The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2020, 09:08 PM
nalan9 nalan9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1034697
nalan9 Reputation: 10
Default Top fan mounting on Crystal Series 570x

Hello all,

I just completed my first build (VERY EXCITING)!! To help with my question my specs are as follows; Tower: Crystal Series 570x, CPU: Intel i5 96k, Motherboard: Asus 365 rock Phantom, PS: RM 850x, CPU Cooler: H115i Pro, and GPU: MSI GTX 1660. There was little to no room to mount the cooler on top of the tower. I removed the provided fan's and their mount from the front and placed the cooler there. Now I am unable to mount the factory fans on the top. I cant seem to find slots where the screws can fit. Can I mount the fans without the provided fan mount? Will I need to purchase a new fan mount to get them into the case? Is it advisable to run the tower with only the CPU cooler? Could I have some how fit the cooler on the top of the tower without a fan mount? Thanks for any help in advance I greatly appreciate it!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-12-2020, 01:44 AM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 1034800
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nalan9 View Post
Hello all,

I just completed my first build (VERY EXCITING)!! To help with my question my specs are as follows; Tower: Crystal Series 570x, CPU: Intel i5 96k, Motherboard: Asus 365 rock Phantom, PS: RM 850x, CPU Cooler: H115i Pro, and GPU: MSI GTX 1660. There was little to no room to mount the cooler on top of the tower. I removed the provided fan's and their mount from the front and placed the cooler there. Now I am unable to mount the factory fans on the top. I cant seem to find slots where the screws can fit. Can I mount the fans without the provided fan mount? Will I need to purchase a new fan mount to get them into the case? Is it advisable to run the tower with only the CPU cooler? Could I have some how fit the cooler on the top of the tower without a fan mount? Thanks for any help in advance I greatly appreciate it!
Firstly, I don't believe to 570x can fit a H115i up top. As per the specifications in the manual, you can only fit a 240mm radiator up there and the H115i is a 280mm.

As for your fan mounting questions, I'd love to try and help you out but, I'm unsure what the 'fan mounts' are you keep mentioning/moving. Any chance you could upload some pictures so we can help assist you?

Also, take a look at my 570x build photos in the link below and see if it makes more sense to you. Note; this is for the mirror black edition but, the basic concept is still the same. As they say, "a picture can paint a thousand words".

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...highlight=570x
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-12-2020, 08:56 PM
nalan9 nalan9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1034884
nalan9 Reputation: 10
Default

I have attached images of the build in this message. I must have thought that I attached the radiator to something else. Is there any way I can get the fans mounted to the top of the tower?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0676.jpg (73.3 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_677.jpg (92.2 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0678-1.jpg (75.9 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-12-2020, 09:15 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 1034887
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nalan9 View Post
Is there any way I can get the fans mounted to the top of the tower?
It should be as simple as holding the fans up top and then screwing the fan screws in from above the case using the pre-drilled fan mount holes (after you've removed the top glass and dust filter). Is it not?

The case should accept a maximum of 2 x 120 mm OR 2 x 140 mm fans up top as per page 5 of the manual.
__________________
570X Mirror Black


Last edited by Johnny_B500; 02-12-2020 at 09:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-12-2020, 09:25 PM
nalan9 nalan9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1034888
nalan9 Reputation: 10
Default

it didnt seem to work when I was trying it last. I could have been screwing them into the wrong place.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-12-2020, 09:32 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 1034890
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

No worries. When I get home a little later, I'll pull my glass and filter from the top of the case and upload you a photo.
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-12-2020, 11:51 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 1034900
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Here you go, image taken from above the case. Ignore the H100i Pro radiator (with 120 mm fans) but, you can clearly see where the fans should mount. The other (wider) mount locations on the right are used if you're mounting 140 mm fans.

__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-13-2020, 02:21 AM
usna92's Avatar
usna92 usna92 is offline
I fight for the users
usna92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 86
POST ID # = 1034908
usna92 Reputation: 16
Default

h115i will fit in the top case of 570x. I had both a h115i and a 280mm radiator in the top of my 500d SE RGB which uses the same fan tray setup. You will not likely be able to do a push-pull setup in the top of the case because of motherboard clearance, but you should be able to get it in there. It does look like a tight fit, but it will work.'

-usna92
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:19 AM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 1034934
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by usna92 View Post
h115i will fit in the top case of 570x. I had both a h115i and a 280mm radiator in the top of my 500d SE RGB which uses the same fan tray setup. You will not likely be able to do a push-pull setup in the top of the case because of motherboard clearance, but you should be able to get it in there. It does look like a tight fit, but it will work.'

-usna92
I have to admit, when I was looking at my 570 last night, it appeared to have plenty of room width and length wise. The only potential issue I could see might be RAM clearance. With my H100i, I have literally millimeters between the radiator fans (LL120's) and the top of my Vengeance Pro RAM so, push pull is definitely not happening.
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-14-2020, 04:19 AM
usna92's Avatar
usna92 usna92 is offline
I fight for the users
usna92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 86
POST ID # = 1034991
usna92 Reputation: 16
Default

It should be ok. I fit mine in the top of the 500d with Vengeance Pro RAM, but it was wee bit tight.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-15-2020, 05:09 PM
nalan9 nalan9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1035128
nalan9 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the help! Iv already mounted the H115i radiators on the front of the tower, and CPU. Is it advisable to move it at this point? If I can do this were to do this I can still mount the factory fans to the front with ease?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-16-2020, 03:57 PM
jamie1073 jamie1073 is offline
Registered User
jamie1073's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 1035207
jamie1073 Reputation: 10
Default

Personally I ditched the factory fans because I already had a set of LL120's when I bought it. I just ordered some HD140 RGB fans for the front to mount to my EVGA 280. So that way I have RGB up there as well.

So @nalan9 you could always add those fans to the front mount and do a push/pull setup. That way you get RGB and still can use the fans that came with the H115i. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.