The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2017, 02:55 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927203
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default Will the Commander Mini and Commander Pro work together in LINK?

Hey Corsair tech gurus!!

So I just ordered some new ML RGB 140mm fans. 4 individual and one kit. I have a Commander Pro in a box and plan to use to power these 6 new fans. I have another 6 fans that are the original ML 140 RED led fans. To power these fans I use the Commander Mini.

My question is this: Will Corsair Link recognize both the Commander Pro and Mini and allow me to control the speed of all 12 fans?

I ask this because long ago Link would not allow two Corsair Minis.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-21-2017, 03:05 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,401
POST ID # = 927204
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

I dont think so buddy. can have as many Commander Pro's as you like though
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:11 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927220
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
I dont think so buddy. can have as many Commander Pro's as you like though
Well Link recognizes the mini now. Before while link didn't recognize two mini's it did recognize the mini and the fan hub that was out prior to it and we got around it that way.

Hopefully a Corsair Tech support person will be able to clear this up. :)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:24 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,401
POST ID # = 927222
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Yeah i'm sure they will.. i think the question was asked not so long back and the answer as no.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:29 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927223
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default

I looked for it but couldn't find it!! Hence why I'm asking. :)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:48 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,401
POST ID # = 927227
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

I also had a good search for you on here and over on reddit.. dang.. hate not being able to find things like this lol.. good luck bud...
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-21-2017, 06:17 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927238
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
I also had a good search for you on here and over on reddit.. dang.. hate not being able to find things like this lol.. good luck bud...
Seems like i was able to answer my own question. My Pro was on the table and had come in the mail. :)

Plugged it in, Link recognized it and did the Firmware upgrade. Both the Pro and the Mini are recognized, are configurable and work together. Even the LED slot in Link is right. On the Pro it gives full functionality to any of the HDLED fans with full RGB range and effects, while the Mini is a simple, you pick your colour, which is fine I'm not going to be using the LED port on the Mini.

I'm very happy I don't have to buy another Pro. :)

Now I just gotta figure out how I'm going to mount these suckers, the tape is nice but it loses its grip quickly. I'll find another adhesive or some velcro straps to tie em to the case. :)
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #8  
Old 11-21-2017, 06:56 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,401
POST ID # = 927246
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

sorted :) gotta love a happy ending lol
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-21-2017, 07:33 PM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 419
POST ID # = 927249
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

I have had my Commander Mini and Commander Pro both running at once at they worked fine together, at least when controlled by SIV. I don't know if Link can handle both of them being connected.

Last edited by SpeedyV; 11-21-2017 at 07:33 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:16 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,100
POST ID # = 927270
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

Link can absolutely handle both the Mini and Pro being installed. I have them installed in my test bench in the lab; hell, the Mini is plugged into the Pro's USB ports. ;)
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Cooling


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:23 AM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 419
POST ID # = 927291
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
Link can absolutely handle both the Mini and Pro being installed. I have them installed in my test bench in the lab; hell, the Mini is plugged into the Pro's USB ports. ;)
Well there you go. Confirmed.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-24-2017, 09:21 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927636
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
Link can absolutely handle both the Mini and Pro being installed. I have them installed in my test bench in the lab; hell, the Mini is plugged into the Pro's USB ports. ;)
Yeah they were working together and then the mini just stopped. I think I need a firmware upgrade or something as it has been 2 years since I last used it, but Link doesn't show that it needs one, in fact, it doesn't show it at all so I'm not sure how I would update it if it needs it.

Ah well, I got another Pro and they both work fine. I'll look at the mini in another computer sometime, maybe I can get it to work there.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 11-26-2017, 10:37 PM
brighttail brighttail is offline
Registered User
brighttail's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 927907
brighttail Reputation: 11
Default

So does anyone know the latest firmware of the Commander Mini? Also if Link won't recognize the Mini at all, is there another way to update the firmware?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 11-26-2017, 11:42 PM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 419
POST ID # = 927909
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brighttail View Post
So does anyone know the latest firmware of the Commander Mini? Also if Link won't recognize the Mini at all, is there another way to update the firmware?
Hmmm. Link should show it. How do you know it was working?

I don't have mine hooked up right now and I don't see any firmware files or info in my "Corsair Stuff" file. I do have a bunch of old Link install versions. If anyone know if a Commander Mini firmware update is embedded in one of those let me know and if I have it I will post it.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 11-27-2017, 02:15 AM
LicSqualo's Avatar
LicSqualo LicSqualo is offline
Registered User
LicSqualo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 85
POST ID # = 927918
LicSqualo Reputation: 32
Default

The last firmware is 1.1.06 for the Commander Mini.
Hoping someone in Corsair will give you the solution reading your post here.
"Perhaps" I have one, but I prefer to wait and see what is the solution offer officially by Corsair before to write you "mine".
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.