The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2019, 11:43 AM
mgivot mgivot is offline
Mgivot
mgivot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Orange County Ca
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1028345
mgivot Reputation: 10
Default 10 RGB QL Fans - Need some help setting up

Hello, I am new to all this but really needed to build a new machine to handle my workload in my production business. My understanding of building a computer is definitely new. I like many others I am sure also have a slight case of OCD. Here is my question.

I recently had bought RGB ML Fans and a Commander Pro for my Lian Li Dynamic XL but realized that they do not look good in the intake position. So I used those in my old machine and ran out and got 10 of the RGB QL fans. However, I noticed that the setup is a little different. My question is if I plug the CORSAIR Lighting Node CORE (came with the QL 3 Pack) into the available USB hubs of my commander pro will that wok? Lastly, I have a total of 10 fans. I have 12 RGB ports via the 2x CORSAIR Lighting Node CORE, but commander Pro only has room for 6 Fans total? Can I use a splitter and run all 10 or should I get another Commander pro? Any help would be amazing. Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-24-2019, 03:40 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,772
POST ID # = 1028493
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Yes, the Lighting Node Cores will work connected to the Commander Pro's USB ports.

You can also get/use RGB Fan LED Hubs with the QL-RGB fans and just use the CoPro's Lighting Channels.

As for the 10 fans on the CoPro - that's pushing it. You can try doing that ... no more than 2 on a header ... but we usually recommend no more than 9. That said, I'm running 10 (6 ML and 4 QL) from a single Commander Pro. Another option is to use a powered PWM fan hub for a set of fans that you want to control together. This takes care of the power for the fans.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-12-2020, 01:10 AM
hwydrifter hwydrifter is offline
Registered User
hwydrifter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1045725
hwydrifter Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yes, the Lighting Node Cores will work connected to the Commander Pro's USB ports.

You can also get/use RGB Fan LED Hubs with the QL-RGB fans and just use the CoPro's Lighting Channels.

As for the 10 fans on the CoPro - that's pushing it. You can try doing that ... no more than 2 on a header ... but we usually recommend no more than 9. That said, I'm running 10 (6 ML and 4 QL) from a single Commander Pro. Another option is to use a powered PWM fan hub for a set of fans that you want to control together. This takes care of the power for the fans.
I'm looking for this exact setup... will I be able to run all 10 fans using 2x lighting pro boxes and have them all synced? I understand ill have to double up a couple of fans using splitters
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-12-2020, 01:23 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 358
POST ID # = 1045729
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Lian Li Dynamic XL and 10 QL fans? This is my current rig!
I prefered to go with XSPC fan hub instead of Y fan splitters, here is my diagram, hope it helps you:



The main issue with this configuration is to route carefully the cable into the back part of the case, as it's very narrow compared to the amount of wires it needs:



As you can see the situation is very complicated even without PSU cables!

Baio
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-12-2020, 02:44 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,806
POST ID # = 1045734
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

@the OP

have you read the RGB Faq??

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880

like Devbiker i recommend use the RGB Fan LED Hubs... this negates the need to us that USB hub mentioned above. this post.. lets you use the 2 LED Channels and and free's up 2 usb headers...

also...

what cooler do you have? this may change how we set this up....

Last edited by Zotty; 05-12-2020 at 02:48 AM. Reason: `
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-12-2020, 03:51 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,806
POST ID # = 1045747
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

@Baio.... sorted the 'Key' on your diagram bud... helps people know whats what......




Click for full res if you dont like the Potato version lol
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-12-2020, 10:37 AM
hwydrifter hwydrifter is offline
Registered User
hwydrifter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1045819
hwydrifter Reputation: 10
Default

@Baio

thanks for the detailed layout that's amazing and the cable management is a hell of a lot better than my rat nest in the same case so far but one question do all the fans sync up the same as if you were only running 6?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-13-2020, 11:27 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 358
POST ID # = 1046007
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hwydrifter View Post
@Baio

thanks for the detailed layout that's amazing and the cable management is a hell of a lot better than my rat nest in the same case so far but one question do all the fans sync up the same as if you were only running 6?
Well, I've set different paths for the 2 LNC, so it's hard to say.
Can someone advice a particular effect I can try to test this thing at best?
And how am I supposed to post a video here? I just posted photos so far... and don't have a youtube account.

Baio
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-13-2020, 11:58 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,806
POST ID # = 1046012
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baio View Post
Well, I've set different paths for the 2 LNC, so it's hard to say.
Can someone advice a particular effect I can try to test this thing at best?
And how am I supposed to post a video here? I just posted photos so far... and don't have a youtube account.

