The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Questions (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   P4c800eDeluxe pc4400 Bios Settings (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32023)

Cold Steel 11-07-2004 04:15 PM

P4c800eDeluxe pc4400 Bios Settings
 
MB- Asus P4c800e Deluxe
AMI Bios version 1018 installed from Asus.com
P4- 3.2 @ 3.52
ATI Radeon 9800xt 256MB
2 sticks CMX512 Corsair XMS4400PT
Antec True Power 550 watt ps
WD Raptor 74 Gig SATA
Windows XP PRO


The memory was bought seperately. I called Corsair tech support and they assured me that 2 seperately bought sticks would run just fine together or I would have bought them together at the time of building my computer.

I've been trying to get my memory to run at 550 and it doesn't work.
I set my overclock to 10% after trying to get the mem to run at 550. My computer runs just fine at 10% , doesn't boot to windows on 20%.

I used settings according to your file post about bios settings testing parameters for Twinx4400 for the mem and for the CMX 512.
I noticed that the bios settings that you list for the p4c800e aren't listed in my bios with the same name. example- you list DRAM Clock and my bios says DRAM Frequency. I don't know if this means the same thing or not.
Also is SDRAM VDIMM (your chart) the same as DDR Reference Voltage (my bios)?
CPU External Frequency: was on 200 changed to 275
DRAM Clock: was on auto changed it to 400
SDRAM CAS Latency: was on 2.5 changed it to 3 (is 3T the same as 3)
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay: was on 4 kept it on 4 (again no 4T)
SDRAM Row Precharge: was on 4 kept it on 4 (no4T)
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay: was on 8 kept it on 8 (no 8T)
SDRAM Bank Interleave: you say 4 bank ( mine has no listing for this)
SDRAM VDIMM: you say 2.75 (I am assuming DDR Reference Voltage means
the same) it was on auto I changed it to 2.75

Any help appreciated. CS

Wired 11-07-2004 04:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cold Steel
you list DRAM Clock and my bios says DRAM Frequency. I don't know if this means the same thing or not. Also is SDRAM VDIMM (your chart) the same as DDR Reference Voltage (my bios)?

yes and yes.

Quote:

CPU External Frequency: was on 200 changed to 275
DRAM Clock: was on auto changed it to 400
SDRAM CAS Latency: was on 2.5 changed it to 3 (is 3T the same as 3)
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay: was on 4 kept it on 4 (again no 4T)
SDRAM Row Precharge: was on 4 kept it on 4 (no4T)
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay: was on 8 kept it on 8 (no 8T)
SDRAM Bank Interleave: you say 4 bank ( mine has no listing for this)
SDRAM VDIMM: you say 2.75 (I am assuming DDR Reference Voltage means
the same) it was on auto I changed it to 2.75

Any help appreciated. CS
Those first 2 settings look odd. I know that's what's on the settings post, but to me CPU EF is the FSB and DRAM Clock is the memory, but those settings seem to be the reverse of that. What DRAM clock settings do you have? FYI, you may want to set your VDIMM to 2.85, may help later, but not over 2.9v, as the warranty only covers up to 2.9v.

Cold Steel 11-07-2004 07:02 PM

What DRAM clock settings do you have?

DRAM Frequency: Options:
266MHz
320MHz
400MHz
Auto

With the AI Overclock Tuner Set to Standard mode or Overclock I don't have
any more options available.
When set to Manual all the below come up:
CPU External Frequency(MHz):
Options:
Valid Input Value (100-400) (these go up 1MHz at
a time)

DRAM Frequency:
Options:
266MHz, 320MHz, 400MHz and Auto

AGP/PCI Frequency(MHz):
Options:
Auto
66.66/33.33
72.73/36.36
80.00/40.00

CPU VCORE Voltage:
Options:
Auto
1.9500V, 1.9250V, 1.9000V, 1.8750V, 1.8500V,
1.8250V, 1.8000V, 1.7750V, 1.7500V, 1.7250V,
1.7000V, 1.6750V, 1.6500V, 1.6250V, 1.6000V

DDR Reference Voltage:
Options:
2.85V, 2.75V, 2.65V, 2.55V, and Auto

AGP VDDQ Voltage:
Options:
1.80V, 1.70V, 1.60V, 1.50V

There is a performance mode and the options are:
Auto, Standard and Turbo. I have been using turbo

RAM GUY 11-08-2004 06:29 PM

AI Overclock Tuner: Standard mode
CPU External Frequency: 200 MHz
DRAM Frequency: 400MHz
AGP/PCI Frequency(MHz): 66.66/33.33
CPU VCORE Voltage: Auto
DDR Reference Voltage: 2.85V
AGP VDDQ Voltage: 1.50V

Testing parameters for XMS4400:

CMX512-4400 Data Sheet
Motherboard make and model: Asus P4C800/-E
CPU External Frequency: Manually set to 275MHz
DRAM Clock: Manually set to 1:1 or 400MHz
SDRAM CAS Latency: 3T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 4T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 4T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 8T
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4 Bank
SDRAM VDIMM: 2.75
All other settings are motherboard defaults.
Maximum recommended VDIMM: 2.9

Cold Steel 11-08-2004 09:15 PM

[QUOTE=RAM GUY]AI Overclock Tuner: Standard mode
CPU External Frequency: 200 MHz
DRAM Frequency: 400MHz
AGP/PCI Frequency(MHz): 66.66/33.33
CPU VCORE Voltage: Auto
DDR Reference Voltage: 2.85V
AGP VDDQ Voltage: 1.50V

I changed all my settings to the above and it came up and said the memory was running at 400MHz (And that's all it said,see below 266MHz). I changed the CPU EF to 275 and I got an overclock error. Went back into bios and changed CPU EF to 250 and got the oc error.
I changed the CUP EF to 225 and it booted and it said the memory was:
266MHz Dual channel Linear Mode and my 3.2 cpu is running at 3.6MHz oc'd.

