The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2009, 01:44 PM
oRIDDLERo oRIDDLERo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 430294
oRIDDLERo Reputation: 10
Default SSD Help - I want premium performance without the degradation headache!

I am about to purchase two brand new P-128 drives to use in RAID-0 to replace my 2x Raptor X Raid 0 array in windows 7.

After reading some of the posts here i am very concerned with degradation over time and the inability to use the garbage collection function in RAID (assuming i am lucky enough to receive the new firmware).

I have been waiting with great anticipation over the couple of years to finally ditch platters. Please give me some advice! Why cant anyone seem to get this SSD thing right?

@ Corsair - Please make something like the below url that WORKS

<LINKY WAS NUKED> - To get the idea Google OCZ Z-Drive m84 - ( I would not buy this, it is just something i wanted to make sure corsair was aware of)



I'm a huge fan of corsair... (See pic of current main rig below) I've been buying your memory since you started but if this 4x-RAID0-ssd-in-a-tidy-card solution performed a little better with smaller files i would be all over it! So for now my finger hovers over the "buy" button @ zipzoomfly on 2x P-128's in fear of creating a super SSD raid 0 that degrades and needs to be erased every 6 months =[[



Last edited by oRIDDLERo; 12-11-2009 at 10:45 AM. Reason: REMOVED LINK AGAIN
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:13 PM
Davyc Davyc is offline
Mad Scientist
Davyc's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In A Dirty Little Town
Posts: 311
POST ID # = 430304
Davyc Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Riddler

The problem of Garbage Collection/TRIM not working in a Raid Array is not down to the SSDs or their respective firmware releases - the problem lies with the Raid Controllers and until those responsible for updating them get their fingers out we're stuck as far as maintaining performance using SSDs in Raid Configs. It's a right pain in the you know where, but because this is new technology the old archons in the computing world are having a problem keeping pace.
__________________
All advice is given "as is" use it at your own risk - advice is drawn from personal experience and from other resources that are freely available
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-10-2009, 03:04 PM
oRIDDLERo oRIDDLERo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 430322
oRIDDLERo Reputation: 10
Default

Another good reason for corsair to develop a combo card (that works) as mentioned above. Take control of the controller as well.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-10-2009, 03:52 PM
txfeinbergs txfeinbergs is offline
Registered User
txfeinbergs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 430329
txfeinbergs Reputation: 8
Default

I can't answer your SSD concerns, but just wanted to comment that that is a Kickass rig! I love how it is wall mounted so everyone can see it. I have a P256 drive and it made a massive improvement over my Velociraptor drive. I keep enough of it empty (60%) that my degradation has been minimal.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-10-2009, 04:54 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 430345
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Stop adding that link back to avoid the rules and the forum filter.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 12-10-2009 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-10-2009, 04:57 PM
boerenlater boerenlater is offline
Banned
boerenlater's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 430348
boerenlater Reputation: 10
Default

If you make a partition of 90% of the drive; that part that isn't formatted will also help to keep it in condition.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-10-2009, 06:56 PM
batmeat batmeat is offline
Registered User
batmeat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 430376
batmeat Reputation: 10
Default

My rig was raid 0 with two P128's...It's wicked fast. If you set them up right and offload all the temp garbage from your browser and O/S you should be fine.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-11-2009, 01:36 PM
NfiniteZERO's Avatar
NfiniteZERO NfiniteZERO is offline
Registered User
NfiniteZERO's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 430479
NfiniteZERO Reputation: 10
Default

I know this drive you speak of. It's basically 4 SSDs and a LSI RAID card, all wrapped up in one nice neat little bundle. It's a little bit cheaper than doing it yourself and you don't have cables going all over your box.

That solution right now is extremely overkill unless you've got the money to burn (if that's the case, send some my way :D). The P-128s will do just fine for what you want.

If you're working with a lot of small files on this RAID, just set your stripe accordingly. 4 allocation units to 1 stripe is what most RAID controllers like.

Yeah, the drive degradation sucks but it can't be helped. That's life on the bleeding edge. If you follow the guides posted here, it will cut back on some of the write degradation over time (reads seem to hold their own). That's the best advice anyone on this forum can give you.

Just something to keep in mind - even if the drive is only running at half it's speed, it still beats a WD Raptor.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:34 PM
Dusan123456 Dusan123456 is offline
Registered User
Dusan123456's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakville,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 430631
Dusan123456 Reputation: 10
Default

Hey,

when Win7 came out I built the same array you want to (2 P128s to replace 2 Velociraptor 300s). I kept one of the Raptors as a "download to" and game drive,otherwise no mods to where Win7 writes temps. Oh, and I turned off all logs Win7 keeps. Since then,just can't see any degradation in performance.Once a day I use CCleaner in a "secure erase" mode to clean out all the TEMP folders and it all just rocks along. In retrospect,it would have been "nicer" to wait until all the growing pains have been ironed out,but some of us just can't wait.Mea culpa!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.