The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Corsair Link (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=209)
-   -   Using SIV to control H80i V2 (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=168725)

boeing253 06-22-2017 09:03 PM

Using SIV to control H80i V2
 
Hi All,

I have been running Corsair Link V4.2.4.25 and it's been running ok although using a lot of CPU.

I've got an intermittent problem which seems to happen when the computer has been just idling for a few hours when I haven't been using it.

Link will freeze on the same fan & pump speed and to get it unfrozen I actually have to restart my pc.

If I am actively using the pc then everything is fine and nothing freezes.

What could cause this?

I would also like to direct a question to red-ray about using SIV instead and I wanted to know if I leave just the corsair USB driver installed, but uninstall Link will this function correctly in SIV as I don't believe you need Link installed.

red-ray 06-23-2017 01:33 AM

I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 909124)
  1. What could cause this?
  2. I would also like to direct a question to red-ray about using SIV instead and I wanted to know if I leave just the corsair USB driver installed, but uninstall Link will this function correctly in SIV as I don't believe you need Link installed.

  1. I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver :(: and SIV has a work around :biggrin:, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=857462
  2. Link does not need to be installed but the H80iV2 driver does.

boeing253 06-23-2017 03:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 909143)
  1. I believe it's a bug in the H80iV2 driver :(: and SIV has a work around :biggrin:, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=857462
  2. Link does not need to be installed but the H80iV2 driver does.

Thanks very much red-ray it looks like I'll switch to using SIV64 over the weekend once I get it setup, better performance and less CPU usage = awesome software.

Is the H80i V2 driver the Corsair Hydro Driver I see on my computer?

red-ray 06-23-2017 04:24 AM

It's probably hydros7289.inf
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 909156)
Is the H80i V2 driver the Corsair Hydro Driver I see on my computer?

It's probably hydros7289.inf which is what is needed, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=856104.

Press [Restart] on [Link Devices] and the name used by Device Manager will include H80iV2

boeing253 06-23-2017 04:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 909158)
It's probably hydros7289.inf which is what is needed, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=856104.

Press [Restart] on [Link Devices] and the name used by Device Manager will include H80iV2

Thanks Red-Ray I will have a look on my PC and see if the driver is there.

This may sound like a noob question, but which directory should I be looking in for this? Can I see it under Device Manager.

red-ray 06-23-2017 04:35 AM

Just do it!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 909159)
This may sound like a noob question, but which directory should I be looking in for this? Can I see it under Device Manager.

In Device Manager Right/Click on the device and select properties.

I am 99% sure the driver will be there anyway and you won't have any issues. The only issues I recall are CL4 failing to install it in the first place which is why I needed to attach it to the linked post.

Provided you read http://rh-software.com/Using%20SIV%2...20Hardware.pdf SIV should just work and I have never known SIV to have issues reporting and controlling a device that CL4 reported.

If you get stuck post the screen shots I specified in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140665

boeing253 06-26-2017 05:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 909160)
In Device Manager Right/Click on the device and select properties.

I am 99% sure the driver will be there anyway and you won't have any issues. The only issues I recall are CL4 failing to install it in the first place which is why I needed to attach it to the linked post.

Provided you read http://rh-software.com/Using%20SIV%2...20Hardware.pdf SIV should just work and I have never known SIV to have issues reporting and controlling a device that CL4 reported.

If you get stuck post the screen shots I specified in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140665

Hi Red-Ray,

Here's 2 screenshots from my Device Manager for my H80i V2.

I believe the driver is there.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...EViQk1EZHhFQzA

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...lprTGFERUFvR1U

I am just downloading the latest version of SIV to use on my PC. I have read through the SIV Manual and it doesn't look to hard to use.

I've also got the PWM values in a spreadsheet, which you linked to an old topic of mine which I can use to put the PWM setting in and see what the RPM should be.

I will test this out tomorrow. Do I need to uninstall CL4 to use SIV or can I just set it to not run on startup?

Many Thanks

red-ray 06-26-2017 05:23 AM

Good luck
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 909452)
Do I need to uninstall CL4 to use SIV or can I just set it to not run on startup?

No, you don't need to uninstall CL4, just don't run CL4 on start-up.

This is what I do and recommend as you may need to use CL4 to update firmware and I suspect Corsair Support will ask what CL4 reports should you need to RMA faulty hardware.

boeing253 06-26-2017 05:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 909454)
No, you don't need to uninstall CL4, just don't run CL4 on start-up.

This is what I do and recommend as you may need to use CL4 to update firmware and I suspect Corsair Support will ask what CL4 reports should you need to RMA faulty hardware.

