The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 16 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-07-2012, 10:42 AM
seba79 seba79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 601129
seba79 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm not understand, I have 5.02 version and TRIM works...
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:03 PM
scorpionri scorpionri is offline
scorpionro
scorpionri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 124
POST ID # = 601330
scorpionri Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to scorpionri
Default

How do you know that it works ? The fact that the drive accepts the TRIM command doesn't mean that it also works. 5.0.1 and 5.0.2 had a bug that caused TRIM not to work as it should. 5.0.3 fixed that bug.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:58 PM
CutMyThoat CutMyThoat is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 601349
CutMyThoat Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpionri View Post
How do you know that it works ? The fact that the drive accepts the TRIM command doesn't mean that it also works. 5.0.1 and 5.0.2 had a bug that caused TRIM not to work as it should. 5.0.3 fixed that bug.
Who said that it is a fact that the "5.02 drive" accepts TRIM commands? Any proof-screenshot. The bug is that is does not accept TRIM, wether or not the OS sends them. If it would accept those TRIM commands, that would mean it would work indeed, but it doesn't because it does not.

His TRIM doesn't work, because it does not accept the TRIM commands the operating system sends. Simple as that.

He has no idea of really verifying if TRIM is working, thats another point.

Watch my screenshot (page 1 of this threa) of Intel SSD Toolbox and check your "5.02-drive" once again, then compare it. Does is show 1 or 0 ?

Last edited by CutMyThoat; 09-08-2012 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 09-10-2012, 05:40 AM
seba79 seba79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 601588
seba79 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpionri View Post
How do you know that it works ? The fact that the drive accepts the TRIM command doesn't mean that it also works. 5.0.1 and 5.0.2 had a bug that caused TRIM not to work as it should. 5.0.3 fixed that bug.
"SSD Life" is showing the status, but maybe I'm wrong ?
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:32 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 601744
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

TRIM does not function properly with any SF 5.** series firmware prior to 5.03 according to this site:

http://www.rwlabs.com/article.php?id=692

They have done testing to prove this.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 09-10-2012, 06:55 PM
elbubi elbubi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 601817
elbubi Reputation: 20
Default

Nice review YB! Surprised to see GT perfoms equal/slightly better than GS, I tought GS was way faster than GT series.

Still debating if I should update to v5.03 since v1.3.3 works great for me, would be useful to see a 1.3.3 vs 5.03 round up.

Regards!
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 09-12-2012, 07:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 602239
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If your drive is working there is no reason to do the firmware update, I have three drives that have been on FW 1.3.3 for more than a year and a half and I am not touching them they work fine; still get over 700 MBs read and write on an AMD system.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 09-13-2012, 07:58 PM
elbubi elbubi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 602464
elbubi Reputation: 20
Default

Your's is a wise advice, and I'll sure will follow it, but I have the feeling that not updating is making me lose some "enhancements" that will make my unit work even better than before. "Theoretically" every new firmware should be better than its previous one...
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 09-16-2012, 09:57 AM
duke533 duke533 is offline
Registered User
duke533's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 602872
duke533 Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you.
But my drive is still useless.. (marvell lockups)
Just got a bit slower..
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:13 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 602906
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duke533 View Post
Thank you.
But my drive is still useless.. (marvell lockups)
Just got a bit slower..
I advise anyone with an X58 board to avoid using the Marvell controller PERIOD. Even though it's spec'd faster than the ICH10-R, they are not very good. You should definitely be using the SSD on the Intel controller.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 09-17-2012, 03:23 AM
duke533 duke533 is offline
Registered User
duke533's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 602945
duke533 Reputation: 10
Default lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
I advise anyone with an X58 board to avoid using the Marvell controller PERIOD. Even though it's spec'd faster than the ICH10-R, they are not very good. You should definitely be using the SSD on the Intel controller.
I advise anyone with an X58 board to avoid using Corsair drives. Even though it's spec'd faster than the Intel SSD-s, they are not very good....
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 09-17-2012, 10:54 AM
scorpionri scorpionri is offline
scorpionro
scorpionri's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 124
POST ID # = 602996
scorpionri Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to scorpionri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duke533 View Post
I advise anyone with an X58 board to avoid using Corsair drives. Even though it's spec'd faster than the Intel SSD-s, they are not very good....
That is simply not true. Most SandForce drives with the same type of NAND share pretty much the same performance. You can check that in countless online reviews ( I for one happen to have several SSDs with SandForce chipsets and the real life performance differences are really hard to spot ).
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 09-17-2012, 01:45 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 603046
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duke533 View Post
I advise anyone with an X58 board to avoid using Corsair drives. Even though it's spec'd faster than the Intel SSD-s, they are not very good....
You are completely wrong.

If you have an issue with your drive, we're happy to assist you. But, there's no need for any more posts like this one so please don't do it again per the forum rules.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:06 AM
elbubi elbubi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 42
POST ID # = 603416
elbubi Reputation: 20
Default

Still sticking to 1.3.3 and no regrets, my drive is working rock solid, it's my first ssd and still getting impresed every time I open an app and it suddenly "explodes" on my screen, really really fast compared to my past-life hdd experiences =P.

I have one only doubt regarding it and I don't seem to get rid of it since I'm reading opposed opinions of it, and I do need your experts advices to finally make up my mind:

Is Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver needed at all??? I'm not running nor intending to run RAID setups, just usind my GT as boot drive and one hdd on the other native sata3 port. I have this driver installed from the begining, never had any problems with it, but I want to be sure its giving me something I need for best performance/stability and not just laying there for the sake of it. Please enlight this poor noob :P

Kind regards and thanks in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 09-20-2012, 02:34 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,342
POST ID # = 603540
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

I would always install the IRST drivers. They are always good for stability and performance which is better than generic drivers from Microsoft.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.