The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2012, 06:12 PM
audioslave_ron audioslave_ron is offline
Registered User
audioslave_ron's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 597854
audioslave_ron Reputation: 10
Confused Corsair SSD or other issue?

Hello, I have resently purchansed and installed a 120GB corsair SSD into my system and ive run into a bit of a problem.. Hope someone can help.

I have my OS installed on my SSD and I have an HDD for storage.. Ever since I have installed the SSD, if my system is idle for about an hour, when I start any game it is very very laggy.. I have very good hardware that usually runs games at say 150fps average.. but after idle they run at 20fps and very very skippy.. Even after 20mins playing it will stay at a very low fps. Ive never had such a strange issue?

I have tried a few things, though it started shortly after the new SSD installation I dont understand how it would cause this? So I have disabled my intel i7 C-State tech thinking it might fix it.. It did'nt..

Anyone with any help at all would be appreciated.

Ron
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-21-2012, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 597857
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Do you have it putting the HDD to sleep when it goes to standby?
If so turn it off and I suspect that will solve the issue. SSD do not sleep like a spinning HDD does and do not need to be put to sleep.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-21-2012, 08:13 PM
audioslave_ron audioslave_ron is offline
Registered User
audioslave_ron's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 597887
audioslave_ron Reputation: 10
Default

How exactly would I do that? Is that a bios option or just part of like windows power management?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-21-2012, 09:26 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 597898
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

In Windows under Power management, sorry I am not using a Windows system where I can provide a screen shot ATM!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 08-22-2012 at 01:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-22-2012, 04:49 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 597972
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Screenshot here

Last edited by Toasted; 04-23-2013 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
issues, lag, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.