The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2019, 10:07 AM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1008997
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default 280x rgb lighting and fan controlers

I purchased a 280x rgb which has a lighting node pro and fan box pre-installed

am I right in thinking that a commander pro replaces both of these?
or just the lighting pro ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-23-2019, 10:40 AM
tjgodin tjgodin is offline
PC Gaming Enthusiast
tjgodin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 1008999
tjgodin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quangouk View Post
I purchased a 280x rgb which has a lighting node pro and fan box pre-installed

am I right in thinking that a commander pro replaces both of these?
or just the lighting pro ?
It will replace just the Lighting Node Pro, you'll still use the Fan RGB Hub with the Commander Pro. Note, if its just lighting you are wanting to control, the Lightning Node Pro will do the job. Only need the Commander Pro if you are wanting to control all the fans and have the temp monitors.

Tony

Last edited by tjgodin; 06-23-2019 at 01:10 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-23-2019, 11:08 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,308
POST ID # = 1009001
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Be sure to check out the RGB FAQ linked in my signature.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-23-2019, 11:28 AM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009002
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, originally bought it to control fans in another cad#se but ended up buying a new case as well whilst looking at the copro

I think tyring to control fan speeds in such a small case might be overkill

so will return it I think
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-23-2019, 12:15 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,308
POST ID # = 1009006
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quangouk View Post
Thanks, originally bought it to control fans in another cad#se but ended up buying a new case as well whilst looking at the copro

I think tyring to control fan speeds in such a small case might be overkill

so will return it I think
Maybe. But consider this ...
The CoPro has thermistors to measure case temperatures which can then be used to control the fan speeds. On a small case, heat can build up very, very quickly - we've seen no end of folks not managing their heat properly. The CoPro gives great insight into those issue. And, of course, if cool and quiet is your thing, the CoPro is better suited to maintaining that, especially if your system is liquid cooled.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-23-2019, 03:12 PM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009030
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

Gah now you make me want to keep it :)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-23-2019, 03:15 PM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009031
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

BTW The Nopro seems to be fixed inside the case, I can't see any fixings.

Is it easy to remove, did not want to prize up with a screwdriver in case I damage it.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-23-2019, 03:36 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,308
POST ID # = 1009036
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

It's mounted with super-sticky tape. gently heating it with a hair dryer allegedly works. I, personally, have used a razor blade to remove it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-25-2019, 10:57 AM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009272
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

hmm right so now I'm lost
can anyone tell the correct cable connections with a 280x with 2 RGB fans, a H100i rgb platinum pro connected to a commander pro and the RGB hub ??

I did look at Zootys diagrams but there isn't one with a H100i connected


Diagram
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-25-2019, 11:18 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,308
POST ID # = 1009275
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

If you only have 2 RGB fans - and, ideally, they are attached to the radiator - you can just run them from the radiator's RGB connectors. Then you won't need the RGB hub.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-25-2019, 11:31 AM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009278
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

so connect them into each other

how does the copro monitor it
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-25-2019, 12:22 PM
tjgodin tjgodin is offline
PC Gaming Enthusiast
tjgodin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 1009286
tjgodin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quangouk View Post
so connect them into each other

how does the copro monitor it
You monitor your AIO in the iCUE software. Once installed, iCUE will show your AIO and the Commander Pro. And to clarify, the Commander Pro isn't what monitors the AIO, it is the software.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-25-2019, 01:09 PM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009293
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

can someone break it down for me cable connection wise with the following items please?

280x rgb with 2 fans that came with it.
H100i rgb
copro
RGB hub
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-25-2019, 02:31 PM
tjgodin tjgodin is offline
PC Gaming Enthusiast
tjgodin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 90
POST ID # = 1009308
tjgodin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quangouk View Post
can someone break it down for me cable connection wise with the following items please?

280x rgb with 2 fans that came with it.
H100i rgb
copro
RGB hub
Ok, let's start...

1) Commander Pro, connect the SATA power cable from the Commander Pro to a SATA cable connection from your power supply. Connect the Commander Pro USB cable to the USB connection on your motherboard.

2) RGB Hub, connect the SATA power cable from the RGB Hub to a SATA cable connection from your power supply. Likely will be the same power supply cable that the Commander Pro is connected to. Most power supplies have a SATA cable with 4 connections. Connect the RGB Hub LED cable to LED Port 1 on the Commander Pro and I'll explain a little later below how to configure it.

3) Connect the two fans that came with the 280x as follows, plug each Fan power connector into a Fan port on the Commander Pro. That should be Fan Port 1 and 2, as they need to be plugged in order on the Commander Pro. Don't plug them into Fan port 3, 4, 5 or 6 - since you'll only be connecting the two fans that came with the case to the Commander Pro. Next plug each case Fans RGB cable into the RGB Hub Ports 1 and 2.

4) Now, onto your H100i. Connect the SATA power cable from your AIO to a SATA cable connection from your power supply. Again, likely the same SATA cable that the Commander Pro and RGB Hub were plugged into. The two fans that came with the H100i will be plugged into the separate Fan power wires coming from your AIO pump head and their RGB cables will also connect to the RGB wires coming from your AIO pump. Plug the AIO pump 3-Pin Fan connector to the CPU Fan header on your motherboard. Next plug the USB cable that connects to the AIO pump head on one end into the USB port on your Commander Pro. Be sure to get the pins right when plugging into the Commander Pro USB port. Pretty common for people to misalign it.

5) Install the iCUE software. It should detect both the H100i as a device, showing the two AIO fans and also the Commander Pro showing the two case fans. Your two case fans may not be lit up, so select the Commander Pro in iCUE and then under Lighting Setup, select the drop-down menu for Lighting Channel 1 (as this is LED Port 1 that your RGB Hub was plugged into in step 3 above) and select LL RGB Series Fans and in the drop-down beside that select 2 Fans are connected. The two case fans should now be lit up. Now select the H100i in iCUE and under Lighting Setup select ML RGB Series Fans from the Fan Type drop down.

At this point, you should be basically up and running.

Hope this helps,

Tony
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-25-2019, 05:41 PM
Quangouk Quangouk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1009324
Quangouk Reputation: 10
Default

thanks that helped a lot.

I was confusing myself, For some reason, I got it into my head that the AIO had been connected to the copro

btw I have a RM850i psu, can you tell me where the little Ilink cable goes, if its USB header I dont think i have a spare on the mobo header
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.