The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2017, 03:34 AM
Luca1980's Avatar
Luca1980 Luca1980 is offline
Registered User
Luca1980's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 894942
Luca1980 Reputation: 10
Question CPU temp not showing (and other possible Corsair Link automatisms)

Hi Guys,

I have a very particular request and googling did not help.

I overclocked through BCLK and consequently lost the CPU T sensor. However, HWInfo64 gives CPU Package and IA Cores readings, values in the 33-52 °C range (which seem reasonable for my setup). No other monitoring software, including Corsair Link, is able to read the temperature, so my question is whether or not these HWInfo64 readings are reliable.

The second issue is related to Corsair Link profiles. I would like them to be dependent on CPU load (or CPU temperature, if I will manage to have Corsair Link able to read it) rather than water temperature. I mean, I would like my PC to be on "silent" when in Windows and on "balanced" when in game without manually switching modes.

One more question: is it normal that Q-Fan is not able to control the water pump / fan speed? UEFI settings have no effect at all and I am obliged to use Corsair Link.

Thank you very much for any help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-13-2017, 03:44 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 894944
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. Not Enough Information

  1. Which utilities have you tried? Every one that exists in the world?
  2. Which device are you trying to control with CL4?
  3. Post screen shots so we can see what get's reported
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-13-2017, 12:06 PM
Luca1980's Avatar
Luca1980 Luca1980 is offline
Registered User
Luca1980's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 894990
Luca1980 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Red-Ray, thanks a lot for your reply.

1. As shown in the screenshot taken after about 1,5 h of Prime95 (small FFT) I have tried Core Temp and Corsair Link. MSI Afterburner does not see the CPU temp either (it says 100 °C regardless of the actual temp). The only one that gives me a reading is HWInfo64 - 53 °C peak and 48 °C actual (please see on the bottom left corner).
Is this "CPU package" temp reliable?

2. The device is Corsair H80i. I would like to switch to "Silent" automatically when the CPU load drops to 0-10%, I don't know if it's possible...

Thank you very much for your help :)
Attached Images
File Type: png Immagine2.png (401.5 KB, 241 views)

Last edited by Luca1980; 03-13-2017 at 03:59 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-13-2017, 12:28 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 894993
red-ray Reputation: 81
Wink If you posted information from my SIV utility I could tell far more

  1. In general Prime95 will overheat Skylake CPUs no matter what cooler you use. Use a different stress test such as the one in CPUZ or SIV.
  2. You can't control the H80iV2 from the % CPU load. I advise you to control both the fans and pump from the coolant temperature as there is no need to speed them up 'till the liquid warms up a bit.
  3. Reading the screen shot is a PITA! See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=853900 for how to attach screen shots to a post and attach full size screen shots.
  4. What does the SIV [Status] panel report before the stress test and what happens when you start it, attach two screen shots (use meaningful names).
  5. Something really strange is happening, but I need to know what the raw data in the MSRs is to stand any chance of figuring out what. If you attach SIV save files I will try and figure out what is happening, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=788225 for how to generate them. Ideally just press [Minimal] before pressing [Start].

Last edited by red-ray; 03-13-2017 at 12:33 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-13-2017, 04:30 PM
Luca1980's Avatar
Luca1980 Luca1980 is offline
Registered User
Luca1980's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 895016
Luca1980 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Red-Ray, I think I have fixed the screenshots.

2. is a good point anyway, I could use a 20% profile for water temp up to 34-35 °C and a more noisy one above.

I am posting screenshots and txt files from minimal SIV reports.

Thank you for any suggestions.
Attached Images
File Type: png SIV before stressing test.PNG (66.4 KB, 185 views)
File Type: png SIV during stressing test.PNG (60.7 KB, 1410 views)
Attached Files
File Type: txt SIV_PC-LUCA before stress test.txt (805.7 KB, 1950 views)
File Type: txt SIV_PC-LUCA during stress test.txt (805.7 KB, 1426 views)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-13-2017, 05:17 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 895019
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs up Much easier to deal with

Quote:

  1. The SIV [Status] panel is the panel you get when you press the [Status] button on the initial screens you posted, but this time the initial screen was enough.
  2. The reason CL4 + HWiNFO + SIV don't report the core temperatures is that they are not enabled.
  3. Compare your system with what the usual case is.
  4. Given THERM_STATUS is disabled Core Temp has a bug as it should not report a core temperature.
  5. The 00 is the offset to TjMax and this being zero is why 100°C is reported.
  6. Both HWiNFO + SIV usually report the CPU core temperatures.
  7. I don't recall seeing this before and am wondering what has happened.
  8. The core voltages are also missing and again I have not seen this before.
  9. All the package power information is also missing and you should be seeing these as in the screen shot from another system.
  10. Have you disabled something in the BIOS?
  11. I would be inclined to reset the BIOS to default and see if they come back.
  12. On SIV initial screen top right there are MCH + PKG temperatures which HWiNFO also reports which I suspect are correct, but am not certain about this given there are no core temperatures.
  13. I am also wondering if the CPU thermal throttling is working, if not and the cooler fails then the processor could well go up in smoke.
  14. The other system also has a much later revision of the CPU uCode, A0 rather than 39. This is loaded my the BIOS and there have been several updates with new CPU uCode.
  15. Your BIOS is dated 12/11/2015 and looking at https://www.asus.com/uk/Motherboards...Desk_Download/ the latest is BIOS 3201 2017/02/17. Were it my system I would update the BIOS.

Code:
Your system:
  0000019C  00000000  08000000  THERM_STATUS   [_]31 RVD TjCur 100°C [Y]16 TjMax 100°C  [_]16 Readout 0 °C   [Y]27 Resolution 1°C

What it usually is:
  0000019C  00000000  88410000  THERM_STATUS   [Y]31 RVD TjCur  35°C [Y]16 TjMax 100°C  [Y]16 Readout 65°C   [Y]27 Resolution 1°C
Attached Images
File Type: png Intel Core i5 Quad 6600K.png (83.3 KB, 1466 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 03-13-2017 at 09:00 PM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 03-15-2017, 03:14 PM
Luca1980's Avatar
Luca1980 Luca1980 is offline
Registered User
Luca1980's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 895320
Luca1980 Reputation: 10
Default

I am using the old BIOS because AFAIK it is the only way to overclock via BCLK (I have a non-K CPU).
BTW I will do the following:

1) Set the BCLK back to 100 MHz but keep the Vcore at 1,300 with LLC level 5, in order to have an estimation of the real core temperature when I overclock, based on the delta between core temp and package temp.

2) Considered that Q-Fan is useless, create a Corsair Link profile with 20% speed for water up to 34 °C, 40% between 34-37 °C and 100% over 37 °C (to be tuned depending on CPU temp and noise of course...)

3) Stop testing and restart enjoying my rig :D

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.