The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   iCUE Software (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=280)
-   -   H115i with i3 (dont Judge) LED Headers on fan pump not working (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186747)

Braxton Eckert 04-08-2019 10:25 PM

H115i with i3 (dont Judge) LED Headers on fan pump not working
 
Ok, so I currently am having trouble with my LED pump fan Header on my H115i, iCUE will recognize the pump, and I can assign it different lighting configs. But the fan header itself wont light up.
The fans are fine, but I did have trouble with another H115i that I ordered previously, but the LEDs on one of the fans didn't work (due to a missing pin in the connectors, I believe) and the Pump didn't work at all. I am hoping I dont have to order a third one.
I have tried force updating the firmware multiple times, switched SATA ports, triple-checked for any missing pins, but i couldnt find anything wrong!

Thanks!

Johnny_B500 04-09-2019 12:07 AM

I presume you're running the Platinum version? Anyway, have your tried a different USB cable and/or tried running a regular USB cable from your pump to a USB port on the back of your PC?

DevBiker 04-09-2019 08:23 AM

First, one of the fan headers will be missing a pin. That's fine and normal.

Try a different USB port but also try a different SATA line from the PSU - not just a different connector but a different line completely. Also, make sure that you aren't using any adapters or extensions.

Corsair Calico Jack 04-09-2019 03:23 PM

^^^^As stated above. Also try using a SATA cable that has NOTHING ELSE connected to it.

Braxton Eckert 04-09-2019 07:44 PM

Hey thanks for the replys, and i tried all of your suggestions but, unfortunately none of them worked.
I also feel like I need to clarify what I said because looking over what I wrote, I seem to be incorrect in what i was saying...
The fans do work completely fine, but it is the fan header pump that is not working, I am receiving power from my SATA ports and im able to change the fans to different configurations completely fine, On the CUE software, it says that the pump is changing colors along with the fans, but its not. BTW it is the Platnuim addition, sorry for not adding that!
Again I really appreciate all the help you guys are offering me, Thanks!

DevBiker 04-09-2019 10:44 PM

The pump uses the 12V rail. The lighting uses the 5V rail.
So ... just because the pump is getting 12V doesn't mean that the LEDs are getting the 5V that they need.

Braxton Eckert 04-10-2019 12:52 PM

Ok so I tried using every different SATA cable running from my psu, but the leds are still not working for some reason.

Corsair Calico Jack 04-10-2019 01:30 PM

It's because of the PSU. Thermaltake's PSU's have some kind of on-demand power for their SATA cable that doesn't activate when connected through to the RGB coolers. In other words, the cooler's being powered, but the LED rail isn't. Try another SATA port, or if that specific PSU has software functionality, see if you can have the 3.3rail running all the time rather than the on-demand system Thermaltake is trying to use on it.

RiverM 04-10-2019 03:48 PM

I have a Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 650W RGB, non i model, power supply and have no problems with the H115i Pro or LNP and LL fans.

Corsair Calico Jack 04-10-2019 06:14 PM

I believe it's very specifically the "Smart" PSU line, because that one controls voltages directly.

Also, will say it's not experienced across the board. But, every time this issue shows up, the user has a Thermaltake PSU, normally Smart PSU line, and we're pretty sure we've traced the issue to their SATA cables.

Braxton Eckert 04-10-2019 08:59 PM

yeah i see what you mean now
Ive attempted to connect it to every diffrent sata cable in my PSU... with no luck...
Should I just invest into a new PSU?

DevBiker 04-10-2019 11:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Braxton Eckert (Post 1001107)
yeah i see what you mean now
Ive attempted to connect it to every diffrent sata cable in my PSU... with no luck...
Should I just invest into a new PSU?

I would recommend a Corsair PSU, RMx or higher. ;-)

(And, seriously, I would ... I've had several TT failures while my Corsair PSUs have been rock solid.)

Braxton Eckert 04-11-2019 12:56 PM

Alright cool, ill update u guys when I get the funding necessary to buy a power supply

I really appreciate the help!

Braxton Eckert 05-26-2019 04:54 PM

Hey boys Its been a while, but i finally got a new psu, a CX650M, and its working great! The rgb pump head now works and im having no trouble with it. Thank guys for all ure help!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.