The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2016, 05:59 PM
ntsarb ntsarb is offline
Registered User
ntsarb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 869861
ntsarb Reputation: 10
Default How to switch between FPS/MOBA modes?

Hello,

I've just purchased the K70 (non-RGB version) and while I love the design and quality, I'm left quite disappointed by what appears to be kind of false advertising.

On the tin (box), the product advertises:

* "Flexible FPS and MOBA color profiles"
* "Per key backlighting for virtually unlimited game customisation"
* "Lightning Modes", showing "FPS" and "MOBA"

The term "profiles" (in plural) refers to the capability of storing different sets of keys in different profiles. That's how profiles work.

Combine this with "Per key backlighting for virtually unlimited game customisation" and the impression I got was that I can make different profiles for different games.

Finally, two of these (preset/default?) profiles would be "FPS" and "MOBA".

Unfortunately, in practice, I found that all this information on the box is misleading. The non-RGB version of the K70 is not programmable with profiles, as in the RGB version! Furthermore, this is a K70 (non-RGB) specific box, it's not a generic box that Corsair uses for all models. Hence, I don't understand why the company confuses its customers in this way.

I'm very happy with the aesthetics and the quality of this keyboard, I would buy it even without the bells and whistles Corsair wrongly promises on the box. However, I'll probably be more cautious next time I buy a Corsair product.

I hope this info is accepted for what it is meant to be, constructive feedback on how to further improve a product and the customer relationship.

Kind regards

Last edited by ntsarb; 09-02-2016 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-02-2016, 06:26 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,354
POST ID # = 869864
terabyte Reputation: 73
Default

The old K70 non-RGB works indeed like you found out, you should return it and get the new K70 LUX non-RGB instead. The new one is supported in CUE 2, and it supports also profiles and macros.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-02-2016, 08:00 PM
ntsarb ntsarb is offline
Registered User
ntsarb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 869871
ntsarb Reputation: 10
Default

terabyte, thanks for confirming.

Update:
I've now returned the K70 for refund. The seller didn't have the LUX in stock, hence, I'm loosing any money paid on postage (on both directions). Shame on Corsair for false advertising of the product. If they want to put things right, I'd be glad to hear from a Corsair representative.

Last edited by ntsarb; 09-03-2016 at 12:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
advertising, box, corsair, k70, non-rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.