The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2019, 03:04 AM
Alpha_Knugen Alpha_Knugen is offline
Registered User
Alpha_Knugen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 1010427
Alpha_Knugen Reputation: 10
Question Question about airbubbles.

I got 2 airbubbles or airgaps in my hydrox loop:
https://streamable.com/96gy4
https://streamable.com/gbb9p
Filmed with phone so might be **** quality

Im guessing this makes the water circulate slower or does it keep the same speed so it wouldnt affect performance?

Would like to know this as im not so comfy with starting the system up completly whit air in the loop and would also be nice to know if there is a easy way to get the air out.

from time of writing the pump has been on for 12 hours straight
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2019, 03:30 AM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 181
POST ID # = 1010429
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

Jiggle, tilt, turn on/off, vary pump speed... that's about it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2019, 04:32 AM
Alpha_Knugen Alpha_Knugen is offline
Registered User
Alpha_Knugen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 1010431
Alpha_Knugen Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaiseP View Post
Jiggle, tilt, turn on/off, vary pump speed... that's about it.
and how do i vary pump speed without turning the pc on? or is it safe to start the pc even with the airbubbles?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2019, 07:39 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,238
POST ID # = 1010443
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The micro air bubbles are pretty much unavoidable. Those may take weeks to slowly dissolve. As for anything large that might actually pose an obstruction, when you power on with the jumper that pump should come on full blast right now. That should dislodge anything that is actually an impediment. Once you are done leak testings and are finally up and running, you will be able to use iCUE to control the pump. Drop it to 1000 rpm. Wait 5 seconds. Set it 4000 rpm. Whoosh. Let it run for 30 seconds and repeat. You won't get them all, but anything in the way should get pushed aside by the pressure change.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2019, 09:10 AM
Alpha_Knugen Alpha_Knugen is offline
Registered User
Alpha_Knugen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 1010454
Alpha_Knugen Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
The micro air bubbles are pretty much unavoidable. Those may take weeks to slowly dissolve. As for anything large that might actually pose an obstruction, when you power on with the jumper that pump should come on full blast right now. That should dislodge anything that is actually an impediment. Once you are done leak testings and are finally up and running, you will be able to use iCUE to control the pump. Drop it to 1000 rpm. Wait 5 seconds. Set it 4000 rpm. Whoosh. Let it run for 30 seconds and repeat. You won't get them all, but anything in the way should get pushed aside by the pressure change.
Okey thanks i will do this and the pump has been running for over 13 hours so i guess its fine then and i will install windoes and so on it and try that with ICUE.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2019, 11:46 AM
eisenb11 eisenb11 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 1011332
eisenb11 Reputation: 10
Default

I think you’re referring to the big (1 inch?) air gap in the video?

I think that that’s due to the length of the drop - you have a long drop to your res and given how much fluid is in the system, the pump appears to be pumping liquid in slower than gravity can drop it.

Not sure if a higher pump speed will help. Adding more liquid to fill the loop would help, but you probably need another fill port located higher in your loop because I’m guessing that when you turn off your system, the liquid in the vertical drop likely fills the res up so you can’t add more.

It’s also possible, it’s just an air bubble and not feed related. If that’s the case just give it time and these things usually clear up on their own.

Just my guess!

--

Edit: So I just watched the video again - a higher flow rate may help it disappear faster. It's been 3-4 weeks since I built my last loop and I still have some air in the system - a lot less than before though, just a slow process.

Last edited by eisenb11; 07-15-2019 at 01:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2019, 07:47 PM
JonKrmr JonKrmr is offline
Registered User
JonKrmr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
POST ID # = 1011528
JonKrmr Reputation: 10
Default

Look at your graphic card blocks and see if the flow indicator in them are spinning.

This really looks like a pump flow issue. The pump should be able to flow .5 - 1.0 GPM in your system depending on total system restriction and even at .5 GPM that would be enough pressure to keep that size of a air bubble/gap in your return to the res.

The pump should be pulling enough fluid at the bottom of the res for this to not be happening (the air bubbles would be pulled into the res and possibly back into the pump intake at the bottom of the res before floating to the top of the res).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, water loop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.