The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   iCUE Software (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=280)
-   -   iCue causing low performance and BSOD (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=188165)

xPrecision 06-15-2019 11:22 AM

iCue causing low performance and BSOD
 
Hey, so before stating anything I would just like to say that I’m not an expert in any way so please bear with me on this one.

So ever since I built my new computer and installed the iCue software to control my 3 LL120 rgb fans and 3 ML120 that I have noticed something weird. Whenever I launched the app the computer started to throttle, the screen would start dimming and returning to normal, and the refresh rate also seemed affected, with the frame rate dropping from 144hz to what seemed like 20. There wasn’t even any other app running, nor game, but the performance hit was very noticeable. But I assumed it wasn’t really a problem and moved on from it since once I closed iCue the computer would return to its normal state.

However yesterday I bought and installed 4 RGB strips (all connected together and plugged in to commander) and the performance hit when using iCue increased even more. I then started to get many BSOD with the error message “WATCHDOG VIOLATION”. Removing and unninstaling iCue has seemed to solve the problem has I have not gotten any single BSOD since then.

I have tried unninstaling iCue multiple times and nothing seems to be working, I would very much like to have this software since it enables me to control all the RGB functionalities I have paid for aswell as controlling the fan speeds, which are now running almost max speed constantly.

Any help is appreciated and I can surely give any information if needed! Thanks and sorry for any case of bad english or bad pronounciation :)

DevBiker 06-15-2019 01:36 PM

This is pretty unusual. I think in this case it's clear that the issue is with iCUE but the question is why? This issues that you are describing are not at all common.

Can you perhaps get some log files? You'll want to enable them in iCUE's settings. That would certainly be helpful. With the performance hit, does this happen when iCUE is closed (manually exited) and the service alone is running?

Also, do you have FreeSync or GSync enabled on your monitor? If so, can you add iCUE to an exclusion list for the sync?

xPrecision 06-15-2019 03:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DevBiker (Post 1008081)
This is pretty unusual. I think in this case it's clear that the issue is with iCUE but the question is why? This issues that you are describing are not at all common.

Can you perhaps get some log files? You'll want to enable them in iCUE's settings. That would certainly be helpful. With the performance hit, does this happen when iCUE is closed (manually exited) and the service alone is running?

Also, do you have FreeSync or GSync enabled on your monitor? If so, can you add iCUE to an exclusion list for the sync?

Yeah, I have been looking around the internet to see if anyone had the same problem and in not finding anyone I decided to post myself. At this point I would rather not have iCue itself currently installed (at least not until there is an update) since it causes my computer to crash randomly.

I do have G-Sync on my monitor, but I really don't see how that could be a problem (?).

And by the way, no, the performance hit only happens when iCue is open, once I close the window the computer performance goes back up, really weird.

I am really in the dark on this one :/

DevBiker 06-15-2019 03:29 PM

So - the GSync has actually come up here before. iCUE uses OpenGL so it'll run on the GPU - and then GSync will try to sync the monitor refresh rate with iCUE. This has come up before so that's something that you'll want to look at - tell GSync not to bother trying to sync with iCUE.

Now ... when you refer to the "performance hit" ... can you be more specific?

xPrecision 06-15-2019 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DevBiker (Post 1008089)
So - the GSync has actually come up here before. iCUE uses OpenGL so it'll run on the GPU - and then GSync will try to sync the monitor refresh rate with iCUE. This has come up before so that's something that you'll want to look at - tell GSync not to bother trying to sync with iCUE.

Now ... when you refer to the "performance hit" ... can you be more specific?

Ok so now I got another BSOD and I think it might be from another program I have installed. Still iCue was giving a huge performance hit even before having that computer. I am currently reseting windows to a restore point.

The hit was the fps going down, high power usage and fans spinning really fast, it was really weird.

c-attack 06-15-2019 05:52 PM

If you are still on one of the three fan presets in the Commander Pro, then your fans are going to be overly reactive. By default the control variable is CPU temperature -- the only thing every PC is guaranteed to have. However, it is a lousy and inappropriate control choice so get off that now. GPU temp, motherboard temp, coolant temp, and the temperature probes are all better choices for case fans.

As mentioned, make sure you set your Gsync mode to Full Screen only or exempt iCUE from the app list. It's a window with a bunch of little graphs. Those have to be rendered and the GPU recognizes it as such. You don't want or need Gsync to kick in there.

Some of the other stuff (dimming monitor?, BSODs) are not so easy to identify. However, the above should be done whether your system is perfect or a train wreck.

xPrecision 06-15-2019 07:01 PM

The G-Sync thing solved the performance hit, so thanks for that.

As for the BSOD I have decided to completely re install windows, but before doing so I checked the reliability to see what caused the crashes, and ALL of them, and I really mean ALL of 10 of them, were caused by a corsair service failing.

Now I really am afraid to install any iCue/Corsair software.

DevBiker 06-15-2019 07:17 PM

If you could get logs, dumps or even the out from the reliability monitor, it would be helpful. This kind of thing is very, very uncommon. I suspect that it's coming from the CPUIDSDK component. Unfortunately, if you are reinstalling Windows, we won't be able to troubleshoot the issue.

xPrecision 06-16-2019 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DevBiker (Post 1008113)
If you could get logs, dumps or even the out from the reliability monitor, it would be helpful. This kind of thing is very, very uncommon. I suspect that it's coming from the CPUIDSDK component. Unfortunately, if you are reinstalling Windows, we won't be able to troubleshoot the issue.

I will see if I still get any BSOD from now on. I have downgraded to Corsair Link just to be sure. if it happens again Iíll update you on it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.