The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2019, 09:56 AM
Thomas7 Thomas7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027102
Thomas7 Reputation: 10
Idea Carbide 275R front panel modification

Hi guys,

I would like to change the front panel of my 275R with something identical to the 220T case, for a better airflow.

I saw this: https://www.corsair.com/fr/fr/Cat%C3...k/p/CC-8900393

Would it be possible? Your opinion?

Thanks in advance !

Last edited by Thomas7; 12-11-2019 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-11-2019, 12:49 PM
JonKrmr JonKrmr is offline
Registered User
JonKrmr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 1027114
JonKrmr Reputation: 10
Default

Most likely not.

First, the two cases are different dimentions. The 275R is 17.91" tall x 8.46" wide and the 220T is 17.71" tall x 8.27" wide.

Second the holes and layout of the front frame of the two cases are different and would most likely need to drill new mounting holes \ modify the front of the 275R chassis to make it work.

Third, you would loose your power button\IO ports on the top front of the case of the 275R as they are part of the front bezel of that case. The 220T has them in the top portion of the metal case.

The biggest hurdle though would be the difference in case dimentions.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-11-2019, 06:21 PM
Thomas7 Thomas7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027153
Thomas7 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for everything !!!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-12-2019, 09:34 AM
Kuga_ZA Kuga_ZA is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027223
Kuga_ZA Reputation: 10
Default

Instead of making a new thread, thought I'd ask here.

Also have the Carbide 275R, would the front panel from the 275R Airflow edition fit on it?

I love the original 275R, but always felt it was suffocating. So instead of buying a whole new case, I was hoping that it's just a matter of buying the front panel of the 275R Airflow, and switching it out.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-13-2019, 01:05 PM
JonKrmr JonKrmr is offline
Registered User
JonKrmr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 1027359
JonKrmr Reputation: 10
Default

I was wondering that my self as I am using the 275R TB case for my wife's PC. I did some research comparing the front area on the two cases and and the answer is no, at least not directly without a bit of modification\drilling on the 275R front chassis.

Even thought the 2 cases are essentially the same base chassis, there are small differences on the front of the chassis of the 275 Airflow model.

There are screw holes & pin locator holes that are not present on the front chassis of the 275R that are on the Airflow model used for mounting the IO module & front panel.

It looks like you could drill new holes on the 275R model to allow the Airflow front cover to fit but you would also need to order a new IO panel as the two IO panels between the two models are different.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-14-2019, 07:21 PM
Thomas7 Thomas7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1027522
Thomas7 Reputation: 10
Default

We should ask Corsair to release a meshed front panel to improve the airflow of this solid case :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
275r

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.