Baio
start a youtube account? i use mine for storage and linking to....
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-06-2020, 05:52 AM
ecopsorn ecopsorn is offline
Registered User
ecopsorn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 1049518
ecopsorn Reputation: 10
Default

Did u make it work?
My build seems to evolve as well every week lol.
Now I’m thinking of 10 QLs + 4 strips + PSU. I’ve heard from people that they won’t even use a comm pro for the fans but instead plug the fans with splitters to the mobo and use the ligntning node cores for the RGB of the fans.
What are the advantages/disadvantages of doing that?
Because if I’d do this setup, I doubt I would get away with a single comm pro, even with USB hubs.

EDIT: Now I figured it out lol, I need a pwm hub, is there a specific model you guys suggest?
EDIT2: Is this one correct? I'd need two of those than for my setup.

Last edited by ecopsorn; 06-06-2020 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-08-2020, 05:41 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 358
POST ID # = 1049755
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecopsorn View Post
Did u make it work?
My build seems to evolve as well every week lol.
Now I’m thinking of 10 QLs + 4 strips + PSU. I’ve heard from people that they won’t even use a comm pro for the fans but instead plug the fans with splitters to the mobo and use the ligntning node cores for the RGB of the fans.
What are the advantages/disadvantages of doing that?
Because if I’d do this setup, I doubt I would get away with a single comm pro, even with USB hubs.

EDIT: Now I figured it out lol, I need a pwm hub, is there a specific model you guys suggest?
EDIT2: Is this one correct? I'd need two of those than for my setup.
Well, for sure 10 fans is too much for a single CoPro, the risk is to fry a port.

You can grab one powered hub (like the one you linked, I didn't test it personally, but should work) and then connect the other fans to the CoPro ports (remember with CoPro you can use Y splitters, not 3-ways splitters), or grab 2 hubs if you prefer to control the fans in groups (every hub will be seen by iCue as a single fan).

Baio
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-08-2020, 02:56 PM
ecopsorn ecopsorn is offline
Registered User
ecopsorn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 1049820
ecopsorn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baio View Post
Well, for sure 10 fans is too much for a single CoPro, the risk is to fry a port.

You can grab one powered hub (like the one you linked, I didn't test it personally, but should work) and then connect the other fans to the CoPro ports (remember with CoPro you can use Y splitters, not 3-ways splitters), or grab 2 hubs if you prefer to control the fans in groups (every hub will be seen by iCue as a single fan).

Baio
Ok thanks.
I was planning the following:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IN6...ew?usp=sharing

Like this, I can control the Top exhaust fans and the side intake fans as a group (as u said just like one fan). The 3 bottom fans I can control individually if I want as well as the rear. For this scenario to work, I'd need 2 hubs.
Thanks for confirming that the linked hub would work out. It's the only powered hub I could actually find in Switzerland lol.
For USB I also have a 9-PIN hub so I can control 2 Cores, 1 Node Pro and 1 PSU.

What I really wonder though is, if it is possible to get the RGB cycles to work properly, so to light up one fan after the other. But I guess with this setup, that shouldn't be an issue at all.
Let me know if you find anything fishy on my drawing skills

Last edited by ecopsorn; 06-08-2020 at 03:03 PM. Reason: pic link not working
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-09-2020, 05:03 PM
ecopsorn ecopsorn is offline
Registered User
ecopsorn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 1049981
ecopsorn Reputation: 10
Default

Guys, after seeing some other splitters on amazon I’m really uncertain what I should get. Is the one I linked above correct or something like https://www.amazon.de/Fan-Hub-PWM-Ge.../dp/B07S5BHZQ1?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-10-2020, 04:08 AM
Baio Baio is offline
Registered User
Baio's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 358
POST ID # = 1050031
Baio Reputation: 16
Default

Theoretically every powered fan hub should work as there is a limit of current each port of the CoPro can deliver.

Iìm using a couple of those (if you can find it where you live):

https://www.amazon.it/XSPC-way-split.../dp/B07CH248L1

Baio
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-10-2020, 06:10 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,806
POST ID # = 1050046
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baio View Post
Theoretically every powered fan hub should work as there is a limit of current each port of the CoPro can deliver.

Iìm using a couple of those (if you can find it where you live):

https://www.amazon.it/XSPC-way-split.../dp/B07CH248L1

Baio
yeah should do... have come across some that wont.. one of Silverstones doesnt but i can't recall which one.. would have to go and ask in my discord server...

and those XSPC ones are now discontinued. apparently they melted easily lol.. i have 4 in my 1000d and not seen any issues.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
10 fans, commander pro, ql fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.