The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2018, 07:16 AM
peeledbanan peeledbanan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 970538
peeledbanan Reputation: 10
Default Immense scattering

Hello everybody,

i bought my RGB Strafe a little over 2 years ago and it has always served me well. Until now.
I don't have any warranty on it anymore which makes this problem a little bit harder for me to fix.

The whole thing started with my "a" key acting weird, sometimes it registered one key stroke as two, or it didn't react at all. But occasionally it worked normally. After some time i got fed up with it and i changed to a different, older keyboard as a substitute.

In the few weeks my Strafe was unplugged, the problem has somehow worsened. I tried it out yesterday, and now the scattering has spread to almost every key on the board. My suspicion is, that this is some kind of software related problem, based off the fact that the scattering has somehow spread. I do not believe it's possible that a mechanical defect on one key causes all other keys to fail.

I have already used the CUI to try and update and reset the fimware on the keyboard. Nothing helped.

UPDATE: The reset buton located on the back of the keyboard doesn't seem to have any effect.
Am i interpreting this problem wrong?

Any help on what to do and how to possibly fix my beloved keyboard would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Last edited by peeledbanan; 08-28-2018 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-28-2018, 08:43 AM
StrangeGeek StrangeGeek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: On Earth along with 7.5B people
Posts: 91
POST ID # = 970544
StrangeGeek Reputation: 10
Default

Try resetting the firmware manually as quoted by 'LLama71' in this forum post: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=162123

"Unplug the keyboard
While holding escape, plug it back in
After CUE sees it as being in recovery mode (or something like that), you can release escape
Force-update its firmware
Test again to see how it behaves

These steps will re-flash its microcontroller."
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:22 AM
peeledbanan peeledbanan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 970558
peeledbanan Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your answer!
Sadly CUE does not dtect my keyboard at all while holding down escape.
What should i do now?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:19 PM
StrangeGeek StrangeGeek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: On Earth along with 7.5B people
Posts: 91
POST ID # = 970615
StrangeGeek Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peeledbanan View Post
Thank you for your answer!
Sadly CUE does not dtect my keyboard at all while holding down escape.
What should i do now?
Did you ever eat above the keyboard, spill something in it or get anything in the switches or pcb (e.g. the gap bellow the space bar)? It could be something shorting out.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-29-2018, 03:56 AM
peeledbanan peeledbanan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 970631
peeledbanan Reputation: 10
Default

No, i never eat in front of my computer, as i am not an animal :D
But seriously, i never spilled anything on my keyboard and the spaces between are fairly clean.

As i said, i don't believe that this is a hardware problem.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-29-2018, 09:36 AM
StrangeGeek StrangeGeek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: On Earth along with 7.5B people
Posts: 91
POST ID # = 970653
StrangeGeek Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peeledbanan View Post
No, i never eat in front of my computer, as i am not an animal :D
But seriously, i never spilled anything on my keyboard and the spaces between are fairly clean.

As i said, i don't believe that this is a hardware problem.
Did you ever uninstall the HID driver's? And have you tried using it on another PC?

Oh, and also, can you change the polling rate of your board through iCUE? Not sure if the strafe has a setting for that through software.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-29-2018, 05:46 PM
Corsair Rick's Avatar
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 283
POST ID # = 970721
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hey peeledbanan,

I'd suggest submitting a ticket at support.corsair.com and request for a manual flash of the firmware. It sounds like that's the next thing to do.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-30-2018, 10:40 AM
peeledbanan peeledbanan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 970790
peeledbanan Reputation: 10
Default

I will do that, thanks to everyone that tried to sort this out.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
broken, keys dont work, scatter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.