The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   4GB on Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=67797)

TomGu 03-18-2008 05:23 PM

4GB on Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4
 
Friend recently assembled a system based on Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 (rev. 2.0), Intel E8400, Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 memory, running XP Pro, and is pleased with the build.

I am starting to build a similar system but would like to use 4GB of ram.

Am considering the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 rev. 2.1, which seems to be the successor to the GA-P35-DS4, a Xeon 3110 since E8400's are presently "out of stock", and 4GB of Corsair ram.

Reading the forum posts, it seems there is a need to use a slower bios speed setting for the ram if populating all four slots.

The need for the a slower bios speed setting for the ram goes away if only two slots are populated ... am I getting this right?

If yes, it seems a 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) of TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX ram would be a good choice.

Since the board supports 1066 ram, would there be a significant advantage to using TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF?

Thanks for the help.

RAM GUY 03-18-2008 05:30 PM

Quote:

I am starting to build a similar system but would like to use 4GB of ram.
Am considering the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 rev. 2.1, which seems to be the successor to the GA-P35-DS4, a Xeon 3110 since E8400's are presently "out of stock", and 4GB of Corsair ram.
Reading the forum posts, it seems there is a need to use a slower bios speed setting for the ram if populating all four slots.
Quote:

The need for the a slower bios speed setting for the ram goes away if only two slots are populated ... am I getting this right? If yes, it seems a 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) of TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX ram would be a good choice.
Quote:

Since the board supports 1066 ram, would there be a significant advantage to using TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF?
Yes yes and yes if you are planing to over clock your system, I would suggest using Twin2x4096-8500C5DF!

TomGu 04-01-2008 04:03 AM

TWIN2x4096-8500C5DF seems like a good recommendation as the idea of the E8400 at 4GB is appealing.

Ordered all parts for the build yesterday (except the memory due to it being out of stock at Newegg, ZZF, and other online vendors).

Would like to assemble / test the system while waiting on the TWIN2x4096-8500C5DF to become available.

Trying to keep price of "temporary ram" down so am considering a stick of PC25300 or PC25400, instead of PC26400.

Would PC25300 or PC25400 work to boot / test the system?

Secondly, a thread on another newsgroup raises an issue about continuous reboots with the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 and ram "with speeds above 800" (the ram brand mentioned is NOT Corsair).

Is there an issue with Corsair ram "with speeds above 800" and the GA-EP35-DS4?

If yes, I can forgo the 8500C5DF and opt for 6400c4DHX.

Thank you.

DerekT 04-01-2008 04:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TomGu (Post 340105)
Trying to keep price of "temporary ram" down so am considering a stick of PC25300 or PC25400, instead of PC26400.

Would PC25300 or PC25400 work to boot / test the system?

Your 8400 has a FSB of 333 so you will be fine (no overclocking) testing with 667Mhz DRAM. 333Mhz (QDR) = 1333 and 667Mhz (DDR) = 1333Mhz and allows you the 1:1 ratio for testing purposes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by TomGu (Post 340105)
Secondly, a thread on another newsgroup raises an issue about continuous reboots with the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 and ram "with speeds above 800" (the ram brand mentioned is NOT Corsair).

Do you have a link to that newsgroup?

TomGu 04-01-2008 08:34 AM

Derek -
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/24...ds-boot-cycles

Would appreciate your "take" on the rebooting issue as I have found a "new" rebate on both the 6400 and the 8500 and am ready to buy pending resolution of the "higher than 800 speed causing reboots" question.

Thanks.

DerekT 04-01-2008 02:14 PM

I would personally move to a different board, but you certainly can move to different DRAM to fix the issue. The issue remains though. There are many people with higher end DRAM issues and that board.

TomGu 04-01-2008 03:02 PM

Yes, though several implicated the "energy saving feature" of the GA-EP35-DS4 as a possible source of the problem (I am planning to disable the "energy saving feature" by the way).

Don't suppose a fix might be attained in a future BIOS revision?

If Newegg will take back the GA-EP35-DS4, what board would be more compatible with the 8500C5DF?

If I must keep the GA-EP35-DS4, would Twin2x4096 6400C4DHX the next best choice?

If yes, any chance the 6400C4DHX can be overclocked to support the E8400 at 450 MHz or is the 8500C5DF necessary to run the E8400 at 450?

Thanks.

DerekT 04-01-2008 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TomGu (Post 340180)
Yes, though several implicated the "energy saving feature" of the GA-EP35-DS4 as a possible source of the problem (I am planning to disable the "energy saving feature" by the way).

Don't suppose a fix might be attained in a future BIOS revision?

If Newegg will take back the GA-EP35-DS4, what board would be more compatible with the 8500C5DF?

If I must keep the GA-EP35-DS4, would Twin2x4096 6400C4DHX the next best choice?

If yes, any chance the 6400C4DHX can be overclocked to support the E8400 at 450 MHz or is the 8500C5DF necessary to run the E8400 at 450? I would go with a P5K-E in consideration of the board you currently have.

