The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 06:06 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 985427
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default LED Fan direct hookup to motherboard possible?

Hi,

I have a Gigabyte Auros Master Z390 motherboard which has for LED ports for light strip hookups. Two are 12V digital RGB 4pin connectors and the other two are 5V/12V selectible LED 4pin connectors. So was wondering would any of the corsair LED or RGB fans be compatible or would I need to use the corsair command module?

Thank you
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-14-2018, 10:11 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,660
POST ID # = 985472
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You would need to use a Lighting Node Pro and an RGB Fan Hub. Depending on the connector - and I think that Gigabyte's z390 boards are using the same connector as Asus and MSI - it should be possible to get an adapter to control the RGB Fan Hub. I can tell you that Gigabyte's software doesn't do anywhere near what you can do with iCUE tho.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-14-2018, 10:43 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 985475
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default

So I would have to use the node and an Rgb fan hub? No direct connection to motherboard?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-15-2018, 12:05 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,660
POST ID # = 985478
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

That is correct.

Keep in mind, too, that Corsair came out with their addressable RGB system well before any of the motherboard manufacturers were including addressable RGB on motherboards, too.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-15-2018, 05:49 AM
mohawks mohawks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 985505
mohawks Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That is correct.

Keep in mind, too, that Corsair came out with their addressable RGB system well before any of the motherboard manufacturers were including addressable RGB on motherboards, too.
My MSI Z390 motherboard comes with a JCORSAIR jumper (3pin), which I was hoping to connect directly to the 140LL fan (4pin). However now I read that the Corsair controller is required.

Do you think it's possible to wire up a 4pin to 3pin connector and plug the 140LL fan directly to the motherboard?

I know the 3pin is 5V/Data/Ground.

What about the 4pin from LL140 Fan? 5V/Data/unused/Ground ??
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-15-2018, 11:52 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,660
POST ID # = 985542
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohawks View Post
My MSI Z390 motherboard comes with a JCORSAIR jumper (3pin), which I was hoping to connect directly to the 140LL fan (4pin). However now I read that the Corsair controller is required.

Do you think it's possible to wire up a 4pin to 3pin connector and plug the 140LL fan directly to the motherboard?

I know the 3pin is 5V/Data/Ground.

What about the 4pin from LL140 Fan? 5V/Data/unused/Ground ??
The 4pin RGB is 12V analog RGB. If you hook your LL fan up to that in some way, you'll blow out your LEDs. Don't do it.

It would be possible to control a single fan with the correct adapter. I've already built adapters that go from Corsair => Aura style. The reverse would also be possible.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-15-2018, 01:33 PM
mohawks mohawks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 985553
mohawks Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The 4pin RGB is 12V analog RGB. If you hook your LL fan up to that in some way, you'll blow out your LEDs. Don't do it.

It would be possible to control a single fan with the correct adapter. I've already built adapters that go from Corsair => Aura style. The reverse would also be possible.
The same motherboard also comes with 2x 4-pin RGB Jumpers (JRGB), which are 12V, would the Corsair LL140 fan work with that instead?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-15-2018, 02:57 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,660
POST ID # = 985566
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohawks View Post
The same motherboard also comes with 2x 4-pin RGB Jumpers (JRGB), which are 12V, would the Corsair LL140 fan work with that instead?
As I said earlier:
Quote:
The 4pin RGB is 12V analog RGB. If you hook your LL fan up to that in some way, you'll blow out your LEDs. Don't do it.
There's no way to hook it directly into your motherboard's RGB ports without an adapter. Period. And the only supported method is to use a Lighting Node Pro/Commander Pro and an RGB Fan Hub.

Check out the RGB FAQ at http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880 too.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-16-2018, 08:39 AM
mohawks mohawks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 985688
mohawks Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
As I said earlier:

There's no way to hook it directly into your motherboard's RGB ports without an adapter. Period. And the only supported method is to use a Lighting Node Pro/Commander Pro and an RGB Fan Hub.

Check out the RGB FAQ at http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880 too.
so the 4pin connector (for LED) from the LL140 is 5V.
Do we know the pin out for that? 5V/ ? / ? / Ground
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-20-2018, 03:50 AM
mohawks mohawks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 986277
mohawks Reputation: 10
Default

Well, guess what, I managed to hack the connectors to power the LED lighting of the Corsair LL140 RGB fan by connecting directly with the JCORSAIR jumper (from the MSI Z390 Gaming Pro mobo).
I am able to control the LL140 ARGB LEDs using MSI Mystic Lights now

Using the 3pin-3pin connector (provided with MSI Motherboard for connecting to the Corsair Lighting Hub), I connected the pins to the LED connector of the LL140 fan as follows:

Upper connector (from JCORSAIR): 5V / Data Out / Ground
Lower connector (from Corsair LL140): 5V / Data Out (Unused) / Data In / Ground
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-20-2018, 09:02 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,660
POST ID # = 986304
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yup, that's the correct pinout for the fans. I didn't see this earlier so I apologize for that.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-20-2018, 10:42 AM
mohawks mohawks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 986320
mohawks Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yup, that's the correct pinout for the fans. I didn't see this earlier so I apologize for that.
No worries.

So if you only have 1 Corsair fan, and have a MSI mobo with JCORSAIR jumper (or equivalent from other brands), you can connect up the fan LED directly without LNP/LCP.


Of coz if you want more control of the lighting pattern, then LNP/LCP is still needed together with iCue ;)
MSI Mystic Lights does a decent job with the Rainbow light patterns so i'm good :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.