The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:19 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 664852
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Link fan adjustment lag

Hello :-)

I have just installed my Corsair Link Cooling and Lightning Kit to extend the fan control of my H100i. I have 3 Corsair AF fans and 2 SP120 PWM fans connected to the Corsair Link Commander - no fans are connected to my H100i.

The problem is, that it does not adjust my fan speed. The only way to manually control the fan speed is by changing the profile (f.e. all fans set to max speed, which takes several minutes to actually take effect), but the fans do not react to the CPU temp at all.

I have following versions installed:
- Corsair Link 2 Software: 2.3.4816
- Corsair Commander 2: 2.0.6
- Corsair Lightning Node: 1.1.9
- Corsair Cooling Node: 1.1.12


Does anybody know how I get Corsair Link working? It is impossible to work like this, because when my CPU runs hot, the fans do not adjust :-(

Thanks in advance for an answer.

Last edited by DavidRappl; 07-14-2013 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-14-2013, 05:36 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 664886
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

use your water temp of the cooler to activate the fans,its much better.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-15-2013, 05:07 AM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 664946
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
use your water temp of the cooler to activate the fans,its much better.
I would if I could, but I can not even set a fix rpm, the fans just do whatever they want. I don't know where the problem is, since the Corsair Cooling Node Firmware should work fine with Corsair AF and SP PWM fans (according to RAM GUY).

Could it be a bug of the Corsair Link 2 Software itself?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-15-2013, 05:23 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 664947
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Update the Cooling Node FW to 1.2.5 onwards and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:58 AM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 664955
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Update the Cooling Node FW to 1.2.5 onwards and see if that helps.
I tried, but when I click on 'Update Firmware', only the Corsair Link Commander and the H100i are in the list of availeable devices.
The strange this is, that the Corsair Link Cooling Node is visible in the list of devices, shown in the screenshot in this post

Last edited by DavidRappl; 07-15-2013 at 07:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-15-2013, 12:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 664997
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest you uninstall the Current version you have installed and reboot the system. Then install Version 2.4.4948 of our software and are your fans 3-Pin or 4-Pin Fans? If they are 4-Pin PWM fans then you should update the cooling node to 1.2.5.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 07-15-2013 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-15-2013, 01:22 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 665005
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would suggest you uninstall the Current version you have installed and reboot the system. The install Version 2.4.4948 of our software and are your fans 3-Pin or 4-Pin Fans? If they are 4-Pin PWM fans then you should update the cooling node to 1.2.5.
Ok, thank you for the advice. I have already tried to delete the profiles and reinstall the Corsair Link Software 2.4.4948, but I did not reboot.

I have:
2x 3pin Corsair AF120 Quiet Edition
1x 3pin Corsair AF140 Quiet Edition
2x 4pin Corsair SP120 Quiet Edition

What's strange is, I can not control the 3pin fans either.

I will give feedback if it works with rebooting in a couple of hours.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-15-2013, 02:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 665012
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What version of the firmware do you have installed on the cooling node?
Corsair Cooling Node: 1.1.12 is best used with 3-Pin fans but PWM 4-Pin fans will need F/W 1.2.5 however, you may loose control of some 3 Pin fans.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-15-2013, 04:05 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 665034
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
What version of the firmware do you have installed on the cooling node?
Corsair Cooling Node: 1.1.12 is best used with 3-Pin fans but PWM 4-Pin fans will need F/W 1.2.5 however, you may loose control of some 3 Pin fans.
Look at my first post, it is 1.1.12.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-15-2013, 04:22 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 665037
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

So I installed the Corsair Link Software 2.4.4948 after deinstalling the latest official version and rebooting my system.

Following things do not work:
- Adjust fan speed of the 3pin Corsair AF120 or AF140 fan over 'Custom Courve' > Screenshot
My CPU was 70 degrees, so it should have 1000rpm, but it just does nothing, stays around 700 all the time.
- Adjust fan speed of the 4pin Corsair SP120 fan over 'Custom Courve' > Screenshot
My CPU was over 70 degrees, so it should have at least around 1200rpm (it never actually reaches 1450), but it stays around 430 all the time
- Update the firmware of my Corsair Link Cooling Node > Screenshot
The device is in the overview list, but not in the CorsairLINK2 Bootloader.

@RAM GUY: Do you know what the problem is?

When I connect my Corsair SP120 4pin fans to my Corsair H100i, everything works fine.

I really hope there is a solution for this.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-15-2013, 04:26 PM
snfo snfo is offline
Registered User
snfo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 665038
snfo Reputation: 31
Default

Expand the corsair link commander by pressing the triangle, like this http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...65&postcount=9
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-15-2013, 04:39 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 665046
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snfo View Post
Expand the corsair link commander by pressing the triangle, like this http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...65&postcount=9
Thanks a lot - I feel very stupid atm.
I'll try it out with the official release of Corsair Link Software 2 and deinstall the beta version, because the current beta is just too buggy.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-15-2013, 05:13 PM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 852
POST ID # = 665060
Bryman Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
use your water temp of the cooler to activate the fans,its much better.
i also recommend doing this but if you like to use cpu temp that works too...just not as...efficient
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-15-2013, 05:18 PM
DavidRappl DavidRappl is offline
Registered User
DavidRappl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 665061
DavidRappl Reputation: 10
Default

So, I updated the firmware of the Corsair Link Cooling Node to 1.2.5 and tried it out with the official Corsair Link Software and the beta version. It still does not work. Either with the Corsair SP120 PWM fans (4pin), nor the Corsair AF120 / AF140 3pin fans.

Thanks a lot for your help, but I've had it with Corsair Link. I'll get the Cooling Node out of my PC. At least the LED lighting works fine ;)

I'll connect my PWM fans back to my H100i and the case fans back to my good old fan controller.

Thanks again for the support.

Last edited by DavidRappl; 07-16-2013 at 05:01 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-16-2013, 04:19 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 665206
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The AF-140 will never be controllable (200-400 RPM Max) and how are you trying to setup the Profile. From the system Page or from the Groups page?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
adjust, cooling, corsair, lag, link

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.