The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2019, 01:14 AM
Brad007 Brad007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 992986
Brad007 Reputation: 10
Question Is an iCUE compatible Motherboard a thing?

Hey people,

I have never written in a forum before and I'm not sure if this is the right sub-forum for this.

Here's the thing, I'm am planning on doing my first build ever and I've been doing so much research on anything and everything, including RGB stuff which is why I want to do the full corsair RGB build. I noticed the MSI has a corsair header on their motherboards and I assume its for iCUE stuff.

Its fine if I control the moherboard RGB and GPU RGB independent of the corsair stuff. but my concern is I won't be able to connect and control all my iCUE items and use the full advantage of the iCUE software of syncing them together to make cool custom profiles and not the generic preset ones.

I know this is a lot and not exactly laid out well...

So to sum it up I guess. I need a motherboard that will let me use the 6 case fans, the AIO (2 of those fans are on here), the RAM, and any LED strips I install to be synced through iCUE.

Thank you!! :P

Last edited by Brad007; 02-07-2019 at 01:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2019, 02:03 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,502
POST ID # = 992989
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The Corsair header on MSI motherboards will allow you to control Corsair RGB devices from MSI Mystic Light. They are not controlled by iCUE.

Beyond that ... Corsair devices should work with any motherboard that has enough USB ports. Since you've not been specific about the exact parts you are looking at, we can't say anything beyond that. For example ... what fans? what aio? what motherboard? Have you purchased anything?

And check out the RGB FAQ at http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2019, 02:28 AM
Brad007 Brad007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 992993
Brad007 Reputation: 10
Default

Oh well if its controlled through a USB on the motherboard then that's all I really needed to know. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.