Is the 266MHz running dual channel equal to 532MHz mem speed on dual channel or is it running just on 266MHz?

Is there a memory checker out there for free to test my memory MHz speed?
Maybe a windows xp version and not a dos version?

Thanks, CS
ps. Also a note to you about the AI Overclock tuner. If you set it to standard then no options for the others are available so it must be on Manual.

RAM GUY 11-09-2004 01:56 PM

Typo on my part sorry the AI Overclock Tuner must be set to manual!
And I would use www.memtest.org to test the settings and see where your CPU tops out, then tweak the timings to get the best performance. But I doubt you will get mch over 220 MHz with that CPU!

Yellowbeard 11-09-2004 02:33 PM

To have the RAM run at its stock speed the CPU will need to be able to run at 250mhz FSB with the RAM set at the 400 setting manually. However, I have never seen a 3.2 CPU that will run 250mhz. That's 4ghz on a 3.2 and you don't see many people doing that.

Also, don't enable the turbo. It is a worthless setting that interferes with what you set manually. Set it for the CPU Performance Acceleration Mode to Standard and the Memory Turbo to AUTO.

Is your CPU a Northwood 3.2c or a prescHott 3.4e?

Mike.

Yellowbeard 11-09-2004 02:38 PM

Also, this thread may help some.

http://www.asusforums.org/showthread.php?t=24

Good luck, Mike.

Cold Steel 11-10-2004 04:39 AM

I believe it's a Northwood. It doesn't say for sure on the retail box.
It says: 3.20 GHz 1.55V Max Sys Bus 800MHz 512 L2 Cache PGA478
FPO/Batch- L340B148
Product code- BX80532PG3200DSL 792
MM# 857929

mayakindaguy 11-10-2004 05:13 AM

that's a northwood since it has 512 L2 cache. You will need a watercooling setup to get that 3.2 up to 4ghz and even people with watercooling are having problems getting it stable up there however, 3.9 is definitely feasible on water.

RAM GUY 11-10-2004 01:32 PM

I would suggest you look at this like for overclockers.com and search for your CPU. It looks like 3.4-3.6 would be average with one user able to O.C. that CPU S-SPEC (SL792) to 4.0 GHz using custom water cooling.

Cold Steel 11-10-2004 02:37 PM

It's a Northwood for sure. I guess my memory is better than my cpu. :biggrin:

I tried oc'd at 233 3.2@3.72 and it posted and when the windows loggo came up it rebooted itself so I assume it failed. I am new to oc so bear with me. I learn fast. So if I go to water cooling It may run at 3.72. I'm running the retail cpu fan. My cpu according to my bios says the temp is 31C after oc'ing but when it was set to fsb of 200 it said my cpu temp was around 41C. Shouldn't it be hotter with the oc'd cpu?

Also in my bios there is a setting for the cpu vcore and it's set to auto. It has several settings listed. The cpu's retail box listed 1.55Vmax and that setting is listed should I put it on the 1.55V setting or leave it to Auto?

RAM GUY 11-10-2004 02:51 PM

From what I have seen watter will add a few Mhz to the top end, but it will not be a dramitic gain. Other than the CPU will run cooler!

Yellowbeard 11-10-2004 02:54 PM

If you go to water cooling you MIGHT be able to OC that CPU a bit farther. However, there are no guarantees so don't set your goals TOO high. As to those wierd temp readings, if you are starting, restarting, etc with your computer it will give wierd bios readings. This is just the CPU+heatsink in various stages of warming or cooling. Once you boot and let the system idle for a minute or 2, the temps should fall right back to your normal idle temp.

As to the Vcore, this is where you MUST be careful. I have NEVER heard of OCing in and of itself damaging a CPU. However, voltage is what can kill a CPU. Voltage + heat but, excessive voltage is where some of the heat comes from. And, this is where some good aftermarket cooling comes in handy.

NEVER go above 1.7v. Some users have reported in the past that 1.7v is the "sudden death" point for P4 CPUs. With stock cooling you should be fine to run up to about 1.575-1.6v safely. And, with water, you can go farther. However, on my own Northwood CPUs, I NEVER go past 1.6v regardless of cooling. I have never had a problem at this voltage and I can't afford to cook a CPU. Howver, it's up to you what you set.

Remember, you are on you own here. Good luck. If you need more assistance, try us over at www.asusforums.org We'll be glad to help you with any other issues/questions you have.

Mike.

Cold Steel 11-12-2004 11:57 AM

After leaving my computer on 24/2 I checked my cpu temp today and it was running at 45C to 47C. I noticed my MB was around 32C. Computer is running rock solid at 3.59.

How about a suggestion for an air cooled cpu fan. My stock fan is running around 2500 to 2600 rpm. I would prefer one that is a little quiet.
How about a water cooled system any suggestions?
I have two case fans and anyone have any suggestions for some quiet fans because these two are quite noisy as my computer is right beside me?
I have a full tower Antec case with stock fans.

What is linear mode anyway when it says 266MHz dual channel linear mode?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.