The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2020, 12:56 PM
badlands badlands is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1036097
badlands Reputation: 10
Default Are these Corsair memories dual channel compatible

Hey all. So i bought my Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 memory back in 2015, CPU-Z tells me the Part Number is: CM3X8GA1600C10V2

I was checking if i could still find a stick that will dual channel with this old one im currently using, and i found one with the following SKU number in a store here in my country:

CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10

Then i found this page about the memory: https://www.corsair.com/br/pt/Catego...3X8GA1600C10V2

As you can see, both of the codes (CM3X8GA1600C10V2 and CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10) can be seen in the page above as belonging to the same memory.

In case you missed it, CM3X8GA1600C10V2 is shown just above the title, in smaller sized letters, lighter color.

Even with that im still a bit skeptical that they will dual channel, because i bought mine so long ago (end of 2015), and im afraid these more recently fabricated ones will not dual channel with mine.

Just looking for some opinions if you guys think they will dual channel or not, before i buy the new one. Thanks!

Last edited by badlands; 02-26-2020 at 12:59 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-27-2020, 10:30 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,642
POST ID # = 1036190
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The answer is always maybe. Combing two different single sticks manufactured as much as 5 years apart may not work out. Combining mixed kits can cause issues even when they are the same. You may want to price the cost of a new 2x8 DDR3 kit with desired frequency and timings vs the price of the single 8GB + the cost of returning it and decide if it's worth the risk.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-27-2020, 11:06 AM
badlands badlands is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1036199
badlands Reputation: 10
Default

Hey, yeah it might be too much of a gamble, thank you for the insight.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-27-2020, 01:04 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 708
POST ID # = 1036211
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

As C-Attack said, mixing kits can introduce odd behavior.

It should still work in dual channel, however you may run into issues getting the rated speed through XMP for these sticks since you're mixing kits.

If you end up having issues, I'd suggest returning the newer stick and trying to get a kit with two modules as already suggested since those modules would have been tested as a pair.
__________________


If you have a customer/technical support question please post a thread in the appropriate section of the forum or submit a ticket here:CORSAIR Support Portal

CORSAIR Hydro X Series Tutorial Playlist

CORSAIR iCUE Software Tutorial Playlist

Info/Diagrams for Setting Up CORSAIR RGB Fans, Strips, ETC

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-27-2020, 11:06 PM
badlands badlands is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1036260
badlands Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post
As C-Attack said, mixing kits can introduce odd behavior.

It should still work in dual channel, however you may run into issues getting the rated speed through XMP for these sticks since you're mixing kits.

If you end up having issues, I'd suggest returning the newer stick and trying to get a kit with two modules as already suggested since those modules would have been tested as a pair.
Understood, thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-28-2020, 02:48 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,307
POST ID # = 1036312
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badlands View Post
As you can see, both of the codes (CM3X8GA1600C10V2 and CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10) can be seen in the page above as belonging to the same memory.

In case you missed it, CM3X8GA1600C10V2 is shown just above the title, in smaller sized letters, lighter color.
Those are two different part numbers that should not be on the same product page. I've asked for it to be fixed.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-29-2020, 02:55 AM
badlands badlands is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1036370
badlands Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Those are two different part numbers that should not be on the same product page. I've asked for it to be fixed.
Ah, thats good to know, was kinda wondering why there was 2 numbers referring to the same stick. Thanks!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.