The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   Vengeance XMP profiles (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94782)

ritaylor 04-20-2011 08:03 PM

Vengeance XMP profiles
 
I just got a kit of vengeance memory - CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9 - and there were 2 XMP profiles. Profile 1 had ram at 1.50, Vtt at 1.20 and timings of 9-9-9-24 2t. Profile 2 had ram at 1.50, Vtt at 1.35 and timings of 6-9-9-24 2t. Is this right? The "6" seems way out of line. Could the SPD be programed wrong?

Yellowbeard 04-20-2011 08:49 PM

How/where are you viewing this "6"? And, does that profile actually set the CAS latency to 6? FYI, the first profile is for Gulftown CPUs.

ritaylor 04-20-2011 08:59 PM

The six is the first number listed in the xmp profile 2 configuration in the bios. On my motherboard, it is listed as 6-9-9-24-2t-1.50-1.35 at the top of the A. I. Tweaker settings. CPUz also reads the 6 as cas latency in the second XMP-1600 under the SPD tab. And just for the record, the computer won't post with it set to profile 2. It says "overclocking failed".

Yellowbeard 04-20-2011 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ritaylor (Post 499167)
The six is the first number listed in the xmp profile 2 configuration in the bios. On my motherboard, it is listed as 6-9-9-24-2t-1.50-1.35 at the top of the A. I. Tweaker settings. CPUz also reads the 6 as cas latency in the second XMP-1600 under the SPD tab. And just for the record, the computer won't post with it set to profile 2. It says "overclocking failed".

OK, keep in mind that with your CPU that you need to use profile #1 anyway. I will get back with you on this. Can you post a pic of your heat spreader showing the lot codes, etc or, post them here so we can check on this on the mfg side please?

ritaylor 04-20-2011 11:42 PM

My phone takes lousy pics so here goes, I hope this helps.

Above bar code:

CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9

(bar code goes here)

12GB (3x4GB) 4096MB 1600MHz
9-9-9-24 1.50V ver2.12 111300107 MADE IN TAIWAN

Yellowbeard 04-20-2011 11:44 PM

Perfect! And thank you so much for taking the time to post that. We'll look into this for you. If the memory is functioning properly using Profile #1 or by manual settings, you can choose to keep them or we can replace them. It's entirely up to you.

ritaylor 04-20-2011 11:50 PM

I would really like them replaced.

Yellowbeard 04-20-2011 11:52 PM

Use the RMA link on the left side of this page and put a link to this thread into the comments section.

ritaylor 04-20-2011 11:55 PM

OK, thanks. Let me know how it goes with mfg.

RAM GUY 04-21-2011 02:57 PM

Please post a screen shot of the SPD Tab in CPU-Z for all six modules.

ritaylor 04-21-2011 04:33 PM

I don't have the set installed at the moment. I took them out as I have already asked for a RMA. Trust me... XMP1 is set at 9-9-9-24 2t @ 1.5 volts and XMP2 is 6-9-9-24 2t @ 1.5 volts. My friend has the same Vengeance set (different version. His version is 5.11) and according to his both XMP settings are exactly the same except one has vtt @ 1.35 and the other is 1.2

ritaylor 04-21-2011 04:43 PM

Oh, an another interesting thing...the XMP profile with the vtt @ 1.2 is profile #2 on ver5.11

RAM GUY 04-21-2011 08:02 PM

Can you get us the lot codes off of both sets that would help?

SkyRyder 04-21-2011 09:31 PM

Questionable XMP-2 Profile in CMZ24GX3M6A1600C9
 
3 Attachment(s)
Sorry to barge in here like this, but I just installed not the exact same set of 12-GB modules, but the 24-GB Vengeance modules from NewEgg and now I stumble across this unnerving post. Iíve set mine to run at XMP-1, all modules checked out with MemTest86, no errors.

I too noticed the weird CAS 6 setting in XMP-2 profile but never attempted to launch with it enabled. What's going on here? I hope this doesnít entail a long drawn out RMA process, but if its corrupt programing within the moduleís SPD, well what else. Please let me know what your findings are.

See pics of RAM label and BIOS Performance screen &
SPD Tab in CPU-Z for all six modules:

Wired 04-21-2011 09:34 PM

Links don't work. Attach the pics to the post, not to the album.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.