The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2012, 03:08 AM
zsde's Avatar
zsde zsde is offline
Registered User
zsde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 579263
zsde Reputation: 10
Default Corsair VS450 Power Supply (CP-9020009)

Maybe Corsair needs to clarify some contradictory information.
Stumbled upon the VS450 PSU and upon further investigation found some gross errors in the technical specifications.
Firstly on the Corsair site http://www.corsair.com/builder-serie...er-supply.html
The technical specs state a single 12V rail supply. This is listed as 22A (360W) 360W on the 12V rail = 30A. 22A on the 12V rail = 264W One of the values needs correction.
Then some further searching resulted in the following:
http://www.360buy.com/bigimage.aspx?id=568742
Same PSU, same model number and now we have a dual rail supply with 21A and 18A respectively on the 2 12V rails.
Are these two different products ? If so, why the same model number ?

The Corsair site states clearly
Quote:
And, a dedicated single +12V rail saves you from the hassle of balancing your components across multiple power cables.
Would like some clarification as I am considering this one for a lower end PC.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-21-2012, 06:48 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 579769
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry but this PSU is no longer in production and I doubt we would be able to update that information. However the 12 Volt rail in total will produce 360 watts and the EPS 12 Volt and PCI-E both use 12 Volt power but the rating on the label is just for the PCI-E cables.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 05-23-2012 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-22-2012, 01:07 PM
zsde's Avatar
zsde zsde is offline
Registered User
zsde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 579897
zsde Reputation: 10
Default

Based on your info, you may as well close this thread.
I think you missed half my question ?
http://www.corsair.com/builder-serie...er-supply.html the official Corsair site states
Quote:
And, a dedicated single +12V rail saves you from the hassle of balancing your components across multiple power cables.
That means a single 12V rail. Your response seems to indicate that the product in this link was incorrectly advertised as a single rail 12V PSU.
Your response leads me to believe that the non Corsair link is correct, and that it is/was indeed a dual rail 12V PSU.
I shall stay clear of it, as my local supplier has them but the label on the side still shows a single 12V rail, same as your site.

Last edited by zsde; 05-22-2012 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-23-2012, 05:31 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 580012
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

They are a single rail PSU Look at the chart. The 12v+ is rated for 360w. Then you add the 3.3. and 5w rails at 120w. the total is roughly 450w total.

If it were a multi rail PSU the 360w 12v+ would be split into two equal rails at 180v a piece..

Ignore the -12. that is not a "rail"

Last edited by peanutz94; 05-23-2012 at 05:35 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2012, 07:28 AM
zsde's Avatar
zsde zsde is offline
Registered User
zsde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 580034
zsde Reputation: 10
Default

All interesting comments. 360W on the 12V rail means 30A.
Yet there is no explanation as to the following. Which one is the real McCoy.?
Same part number.



Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2012, 05:14 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 580154
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Ahh, now i see where the confusion is....

Maybe RamGuy will have an explanation. Either one of them is on older/newer model or one is not as you say "The Real McCoy"
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-23-2012, 11:17 PM
zsde's Avatar
zsde zsde is offline
Registered User
zsde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 580229
zsde Reputation: 10
Default

The VS450 seems to be a new supply. The VX was discontinued and then this one started appearing recently. So I doubt its a discontinued series as originally stated.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-24-2012, 02:45 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 580398
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let me get back with you on this one. Might have been a mis print from our website, I will have to clarify this with both Engineering and Marketing.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:12 AM
psiphi psiphi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 581657
psiphi Reputation: 10
Default

Hi RAM GUY. Could you please update us on this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-26-2012, 12:05 PM
zsde's Avatar
zsde zsde is offline
Registered User
zsde's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 586689
zsde Reputation: 10
Default

hi Ram Guy,
Its been quite a while since your promise to get back on this.
Is Corsair prepared to comment on this ?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-26-2012, 05:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 586753
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The model CMPSU-450VX has been discontinued and is no longer available from us. Now that is not to say that some resellers may still have inventory and if so would still be a viable product just we are not manufacturing that model any more.

However This model is a Europe/Asian only version that was made for Europe and Asia Only according to the label and I would not have any information on this unit other than that. It will only support 230-220 VAC it will not run at 110 Volts so it was not sold in Western Block Countries.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 06-26-2012 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.