The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2019, 06:07 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022294
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default Only RGB from Fan 1 of 3 (CoPro and RGB Hub)

Having searched an read much of what has gone before I think this warrants a new thread due to the setup:

Issue: I can only get RGB lighting from Fan 1 (of 3) when connected to the RGB hub. I have tried all 3 fans in port 1 and they all get RGB in that pot but only that fan. ALL FANS SPIN UP.

I have connected the following:
3 HD120 fans into the RGB hub with 3 pin cables and 4 pin cables on the CoPro
RGB hub into LED 2 on CoPro
CoPro detected in iCue and I setup 3 HD120s on Lighting Channel 2 with raindow effect
CoPro did a firmware update too so i completed this before setting up the fans in iCue.
Both RGB Hub and CoPro are on their own single sata cable from the brand new corsair 750w PSU

Testing:
  • All fans spin
  • All fans RGB work in port 1 on the RGB hub (no RGB from other fans
  • I have re ordered the fans on the RGB hub connecting in ports 1 2 3 but only port 1 will work for RGB.
  • Prior to the CoPro introduction, fans all worked correctly using the RGB hub and the HD lighting controller.
  • iCue up to date
  • CoPro Firmware up to date

What have I done wrong?
All fans work (if in port 1 on the RGB hub) so it must be a connection or software issue.

I note that in icue all 3 fans display but only one is achieving 12v the rest are much lower.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-10-25 105514.jpg (82.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-10-25 105537.jpg (112.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-10-25 105600.jpg (21.4 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-10-25 105723.jpg (27.7 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg Annotation 2019-10-25 105910.jpg (78.8 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by disocpete; 10-25-2019 at 06:12 AM. Reason: screenshots
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-25-2019, 06:15 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022295
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

supplimentry test - thought it was a power issue.

moved the RGB HUB onto another sata cable but this hasnt acheievd anymore.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-25-2019, 08:30 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022301
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

Would connecting the fans back onto the mobo headers provide more power? / solve the issue?

Gigabyte z270-hd3p is the mobo model
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-25-2019, 09:01 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022302
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

nope same issue powering fans off motherboards sys_fan connectors
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-25-2019, 09:07 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022303
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

Same result with Corsair Link (icue uninstalled)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-25-2019, 09:50 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022304
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

ok something has happened

I now have RGB to 2 fans (slots 1 and 2 on the RGB Hub) but the second is just white except for 2 of the leds, 1 is yellow and 1 is pink - constant colour for all leds on that second fan. the 3rd is still dark.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-25-2019, 10:15 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022307
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

Ok for fun i powered off and connected the lighting control back instead of the CoPro. Now just 1 fan has full colour the next one only has one led lit and the 3rd is dark.

dodgy fan?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-31-2019, 07:50 PM
Corsair Mike's Avatar
Corsair Mike Corsair Mike is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 173
POST ID # = 1022807
Corsair Mike Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Disocpete,

Could be a bad LED on the 2nd fan. You can test by swapping fan 2 and 3 on the hub. if it doesn't help it's likely the hub itself.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-01-2019, 12:05 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022817
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

All the fans work if in slot 1 of the hub so I think it's that
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-01-2019, 08:54 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,810
POST ID # = 1022837
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disocpete View Post
All the fans work if in slot 1 of the hub so I think it's that
Just because they all work individually in slot 1 doesn't mean that they are good. The fans pass signal to the next fan in line and this is what typically turns out to be the issue. So you need a known good fan (that works in slot 1) on slot 2 AND verify that the fan works in slot 1.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-01-2019, 09:13 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1022838
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

But as I've said, each fna in slot 1 works but none of the others do in slots 2 and 3 so how can I determine a bad fan when I get all the same results with the fans in the slots as you describe.

Logged with support so hopefully they'll sort me out (rma)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-21-2019, 07:53 AM
disocpete disocpete is offline
Registered User
disocpete's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1024701
disocpete Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair have RMA'd the fans for me- got new ones. all working, now waiting for a new CoPro <> RGB Hub cable (doh) and then I'll be in business. The fans are working off the RGB controller for now.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
1fan, copro, hd120, icue, rgbhub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.