The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2016, 12:54 PM
Altered Altered is offline
Registered User
Altered's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 832813
Altered Reputation: 10
Default Big Trouble. Uncompatible 100i GTX on ASUS Z170 PRO.

Hello,

I have a big problem. I think that Corsair 100i GTX is uncompatible with the motherboard Asus Z170 (LGA 1151).
I was just trying to install the screws and have there a loose space of 3-5mm.
I read that i just have to adjust, but now i cant unscrew.
Instructions dont say anything about that, so I have a new computer and i cant remove the screws. I turn the screws but I cant get them out the backplate.
In Spain we havent any kind of corsair technical support.
I am really "worried".
Someone have the same problem?
Please, help.

Last edited by Altered; 01-23-2016 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-23-2016, 05:36 PM
RetrogamerX RetrogamerX is offline
Registered User
RetrogamerX's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 154
POST ID # = 832855
RetrogamerX Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altered View Post
Hello,

I have a big problem. I think that Corsair 100i GTX is uncompatible with the motherboard Asus Z170 (LGA 1151).
I was just trying to install the screws and have there a loose space of 3-5mm.
I read that i just have to adjust, but now i cant unscrew.
Instructions dont say anything about that, so I have a new computer and i cant remove the screws. I turn the screws but I cant get them out the backplate.
https://youtu.be/FQ5MX3nvwB0
In Spain we havent any kind of corsair technical support.
I am really "worried".
Someone have the same problem?
Please, help.


This is why a H100i V2 is being released. Seems to be some compatibility issues with socket 1151
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-24-2016, 03:21 AM
Datakiller24 Datakiller24 is offline
Registered User
Datakiller24's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 87
POST ID # = 832899
Datakiller24 Reputation: 16
Default

Hi,

Please post pictures about the back of the board also.

Thanks,

BR,

Peter
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-24-2016, 06:54 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,481
POST ID # = 832917
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

1151 issues were only with certain ITX boards but unrelated to the standoffs seen in the video. From what I can tell there's something wrong with the bracket as it shouldn't be that loose. Make sure the rear bracket is mounted in correctly with consideration to the screws. If you still have problems, contact our support and we can help.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-24-2016, 06:55 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,334
POST ID # = 832918
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

You can use needle nosed pliers to unscrew the stand-off from the backplate.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:05 AM
Altered Altered is offline
Registered User
Altered's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 833120
Altered Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Datakiller24 View Post
Hi,

Please post pictures about the back of the board also.

Thanks,

BR,

Peter
Hello Peter,

According with the instructions/guide its in the correct position:

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BAckplate.jpg (1.43 MB, 164 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:12 AM
Altered Altered is offline
Registered User
Altered's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 833123
Altered Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
1151 issues were only with certain ITX boards but unrelated to the standoffs seen in the video. From what I can tell there's something wrong with the bracket as it shouldn't be that loose. Make sure the rear bracket is mounted in correctly with consideration to the screws. If you still have problems, contact our support and we can help.
Hello,
Yes, but I have a standard ATX Asus Z170 Pro, and I have that problem. I am sure, I used the appropriate screws in the right position.
Now I don't know how to remove this backplate.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-25-2016, 11:20 AM
Datakiller24 Datakiller24 is offline
Registered User
Datakiller24's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 87
POST ID # = 833153
Datakiller24 Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altered View Post
Hello Peter,

According with the instructions/guide its in the correct position:

Thanks
Hi Altered,

Try to hold by hand the coolers backplate, and with a proper tool (female hex) or as Toasted wrote with needle nosed pliers just loosen the standoffs. Anyway, I have this cooler on my board, it was loosen also when I tightened the standoffs to the backplate. But after installing the CPU block everything holds well. (are the standoffs tightened well? are the threads on them ok?)

Also, if You check the corsair installation guide for this cooler, there is also mentioned that it can be loose and that´s not a fault.

http://www.corsair.com/en/blog/2015/...00i_gtx_how_to

Check the guide, maybe You can install the cooler and try if it holds well. If it´s loosen (You can do firm rotation with low force ...) than there is really a problem.

BR,

Peter
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.