The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:40 PM
fatum2002 fatum2002 is offline
Registered User
fatum2002's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018476
fatum2002 Reputation: 10
Default MP510 ECFM12.2 to 22.5 - Firmware update failed

I have MP510 with Win10 installed on it.
There are two other drives: Crucial MX500 and WD HDD.
Corsair SSD Toolbox v1.2.5.7
Toolbox reports that there is update for SSD from version 12.2 to version 22.5.


When I click update it downloads firmware, but then fails during installation.



What am I missing? Is it because W10 is installed on this drive? I checked BIOS and SATA is in AHCI mode.

Please advice on how to update the firmware.
Attached Images
File Type: png ssd.png (72.5 KB, 725 views)
File Type: png ssd2.png (13.0 KB, 723 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-17-2019, 02:22 PM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 1018479
Yemble Reputation: 8
Default

AFAIK, the latest firmware for the MP510 is ECFM12.3 (see my other posts https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=188547 ).

ECFM22.5 just sounds completely wrong. Google it and you will get no results.

Just another Corsair software screw-up I fear
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-17-2019, 02:32 PM
fatum2002 fatum2002 is offline
Registered User
fatum2002's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018481
fatum2002 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yemble View Post
AFAIK, the latest firmware for the MP510 is ECFM12.3 (see my other posts https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=188547 ).

ECFM22.5 just sounds completely wrong. Google it and you will get no results.

Just another Corsair software screw-up I fear
Are you talking about this thread https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=188547 ?

Would you recoomend to update from 12.2 to 12.3.

Thread https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/th...ller.18859737/ says that firmware update is destructive and I will loose all my data. I don't want to re-install windows and all the software again...

As I understand you used Phison utility for that?

Thanks.

Actually, nevermind, I already upgraded to 12.3 following your advice... Everything went smooth and easy. Data is wiped only when updated from version 11.

Last edited by fatum2002; 09-17-2019 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-17-2019, 05:06 PM
Zink Zink is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1018493
Zink Reputation: 10
Default

I get the same problem it wants me to upgrade to ECFM22.5 from ECFM12.3 but it fails the upgrade.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-18-2019, 12:44 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1018577
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Hi all, this was a bug in the updater, and was fixed last night. 12.3 is the newest firmware for the MP510, so please disregard.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-18-2019, 05:04 PM
gregsoir gregsoir is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1018603
gregsoir Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Hi all, this was a bug in the updater, and was fixed last night. 12.3 is the newest firmware for the MP510, so please disregard.

Thank you!
I'm getting the same error when trying to update from 12.2 to 12.3 via official updater. Still a bug? it says "firmware update failed"
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-19-2019, 12:54 AM
Furyan's Avatar
Furyan Furyan is offline
Registered User
Furyan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1018653
Furyan Reputation: 10
Default

I was initially getting the same thing, failure to download firmware 22.5.

I just ran Corsair SSD Toolbox again and it correctly saw 12.3 (so fix worked) and it downloaded and installed without any problem, required a restart. I upgraded my C: (OS) drive, running Windows 10.

Last edited by Furyan; 09-20-2019 at 06:58 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:41 PM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1018734
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsoir View Post
I'm getting the same error when trying to update from 12.2 to 12.3 via official updater. Still a bug? it says "firmware update failed"
It should work, but I can follow up with the driver team. Can you give it another shot after rebooting?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-20-2019, 07:00 AM
Furyan's Avatar
Furyan Furyan is offline
Registered User
Furyan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1018827
Furyan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
It should work, but I can follow up with the driver team. Can you give it another shot after rebooting?
Any chance you can give us an idea of what was updated/fixed with 12.3?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-21-2019, 06:18 PM
gregsoir gregsoir is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1018926
gregsoir Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
It should work, but I can follow up with the driver team. Can you give it another shot after rebooting?
i rebooted and it now shows I got 12.3 installed...

but anyway, yeah, what changed in 12.3? are there any changlogs available?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-25-2019, 06:58 PM
gooral22 gooral22 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1019275
gooral22 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi. Cananybody tell me if that is ok ?
I have MP510 with Win10 installed on it.

Corsair SSD Toolbox v1.2.5.7
Toolbox reports that my firmware version is 22.5.
Crystal Disk info reports the same.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-01-2019, 02:57 PM
joelslaw joelslaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019873
joelslaw Reputation: 10
Default Still having issue

My drive is still failing to update. When I try to update it is showing the available firmware version as 22.5, not 12.3. See the screenshots below. I am on SSD Toolbox version 1.2.5.7 and have restarted. Even tried uninstalling and reinstalling SSD Toolbox and restarting again. No change.








Update 10/10/2019: Just wanted to let you know, I tried again today and the update to 12.3 went fine. It was probably due to the caching issue "Corsair Kevin" mentioned below. Unfortunately I didn't see that post till just now. But it looks like the caching issue resolved itself over time. All is good now. Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ssd toolbox 1.jpg (89.3 KB, 329 views)
File Type: jpg ssd toolbox 2.jpg (21.3 KB, 324 views)
File Type: jpg ssd toolbox 3.jpg (39.9 KB, 325 views)

Last edited by joelslaw; 10-10-2019 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Status Update
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-02-2019, 10:57 AM
Corsair Kevin's Avatar
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 1019966
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

This is likely due to a caching issue. Try the steps in this post:

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpos...2&postcount=16
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-09-2019, 08:23 AM
indubioproretro indubioproretro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1020773
indubioproretro Reputation: 10
Default MP510 Corsair SSD Toolbox no options avail

Hey there.

I installed an MP510 with 960GB in my new ASUS GU502G past weekend, and restored Windows with an image I made before. This far - no problems at all. System is fast and reliable as before. Installed the latest version of the SSD Toolbox from the Corsair website.

But - the Corsair SSD Toolbox does not show all infos. I don`t get temperature readings nor infos about how many bits and bytes have been written before.

The firmware version installed shows EFCM22.5. The button for upgrade is not avail. Installed the toolbox three times - all with the same problems. Tried the troubleshoot explained above - didn`t helped.

Any idea?

Thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: png SSD Toolbox.png (202.3 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by indubioproretro; 10-09-2019 at 08:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:24 AM
indubioproretro indubioproretro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021456
indubioproretro Reputation: 10
Default

And I made a clean install of Windows 10 (1903) this week on this MP510 SSD - and again the Corsair SSD Toolbox (1.2.5.7) and CrystalDisk SSD Info show me, that this SSD has the firmware "ECFM22.5" installed.

I can hit the update button, but this only tells me that I already have the latest firmware installed. Rebooting, or "abuse" of the ipconfig tool didn't helb either...
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fail, firmware, mp510, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.