feel a 25°C drop is good .
Attached Images
File Type: png Maximus 8.png (127.6 KB, 224 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 07-28-2016 at 06:45 AM. Reason: Typo % -> °C
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #12  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:06 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864366
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Thank you for confirming CL 4.2.4.25 and I assume the H80i no longer goes crazy.

The PKG Core i7 + MCH Core i7 are good things to check as these are reported be the CPU so are almost always valid. TE CPU PECI also looks correct. The sample counts on the EC sensors such as TG VRG looks rather low, but reading EC sensors is often problematic. Do you have ASUS AI Suite active? This is often the root cause as it fails to use the Access_EC lock.

It's hard to know the effect re-doing the TIM as we don't have before and after SIV screen shots, but before HWM was reporting a PKG Core i7 as 89°C, so assuming HWM as SIV report the same then I feel a 25% drop is good .
Did you check this one

PassMark BurnInTest - 30 SECONDS

http://i.imgur.com/4dPIzpx.gifv


I just edited it in 20 seconds ago, maybe you missed it, do you think those are good temps for an i7 6700k? Its boost should only go to 4.2Ghz but I knocked it up to 4.3Ghz in the bios, I put BCLK or whatever on 104.00 to get my RAM speed up to 3000Mhz.


And yes the h80i no longer goes crazy.

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:24 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864368
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Yes, I missed it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synnx View Post
I just edited it in 20 seconds ago, maybe you missed it.
Yes, I missed it. I suspect the CPUs are 100% busy, are they? If so then I would expect higher temps.

It would be handy to see both screens so I could see the CPU % Utilisation history, can you post similar to as below? Press the bottom right [Main] ([Hide]) button to show the main window.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png Example.png (136.9 KB, 224 views)
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #14  
Old 07-27-2016, 10:35 AM
Synnx Synnx is offline
Registered User
Synnx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 864371
Synnx Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Yes, I missed it. I suspect the CPUs are 100% busy, are they? If so then I would expect higher temps.

It would be handy to see both screens so I could see the CPU % Utilisation history, can you post similar to as below? Press the bottom right [Main] ([Hide]) button to show the main window.


Just like this?

http://i.imgur.com/Hnp4WWO.gifv


What do you think? Im on around 7-9% CPU Utilisation IDLE @ 800Mhz I see your 0.5% at 4.21Ghz :OOOO, but when I ran the BurnInTest it goes too 100% like shown above for 30~ seconds.

Last edited by Synnx; 07-27-2016 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-27-2016, 11:59 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 864381
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synnx View Post
What do you think? Im on around 7-9% CPU Utilisation IDLE @ 800Mhz I see your 0.5% at 4.21Ghz :OOOO.
It seems fine to me, but I don't actually have a Skylake so I am not the best to comment on this. I generated the screen shot from a SIV save file just to show you what I wished to see.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply

Tags
h80i, high temps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.