The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:42 PM
Soundcrank Soundcrank is offline
Registered User
Soundcrank's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022091
Soundcrank Reputation: 10
Default Struggling to set up my fans

Hey folks, I am building a new system and I am struggling to get all my fans to work correctly with my Commander PRO.

I have 3 issues.
Issue one, no lights.
Issue two, the iCue app keeps crashing when I try to update to the latest firmware and never gets beyond 0%
Issue 3, I have more fans than the commander pro can accommodate.

I have 6 LL120 White RGB Corsair fans plus the Corsair H100i white RGB twin fan cooler giving me a total of 8 fans.
The lights on my two rad fans work fine, lights, they spin etc, only it doesn't detect anywhere in my software to control the lights in sync with my fans.
The other 6 fans are spinning but none have lights, also, they keep going from 800 rpm, to max on a loop every 5 seconds irrelevant of which fan profile I use.
The 6 fans are connected to the commander PRO while the two rad fans are connected to the respective CPU block.


Am I supposed to plug the fan headers into the Commander Pro or the RGB headers? Sounds like a daft question, but the manual says fans into the fan headers, but the fans say in their instructions that the RGB headers go to the commander pro and the fans to the Mobo.
It can't really be both lol
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:46 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,645
POST ID # = 1022092
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

First - on the RGB - you need to tell the Commander Pro how many fans and what type of fans are on each channel. You do this in the "Lighting Setup". See the RGB FAQ for details on the connections.
The fan instructions are generic - many users put them in the motherboard and there's no assumption that you have a Commander Pro. But when you have a CoPro, it's better to put the PWM connectors on the CoPro.
Your fan speed challenge is a common one - the default profiles are set to use the CPU temperature as the source for the curve. This results in that exact behavior that you describe and isn't ideal. Use the temperature sensors that come with the Commander Pro to set fan curves based on internal case temperature. This will be a custom curve and will be far more appropriate for your fan speeds.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-22-2019, 09:05 PM
Soundcrank Soundcrank is offline
Registered User
Soundcrank's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022095
Soundcrank Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
First - on the RGB - you need to tell the Commander Pro how many fans and what type of fans are on each channel. You do this in the "Lighting Setup". See the RGB FAQ for details on the connections.
The fan instructions are generic - many users put them in the motherboard and there's no assumption that you have a Commander Pro. But when you have a CoPro, it's better to put the PWM connectors on the CoPro.
Your fan speed challenge is a common one - the default profiles are set to use the CPU temperature as the source for the curve. This results in that exact behavior that you describe and isn't ideal. Use the temperature sensors that come with the Commander Pro to set fan curves based on internal case temperature. This will be a custom curve and will be far more appropriate for your fan speeds.
Awesome, cheers for the info!
I have set the fans in the software but still no lights. I think I may have connected the RGB to the commander pro by mistake. From rereading, am I to connect the RGB wires to something else instead? Is that what the Node thing is for? (I don't have that though).
Will my fans behave the way they are if I connect them directly to the MoBo? because if so, then I think I've just mixed the cable around lol
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 09:26 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,357
POST ID # = 1022096
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The H100i Platinum SE has it's own internal lighting controller (and fan controller). The radiator fans will have both their power and lighting wires come from the cooler. All lighting and speed adjustments for the fans and pump cover RGB are done within the cooler device tab in iCUE. If you are actually using Link, you probably won't see it. Link went end-of-life long before that cooler was released.

You can sync lighting from the cooler with the 6 other fans via Lighting Link options (easy). Making comprehensive and interrelated patterns is a whole different ball game and frankly a long term project. It takes a fair bit of experience, trial and error, and some light stealing of ideas from others to really understand how the effects behave. For now, basic patterns and presets will do. Sequenced waves are harder.

You don't need the Lighting Node Pro (LNP) from what you have listed. The Commander Pro is a LNP + fan controller. So 6 case fans on the C-Pro for power. Those same 6 fans into one RGB Lighting Hub (that's lighting power). Cooler is its own powered system. All control via iCUE.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:35 PM
Soundcrank Soundcrank is offline
Registered User
Soundcrank's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022143
Soundcrank Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
The H100i Platinum SE has it's own internal lighting controller (and fan controller). The radiator fans will have both their power and lighting wires come from the cooler. All lighting and speed adjustments for the fans and pump cover RGB are done within the cooler device tab in iCUE. If you are actually using Link, you probably won't see it. Link went end-of-life long before that cooler was released.

You can sync lighting from the cooler with the 6 other fans via Lighting Link options (easy). Making comprehensive and interrelated patterns is a whole different ball game and frankly a long term project. It takes a fair bit of experience, trial and error, and some light stealing of ideas from others to really understand how the effects behave. For now, basic patterns and presets will do. Sequenced waves are harder.

You don't need the Lighting Node Pro (LNP) from what you have listed. The Commander Pro is a LNP + fan controller. So 6 case fans on the C-Pro for power. Those same 6 fans into one RGB Lighting Hub (that's lighting power). Cooler is its own powered system. All control via iCUE.
Excellent, thank you. Can you recommend and decent RGB hubs that work with iCue? I only have 3 rgb headers on my board
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:40 PM
Soundcrank Soundcrank is offline
Registered User
Soundcrank's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022145
Soundcrank Reputation: 10
Default

It's pretty disappointing to pay so much for the Commander Pro for it to only provide half of what the fans require for full functionality
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-23-2019, 05:19 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,357
POST ID # = 1022163
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You should have 2 RGB Lighting Hubs, one each from the two LL120 triple packs. This is the small 6 port device slightly larger than a matchbook. If you bought 6 LL120 singles, that may pose a problem.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...b/p/CO-8950020
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro, ll120 fan, rgb lights

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.