Thanks.

A fix might come. A loosening of the memory chipset latencies or such. Yes, you should be able to overclock the 6400C4DHX to support 8400 at 450. You will very likely have to loosen the timings a bit though, but still, it should work. The definitive word in overclocking is "Should".

Siberian 04-02-2008 10:29 PM

TomGu,

I'd would be careful of using 8500c5d in the ep35-ds4. I have just spent 3 days trying to get the same thing to work, but all settings lead to the now infamous boot cycle. A quick google should be enough to scare you off it. I've tried every recommended config on the net, but there seems to be a growing opinion that all the Gigabyte boards are borked over 800MHz, or at best it's hit or miss.

My 8500 sticks work in my high-end Asus at 1066 without an error on memtest, and some spare corsair 6400 800MHz work in my DS4. Exactly the same thing happened with my friend's GA-p965-dq6, and he tells me his research six months ago lead to the same conclusion. But I did find one guy on the net who said he had 1066 sticks working in the EP35-DS4, but I also found at least 10 who said they didn't. Go figure. :confused:

RAM GUY 04-03-2008 07:15 PM

The 965 Chipset will not support DDR1066 memory with out over clocking the system so that is not a good comparison. I would suggest check the MB BIOS version is up to date and maybe a good idea to check with their Tech support on that issue.

TomGu 04-16-2008 03:56 AM

Build complete.
Quick recap: GA-EP35-DS4, E8400 OEM, Zalman 9700, Twin2x4096-C46400DHX, Raidmax Smilodon with Corsair HX620W power supply.
No o/c tweaks yet.
CPU-Z reports ram settings at 5:6, 5, 5, 5, 18 though the ram is rated at 4, 4, 4, 12; the CPU-Z SPD screen shows the ram at 1.8V.
Are Derek's statements in comment #337504 of http://www.asktheramguy.com/v3/showthread.php?t=67800 the explanation for my system defaulting the memory settings to 5, 5, 5, 15?
If yes, do I need to reset them to 4, 4, 4, 12 and the ram voltage to 2.1 before I start adjusting the FSB and CPU vcore (I am seeking 4GHz using 445 FSB with 9 multiplier) or should I leave the ram settings "loose" as Derek previously mentioned?
Thanks.

RAM GUY 04-16-2008 12:16 PM

If you plan on over clocking like that I would leave the timings at Auto but set the memory voltage to 2.1 Volts and see what you get.

TomGu 04-17-2008 02:59 AM

Ram Guy -
Unsure what you mean by "overclocking like that". I am new to O/C and "learning as I go". If trying for 4GB via adjusting the FSB to 445 and increasing the vcore (and ram voltage as you mentioned) is not the best way, please feel free to comment. No offense taken to any helpful suggestion. Thanks.

TomGu 04-17-2008 12:24 PM

A further question -
CPU-Z reports my memory's FSB:DRAM ratio as 5:6. It therefore seems my Twin2X4096-6400C4DHX ram is being underclocked to accomodate the 333 mhz default speed of my e8400 processor. Though I had originally hoped to achieve 4000 mhz with more agressive o/c, it seems at a minimum I should increase the FSB to 400 for a 1:1 FSB:DRAM ratio and let the ram operate at its rated speed. Am I understanding this correctly?

DerekT 04-17-2008 01:45 PM

Download memtest from www.memtest.org and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.

Enter your BIOS. On the main BIOS screen press Ctrl + F1. You will see the screen flicker. Next select the MB Intelligent Tweaker option. On that screen you will see many additional settings that were not there before.

Settings for the Twin2X4096

MIB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster = Auto
CPU Clock Ratio = 9
CPU Host Clock Control = Enabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) = 400Mhz
PCI Express Frequency = 100Mhz
C.I.A.2 = Disabled
Performance Enhance = Standard
System Memory Multiplier = 2
Hi Speed DRAM DLL Settings = Option 2
DRAM Timing Selectable = Manual
CAS Latency Time = 4
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay = 4
RAS# Precharge = 4
Precharge Delay (tRAS) = 12
ACT to ACT delay = Auto
Bank Write To READ Delay = Auto
Refresh to ACT Delay = 0
Read to Precharge Delay = Auto
System Voltage Control
DDR2 OverVoltage Control = +.3V
PCI-e OverVoltage Control = Normal
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control = +.01
CPU Voltage Control = Auto
These settings will give you 400 X 9 = 3.6Ghz.
Download CPU-z from Here .
Please post screenshots of your CPU-z CPU/Memory and SPD tabs.
Download OCCT Perestroika for a quick, hard and fast CPU stability test ---> Here
Download Real Temp from Here .
Boot to the optical drive with the Memtest disk and allow for two full passes. Please post a screenshot of your Real Temp values when using 1 hour OCCT.

Results?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.