The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Legacy Corsair Software

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 25 votes, 4.96 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 04-26-2015, 04:09 PM
Proffo Proffo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
POST ID # = 775493
Proffo Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Keep in mind that the NDA is still in effect. Beta testers cannot talk about any privileged information.
I'll expect no answer then.

It's all a bit "Top Secret" isn't it ? I'm sure your competitors don't want to know what went wrong anyway !


  #62  
Old 04-26-2015, 04:39 PM
remilton remilton is offline
Registered User
remilton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 122
POST ID # = 775499
remilton Reputation: 10
Default

As I have previously said this has not really been a deal breaker for me (the flickering) but I have come to a decision. Seeing that I still have a perfectly good K90 KB sitting around doing nothing, My K95 is being returned tomorrow and I will wait for Corsair to fix their problem which I am sure they will. Every company occasionally makes mistakes and over all Corsair makes superior products. I will anxiously await their KB revision.

Edit 5/9/15:
Changed my mind. Staying with my K95 RGB.

Last edited by remilton; 05-09-2015 at 10:41 PM.


  #63  
Old 04-26-2015, 04:46 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,306
POST ID # = 775502
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

End of the day this is wants going to happen.

Their going to make more RGB keyboards, duh.
Their going to fix the issues with the first one, duh.
Their not going to do anything about the lack of colors other then offer a refund, duh.

Now the technical side of why things dont work.
Im a cat i dont understand complex things meow.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support


  #64  
Old 04-26-2015, 05:09 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 775505
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

At the end of the day,its just a keyboard...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1


  #65  
Old 04-26-2015, 05:29 PM
Proffo Proffo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
POST ID # = 775510
Proffo Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
End of the day this is wants going to happen.

Their going to make more RGB keyboards, duh.
Their going to fix the issues with the first one, duh.
Their not going to do anything about the lack of colors other then offer a refund, duh.

Now the technical side of why things dont work.
Im a cat i dont understand complex things meow.

It's "they're", not "their", duh.

Oh, and at the end of the day it's time for sleep. Goodnight !


  #66  
Old 04-26-2015, 07:38 PM
Jucko13 Jucko13 is offline
Registered User
Jucko13's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 775534
Jucko13 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, I just found out why (I think) the keyboard is flickering with the new update. What they did to achieve the 16.8m colors is to change the protocol (not that much tho). What they previously did was sending a 64byte packet 5 times with all the RGB codes. When you select the 16.8m color option in the GUI of corsair it will send 12 packets of 64bytes.

They use a bulkmessage to send the 12 packets as fast as posible but the hardware cant really handle that much information at the same time. What i did in my own software is add a really small delay (5 milliseconds) between every 4 packets (so 3x a delay) and that removed the flickering for my software.

maybe someone from corsair is reading this and can fix it by just a little software update ;)

Here is a screenshot of the simple GUI i made (just for programming profiles when im not at home) http://i.imgur.com/BDYba5V.png


2 members found this post helpful.
  #67  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:06 PM
delslow delslow is offline
Registered User
delslow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Buena Park, CA
Posts: 97
POST ID # = 775536
delslow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jucko13 View Post
Ok, I just found out why (I think) the keyboard is flickering with the new update. What they did to achieve the 16.8m colors is to change the protocol (not that much tho). What they previously did was sending a 64byte packet 5 times with all the RGB codes. When you select the 16.8m color option in the GUI of corsair it will send 12 packets of 64bytes.

They use a bulkmessage to send the 12 packets as fast as posible but the hardware cant really handle that much information at the same time. What i did in my own software is add a really small delay (5 milliseconds) between every 4 packets (so 3x a delay) and that removed the flickering for my software.

maybe someone from corsair is reading this and can fix it by just a little software update ;)

Here is a screenshot of the simple GUI i made (just for programming profiles when im not at home) http://i.imgur.com/BDYba5V.png
You know if this works, it would make Corsair look really bad. I'm gonna assume, no, it doesn't work for CUE because.


  #68  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:07 PM
ScarredMecha ScarredMecha is offline
Registered User
ScarredMecha's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,162
POST ID # = 775537
ScarredMecha Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jucko13 View Post
Ok, I just found out why (I think) the keyboard is flickering with the new update. What they did to achieve the 16.8m colors is to change the protocol (not that much tho). What they previously did was sending a 64byte packet 5 times with all the RGB codes. When you select the 16.8m color option in the GUI of corsair it will send 12 packets of 64bytes.

