The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   questions from a noob ;] (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91790)

forkzilla 12-17-2010 07:44 PM

questions from a noob ;]
 
i have an Asus P6X58D-E (X58 chipset) motherboard and i have installed some new corsair memory on it link: CMX6GX3M3A1600C9 though the problem is when my system boots up it can only find 4088mb in the bios .. so i wonder whats the problem, i have an i7 950. before i bought myself a copy of win7 64-bit i had winvista-32-bit, if that might have had some effect? in the near future im going to upgrade to the full 24gb capacity of my motherboard, so i wondered will it work if i bought three sets of this kit CMX8GX3M2A1600C9 in my motherboards manual it says something about that it only supports 1600mhz per channel? if u need more information about it to solve my problem i will look it up ^^

hope u can solve my prob, cheers forkzilla

trackrat 12-17-2010 11:20 PM

Multiple RAM kits are NOT recommended and NOT guaranteed to work properly. If you desire 24 GB. of RAM then you should buy ONE, tested, matched, compatible 24 GB. RAM kit.

The links below may be useful?

http://i4memory.com/f54/asus-x58-6-1...stalled-19200/

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82274

Wired 12-18-2010 01:55 PM

Get ONE kit that meets all of your needs. There are too many compatibility issues that could arise when mixing multiple kits of memory. It's certainly possible, but not guaranteed or tested or warrantied to do so. Also, when mixing THREE kits, you're running the chance of mixing THREE ICs together.

Best to just get ONE 24 GB kit.

As for 4/6 GB showing, trackrat's links can help. Don't forget to test one stick at a time in each slot using Memtest86+.

forkzilla 12-18-2010 04:45 PM

thx for ur tips ^^ ill try it when i get a xmas break hmm im a real noob at some computer stuff so im happy i aksed before i installed thx! and i thought ur links was very useful thx. so the only way to run 24 gbs of ram is to buy this: https://shop.corsair.com/store/item_...spx?id=1418696 am i right ??

Wired 12-18-2010 06:05 PM

http://www.corsair.com/products/corei7/default.aspx
CMP24GX3M6A1600C9
CMD24GX3M6A1333C9


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.