Corsair Community

Corsair CMFSSD-64N1

JUGGY

I have just aquired one of these as my first SSD. A gift from a friend.

What I would like to know is before I install Windows 7 on it is there a firmware update or anything I should know or do to prep the drive before I do anything with it?

There is no way for a user to update the firmware on any Corsair SSD at this time. They are working on it.

Don't full format it.

So absolutely nothing needs to be done not even the HDDErase tool?

Pardon the silly questions, I'm very new to SSD's.

• Corsair Employee
I would just connect it to another system and Quick format the drive and then test the performance with Atto to be sure it is performing properly. And I would only use HDD Erase if there was some reason to like the performance was poor.

Thanks for all the help.

The M64 is slow so I've upgraded to the 256GB PM800 Samsung that I believe is the same as the P256 Corsair.

Am I right in assuming that?

Also, I have firmware revision VBM94D1Q on the drive, is there an update and if so where can I get it?

Don't full format it.

I am new to SSD too and just bought me a P256 - Firmware on the label says VBM18C1Q which I understand is the latest. The drive is waiting for Windows 7 to come out and I already did a full NTFS format. I did that to see if the drive is working and be prepared for the install of Win7x64.

Why do you recommend not doing a full format? Since I did that already, what do you suggest to do? I know TRIM is not supported but this drive with the latest firmware is doing a internal "Samsung TRIM" at an idle state.

Thank you for your answer.

I wouldn't worry about having done a full format - the important thing is "how" you did the full format. Did you put the drive in as a secondary drive and format it from an already operating OS or did you format the drive as a primary (as though you were going to install a new OS) and if it is the former what OS were you using to format the drive?