Ok thank you Red-Ray, I will setup SIV tomorrow and let you know how I go.

Many Thanks for your help.

boeing253 07-12-2017 05:14 AM

Hi Red-Ray,

I have succesfully configured SIV to run my H80i V2.

I have tested and the fan speeds are increasing according to the set "PWM" %.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...HUtdGpManlQZTA

I have disabled CL4 from running on startup, and now my total CPU usage fluctuates between 1>5%. Much better than CL4 where I was idling constantly around 17%.

I will keep testing and look forward to using SIV well into the future. Just a small question if I need to for some unknown reason in the future go back to Corsair Link do I simply just disable SIV from running on startup and the cooler will revert back to using CL4?

Red-Ray from the bottom of my heart I wish to extend a massive thank you to you, and I wonder why Corsair haven't improved their software based on others feedback after using SIV.

red-ray 07-12-2017 05:39 AM

Thank you for letting me know SIV is working well
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 911262)
  1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4q...pManlQZTA/view
  2. my total CPU usage fluctuates between 1>5%. Much better than CL4 where I was idling constantly around 17%.
  3. To go back to Corsair Link do I simply just disable SIV from running on startup and the cooler will revert back to using CL4?
  4. I wonder why Corsair haven't improved their software based on others feedback after using SIV.

Thank you. It makes a pleasant change to simply hear about things working well rather than issues that need to be addressed.
  1. The Pump mode is NA and suspect you should use Quiet, Performance or Custom. For most systems a pump speed of 1800 to 1900 RPM works well.
  2. 5% is higher than usual for SIV. Please post Menu->Help->Lock Usage + Menu->Help->Lock Handles + Menu->Edit->STC Info so I can sensibly comment. Let the STC plots fill before taking the screen shot.
  3. Yes, just don't run SIV. To do a quick check you can just exit SIV and run CL4.
  4. So do I and suspect much of this is down to internal constraints within Corsair.
I am wondering if you would like to post about setting to SIV any tips you have to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137428.

boeing253 07-12-2017 06:43 AM

Here you go Red-Ray.

I've set the Pump to Performance "5".

Currently with Google chrome open as well as CPUID HWMonitor i'm using 5.6% total CPU usage, still much better then with CL4.

Please see screenshots below.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...nRHVlpPZUJ5eEU

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...3dDS1o0eS1YSEk



Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 911265)
Thank you. It makes a pleasant change to simply hear about things working well rather than issues that need to be addressed.
  1. The Pump mode is NA and suspect you should use Quiet, Performance or Custom. For most systems a pump speed of 1800 to 1900 RPM works well.
  2. 5% is higher than usual for SIV. Please post Menu->Help->Lock Usage + Menu->Help->Lock Handles + Menu->Edit->STC Info so I can sensibly comment. Let the STC plots fill before taking the screen shot.
  3. Yes, just don't run SIV. To do a quick check you can just exit SIV and run CL4.
  4. So do I and suspect much of this is down to internal constraints within Corsair.
I am wondering if you would like to post about setting to SIV any tips you have to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137428.


red-ray 07-12-2017 08:00 AM

SIV uses 0.20 % of the system CPU time
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 911268)
I've set the Pump to Performance "5".

Currently with Google chrome open as well as CPUID HWMonitor i'm using 5.6% total CPU usage, still much better then with CL4.

OK, but I suspect Quite will be enough.

Looking at [STC Info] SIV uses 1.60% of a CPU or 0.20 % of the system :biggrin:.

boeing253 07-12-2017 08:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by red-ray (Post 911276)
OK, but I suspect Quite will be enough.

Looking at [STC Info] SIV uses 1.60% of a CPU or 0.20 % of the system :biggrin:.

Yup SIV is alot better. My CPU temps have also come down since with CL4 I was sitting at 17% total CPU usage.

Now I can sit back and hopefully not have the cooler freeze like it did sometimes with CL.

Thank you very much Red-Ray.

It's midnight here now, but I will make sure to post a reply in the thread you linked about setting up SIV (which only took a few minutes following the guide)

red-ray 07-12-2017 08:14 AM

I also expect the average CPU speed to be lower
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boeing253 (Post 911281)
My CPU temps have also come down since with CL4 I was sitting at 17% total CPU usage.

Yes, I half expected this and I also expect the average CPU speed is much lower. When then run CL 4.7.0.77 my CPUs run at 3.10 GHz :(: rather than 1.20 GHz :biggrin: when I use SIV.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.