The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Questions (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   Asus K8v and 1gb 3200LL (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21757)

m4tr1x 01-28-2004 09:31 AM

Asus K8v and 1gb 3200LL
 
I am trying to fix a twitching that I get when playing UT2003. It happens about about every 5 min during a 15 min botmatch. By default my memory is set to 2-3-3-6 @2.6v in slots 1-3. I tried to loosen my timings to 2-3-3-6, 2.5-3-3-6, and 3-3-3-6 and the problem still is there. Last night I decided to see how tight I could get the timings because maybe that would help. I got the ram to boot with 2-3-2-5 @ 2.7v (also tested ok with memtest86+) but I noticed that I lost about 100-200 points in 3DMark2001. This doesn't seem to make sense since I made the timings faster? Any thoughts? Ram Guy? Also I couldn't get the machine to boot at anything lower than 2-3-2-5 and the UT2003 problem seemed to go away.

THANKS!

added: I just tested the ram at 2-3-2-7 and it seemed to work also? Is my ram not up to spec?

RAM GUY 01-29-2004 04:01 AM

I would leave the timings to By SPD and set the Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts and see if that makes the system more stable in your game. If you still have errors please test the modules one at a time with www.memtest.org and let's make sure one is not failing.

m4tr1x 01-29-2004 08:22 AM

Thanks! I'll run memtest against each module and post back the results.

RAM GUY 01-29-2004 09:28 AM

Please let us know!

m4tr1x 01-30-2004 01:16 PM

Alright I ran benchmarks and then memtest against each module individually (@2-3-2-6, 2.7v) for 6 passes each and then with both installed in slots 1&2 and slots 1&3. Everything tested out fine, no errors in memtest or the benchmarks. I did notice that the performance was better with both sticks in slots 1&2. I was getting 3dmark01 scores of 20,188 vs. 20,044. Not a big difference but still higher scores. Is there any reason to leave these in slots 1&3 vs. 1&2? I think the problem was with Norton AV2004. I have installed McAfee AV2004 and PC-Cillan2002 and the problems aren't there. From what I've read NAV2004 is a system resource hog and apparently this was interfering with UT2003. More testing to verify though.

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

RAM GUY 01-30-2004 11:16 PM

I would suggest using slots 1-3 with any single channel chipset or in this case CPU. It will help with addressing the memory. And I believe it is suggested in the manual.

m4tr1x 01-31-2004 10:46 AM

OK Thanks, I'll put it back to 1&3 but I think the manual says you can go either way. Again thanks for all the suggestions!

RAM GUY 02-03-2004 10:15 PM

No problem! Please let me know how you make out or if you have any problems!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.