They use a bulkmessage to send the 12 packets as fast as posible but the hardware cant really handle that much information at the same time. What i did in my own software is add a really small delay (5 milliseconds) between every 4 packets (so 3x a delay) and that removed the flickering for my software.

maybe someone from corsair is reading this and can fix it by just a little software update ;)

Here is a screenshot of the simple GUI i made (just for programming profiles when im not at home) http://i.imgur.com/BDYba5V.png
You should make this available to everyone, it looks really good!
__________________
Click the picture for some nice simple color scheme profiles!



  #69  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:15 PM
Jucko13 Jucko13 is offline
Registered User
Jucko13's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 775539
Jucko13 Reputation: 10
Default

The flickering is sometimes back but it's almost gone. and when its back you almost do not notice it.

but after some testing it is really much much much better than the CUE xD


  #70  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:21 PM
Jucko13 Jucko13 is offline
Registered User
Jucko13's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 775540
Jucko13 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reapexx View Post
You should make this available to everyone, it looks really good!
What the problem with my GUI is, is that it's made in Visual Basic 6.0

I want to put this code online but the change of creating problems with the libusb drivers are way too high right now. When im done with some c++ tutorials maybe this will be ported to c++ but for now i will keep working in VB6.

oh btw, it looks like all the colors (16.8m) are there but im not that sure yet. Testing an rainbow effect with over 2000 points and its really smooth. Finally


  #71  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:48 PM
delslow delslow is offline
Registered User
delslow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Buena Park, CA
Posts: 97
POST ID # = 775544
delslow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jucko13 View Post
What the problem with my GUI is, is that it's made in Visual Basic 6.0

I want to put this code online but the change of creating problems with the libusb drivers are way too high right now. When im done with some c++ tutorials maybe this will be ported to c++ but for now i will keep working in VB6.

oh btw, it looks like all the colors (16.8m) are there but im not that sure yet. Testing an rainbow effect with over 2000 points and its really smooth. Finally
Oh Jucko13, you got my hopes up... maybe someone from Corsair will contact you and ask for your advice?


  #72  
Old 04-26-2015, 11:07 PM
egret85 egret85 is offline
Registered User
egret85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 775565
egret85 Reputation: 10
Default

Since the flickering is basically tied to what a specific lighting is occurring, corsair should make the 16.8 mil color setting part of the lighting settings for a mode instead of it being a global setting. This would allow us to enable or disable the setting based on the lighting that is being used for a mode and thus we could have it enabled when lighting isn't that complex and does not cause flickering and could disable it with lighting that causes the flickering. Since the setting is already applied live, this should be that hard of a change to make.


  #73  
Old 04-27-2015, 04:31 AM
Jong Jong is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 775632
Jong Reputation: 10
Default

For the record I'm very happy with 512 colours. - works for me although I understand some will have bought with different expectations and it's good Corsair are offering refunds to those people.

But what I don't understand is why the "old" mode seems to be 3x3x3 colors, but the new mode is 8x8x8. If the top bit was not useable I'd expect 7x7x7 or 2M colors. Does this mean there might be the possibility of 4x4x4 at least? Maybe there is a good reason, maybe it's felt a waste of time, because it wouldn't satisfy those demanding 16M. But 8 times as many colors would still be nice for most of us and could (presumably) be the new baseline.


  #74  
Old 04-27-2015, 10:13 AM
Elefantito Elefantito is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 775683
Elefantito Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jong View Post
For the record I'm very happy with 512 colours. - works for me although I understand some will have bought with different expectations and it's good Corsair are offering refunds to those people.

But what I don't understand is why the "old" mode seems to be 3x3x3 colors, but the new mode is 8x8x8. If the top bit was not useable I'd expect 7x7x7 or 2M colors. Does this mean there might be the possibility of 4x4x4 at least? Maybe there is a good reason, maybe it's felt a waste of time, because it wouldn't satisfy those demanding 16M. But 8 times as many colors would still be nice for most of us and could (presumably) be the new baseline.
A user from the forums said that they looked at that possibility and that it was deemed not possible.
Why? I don't know, it makes perfect sense to improve the 512 color range to something less taxing than 16.8M, say 16bit (65k) while keeping the flickering away.

At least we have all the cards on the table now, this is as good as this keyboard gets.


  #75  
Old 04-27-2015, 10:22 AM
Jong Jong is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 775687
Jong Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, I did see that and quite possibly there is a very good reason. Still, I find it odd that the current implementation seems to use 3 bits per channel, yet the 16.8M mode uses 8 bits per channel. 3 bits is a strange number. I wasn't involved in the beta and so had no access to the beta forums, but it could be that they were only looking at numbers close to 16M and 6 or 7 bits per channel WERE impossible and/or wouldn't help with performance. On the other hand 4 bits (which is a more logical "computer friendly" number, normally) might just be possible.

On the other, other hand(!) they might just not want to open that can of worms!


 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.